Structured cabling in HDB flat

derrickgoh

I am in the process of moving house & expect to get the keys to the new flat latest by year end. Its a premium 4A flat and the owner bought it under the BTO scheme from HDB about 6 years ago.

When viewing the flat, I did not notice a fibre TP in the house. Unfortunately the family is not very IT savvy and had no idea what I was asking. I have since emailed OpenNet to see if they can check their records to confirm whether the owner had installed a TP or was he silly enough to reject the free installation.

While touring the flat I noticed what appears to be a RJ45 port and a cable TV point in all rooms even in the kitchen. Seeing that there are RJ45 ports in every room, surely they must terminate some where and with my limited networking knowledge, I can only assume that these ports all terminate inside the utility closet. After all, I heard that newer HDB flats have a utility closet with patch panel and power socket in it and that the fibre TP can be installed in there.

By any chance would anyone know whether a 6 year old premium 4A flat would have a utility closet with patch panel and power socket in it? If nobody knows, then is anyone able to advise where the RJ45 ports in all the rooms are likely to terminate in a six year old HDB flat? I mean they must surely terminate somewhere if not where does one plug in the RG and router?

If its any help, the unit I bought is located at Compassvale Link. Thanks.

chaicka

I am in the process of moving house & expect to get the keys to the new flat latest by year end. Its a premium 4A flat and the owner bought it under the BTO scheme from HDB about 6 years ago.

When viewing the flat, I did not notice a fibre TP in the house. Unfortunately the family is not very IT savvy and had no idea what I was asking. I have since emailed OpenNet to see if they can check their records to confirm whether the owner had installed a TP or was he silly enough to reject the free installation.

While touring the flat I noticed what appears to be a RJ45 port and a cable TV point in all rooms even in the kitchen. Seeing that there are RJ45 ports in every room, surely they must terminate some where and with my limited networking knowledge, I can only assume that these ports all terminate inside the utility closet. After all, I heard that newer HDB flats have a utility closet with patch panel and power socket in it and that the fibre TP can be installed in there.

By any chance would anyone know whether a 6 year old premium 4A flat would have a utility closet with patch panel and power socket in it? If nobody knows, then is anyone able to advise where the RJ45 ports in all the rooms are likely to terminate in a six year old HDB flat? I mean they must surely terminate somewhere if not where does one plug in the RG and router?

If its any help, the unit I bought is located at Compassvale Link. Thanks.
What you have described is not standard of all BTO flats. If my recollection is correct, it was pilot on selective estate several years back. Can't remember exactly which estates/blocks. I believe several blocks in Punggol was in that pilot.

derrickgoh

What you have described is not standard of all BTO flats. If my recollection is correct, it was pilot on selective estate several years back. Can't remember exactly which estates/blocks. I believe several blocks in Punggol was in that pilot.
But the thing is, there are network points in every room. I just dont know where they terminate. Surely they must terminate some where if not how does one plug in the fibre modem?

mbgeow

wah so good every room got network points... but if i wan every room got network pint ask mi make r ?

currently my new bto new flat i saw only living room got one ready make network point

mrsun18

But the thing is, there are network points in every room. I just dont know where they terminate. Surely they must terminate some where if not how does one plug in the fibre modem?
The most logical location is at the utility room, if there is one. This is where all the electrical wiring, TV wiring and structured cables "radiate out".

derrickgoh

The most logical location is at the utility room, if there is one. This is where all the electrical wiring, TV wiring and structured cables "radiate out".
The closest to a utility room i can think of is the bomb shelter or the shoe cabinet behind the main door where the circuit breaker should be. I just hope the previous owner wasnt dumb enough to rip out the patch panel & cat cables. After all this dude was dumb enough to turn away OpenNet when they offered free installation in 2010.

Btw is there normally a power point in this utility room or utility closet? If not are we able to get electrician to put one there? Will be a joke if the network points in all the rooms terminate at the utility closet and there is no power point. Then how to plug in modem?

derrickgoh

On a separate note, the network points each had a dual port face plate, however only one of the ports could be slided open for insertion of RJ45 cable. The other port cant be slide open, its like covered. Supposing i get a contractor in, will replacing the face plate solve the problem, ie i will then have two ports per room?

Because right now even though is dual port faceplate but only one port is accessible. The other port is like "sealed up". Maybe they expect that for most ppl one port per room is enough.

But im just saying lah, will replacing the face plate so call free up the other port & result in me having 2 ports per room?

mrsun18

The closest to a utility room i can think of is the bomb shelter or the shoe cabinet behind the main door where the circuit breaker should be...

Btw is there normally a power point in this utility room or utility closet? If not are we able to get electrician to put one there? Will be a joke if the network points in all the rooms terminate at the utility closet and there is no power point. Then how to plug in modem?
See pic in #18 in this thread>>http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/n...ennet-termination-point-question-3760907.html.

These were planned 5 or 6 years before owners collect their key (usual construction time frame).

