Far East REIT marketing $703m Singapore IPO

Tootooteh

arlow.. buying IPOs only gt 2 ways right
1)broker
2) Atm

can i know whats the difference in charges for these 2?

do i have to pay any non-refundable fee if i purchase IPO?

hope some kind soul can help =))

Paul Lee

arlow.. buying IPOs only gt 2 ways right
1)broker
2) Atm

can i know whats the difference in charges for these 2?

do i have to pay any non-refundable fee if i purchase IPO?

hope some kind soul can help =))

Broadly speaking, its should be (1) Placement and (2) Public.

For placement, you can get it either through your broker. Sometimes you can apply through internet channel like DBSV (though there hasn't been a placement offer from DBSV for a long time).

For IPO application through broker, there is an additional 1% IPO Placement commission charge and 7% GST of the commission charge. (If your IPO cost $1000, you pay an additional $10.70)

For public IPO application, you can apply through ATM/Internet Banking or manually using a cashier order. If you are using OCBC/UOB account, there is a $1 application charge. DBS charge $2. Cashier Order is about $5 but you can apply for one through DBS IB for free.

So contrary to popular belief, the cheapest way to apply for IPO is actually manually using a cashier order applied from DBS IB. You will still need to go down to a designated DBS branch to collect the cashier order so its not the most convenient.

haydentan

Dun really get it. Why is it cheapest to apply manually using cashier order and not via ATM?

Broadly speaking, its should be (1) Placement and (2) Public.

For placement, you can get it either through your broker. Sometimes you can apply through internet channel like DBSV (though there hasn't been a placement offer from DBSV for a long time).

For IPO application through broker, there is an additional 1% IPO Placement commission charge and 7% GST of the commission charge. (If your IPO cost $1000, you pay an additional $10.70)

For public IPO application, you can apply through ATM/Internet Banking or manually using a cashier order. If you are using OCBC/UOB account, there is a $1 application charge. DBS charge $2. Cashier Order is about $5 but you can apply for one through DBS IB for free.

So contrary to popular belief, the cheapest way to apply for IPO is actually manually using a cashier order applied from DBS IB. You will still need to go down to a designated DBS branch to collect the cashier order so its not the most convenient.

Tootooteh

ty paul =)

Will placement get higher priority than public?

If i apply through atm, the $1 charge will apply regardless i get the IPO correct?

I read from straits time, they say that this far east reit IPO, must be staple/certified investor then can purchase.. how do we get certified =(

chopra

Interesting info. But for $1 $2...i'll just whack from IB. ~ :s22:

Paul Lee

Dun really get it. Why is it cheapest to apply manually using cashier order and not via ATM?

As mentioned, if you applied for the cashier order through DBS IB, it cost nothing. So your cost of IPO application would be the stamp + envelope + time taken to collect the Cashier Order in person.

ATM/IB application cost you $1/$2.

Hence manual application is still cheaper.

Will placement get higher priority than public?

If i apply through atm, the $1 charge will apply regardless i get the IPO correct?

I read from straits time, they say that this far east reit IPO, must be staple/certified investor then can purchase.. how do we get certified =(

In general, since there are more shares on offer in the placement, your chance should be better.

Yes. The charge is an application charge not an allocation charge.

I think you read wrongly or you misunderstood what you read. You are talking about the 'Specified Investment Products' (SIP) ruling which required you to be certified before you can trade in those products. AFAIK, 'stapled securities' does not falls under SIP.

You can read more about the SIP here . There are links there for you to learn more. And get yourself certified.

Mecisteus

As mentioned, if you applied for the cashier order through DBS IB, it cost nothing. So your cost of IPO application would be the stamp + envelope + time taken to collect the Cashier Order in person.

ATM/IB application cost you $1/$2.

Hence manual application is still cheaper.

Paul its cheaper in $$$ terms. But my time is worth more than $2. So i dont mind paying $2 to save time and effort. :D

gaara666

Judging from the positive reception, i think it will be hard to get. nevertheless, i am loading bullets ....

staedtler_07

I'm just curious, how does one get to apply through DBS IB for free? Any idea what are the exact steps?

Paul Lee

I'm just curious, how does one get to apply through DBS IB for free? Any idea what are the exact steps?

OK. Dun listen to people who dun know. You can really do it for free by applying manually.

1) You will need a manual application form (Usually WHITE). Where to get one? Honestly i dun know. Maybe through the IPO manager office or CDP. (Read the prospectus when the IPO is launched)

2) Next you need to login to your DBS IB and make an application for a cashier order. You need to get the a/c payee correct and specified which branch you will be collecting the cashier order from. You will need to collect the cashier order in person as they will need to verify your identity.

More info on the DBS IB Cashier Order here

3) Send your application from off and hope for the best.

Yes it is free in that you dun need to spend the $1/$2 application form but you will need to spend time to collect the cashier order and a stamp to send the application form in.

As also mentioned by others, it is worth paying $1/$2 for the convenience. If you nothing better to do and got plenty of time on yr hand, you can try it next time.

staedtler_07

OK. Dun listen to people who dun know. You can really do it for free by applying manually.

1) You will need a manual application form (Usually WHITE). Where to get one? Honestly i dun know. Maybe through the IPO manager office or CDP. (Read the prospectus when the IPO is launched)

2) Next you need to login to your DBS IB and make an application for a cashier order. You need to get the a/c payee correct and specified which branch you will be collecting the cashier order from. You will need to collect the cashier order in person as they will need to verify your identity.

More info on the DBS IB Cashier Order here

3) Send your application from off and hope for the best.

Yes it is free in that you dun need to spend the $1/$2 application form but you will need to spend time to collect the cashier order and a stamp to send the application form in.

As also mentioned by others, it is worth paying $1/$2 for the convenience. If you nothing better to do and got plenty of time on yr hand, you can try it next time.

Gonna give it a try. I know the application at ATM is $1 or $2 depending on where you are getting. I just wanna know the process of the free-of-charge application. At least if others ask me, I can safely say I did it before and even guide them if they want to apply!

Anyway, now I need to find out how I have to get that application form, yes, the white one! :s22:

tkwei123

Anyway, now I need to find out how I have to get that application form, yes, the white one! :s22:

last time, i got mine from the bank that was managing the ipo
usually, it was place in a stack at the counter
now, maybe u can just ask the bank staff...

koxinga

Prelim prospectus out on MASNET. Going to look through over the weekend.

OPERA - Details BTO

http://masnet.mas.gov.sg/opera/sdrprosp.nsf/0/D8A63278B2BDF84348257A4F002DF46F/$File/Far%20East%20H-Trust%20%20Preliminary%20Prospectus%20(Main%20Text).pdf

addict951

Wah, this should be the 2nd best hospitality counter in sgx liao
The 'maiden' hotels thrown in for this ipo are
1. OPH (Orchard/Tanglin)
2. Albert Court (Rochor)
3. Elizabeth (behind Gdwood Pk)
4. Quincy (next to Elizabeth)
5. Oasia (where is this? 1st time I heard of this FE hotel)
6. Golden Landmark (Bugis)
7. Changi Meridien (oppo the famous Changi Village Nasi Lemak)

and 4 other serviced apts

I tell yall hor, long long time ago my 1st jod ever was wif FEO, at FEP 6th floor smelly smelly old old office, where the entrance got a lot of model showflats one. Last time FEO damn kiam siap and got work on Sats one. Then that time old Ng got 2 secretaries - one for English one for Hokkien/Mandarin. And also the notorious daughter - Dorothy Chan. She got her secretary to sit at the entrance to take down ppl's name for coming to work late. And also the ultimate kiam-ness - stationery used finish must bring to stationery room show proof of the used item b4 u can get new items. =:p:s13: Yes! The stationery room is manned!

addict951

Prelim prospectus out on MASNET. Going to look through over the weekend.

OPERA - Details BTO

http://masnet.mas.gov.sg/opera/sdrprosp.nsf/0/D8A63278B2BDF84348257A4F002DF46F/$File/Far%20East%20H-Trust%20%20Preliminary%20Prospectus%20(Main%20Text).pdf

hokay, I gathered this

*Yield at 1st year projected at 6 to 6.5% depending on ipo px. 2nd year projected till 6.8%
*Quarterly CD for the periods ending Mar, June, Sep and Dec
*1st CD likely to be Jan 2013 (for the period of 1st day trading to 31 Dec 2012)
*2012 and 2013 100% to be distributed, thereafter 90%
* Gearing as of 1st day trading is 30.4%

Ok, press!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.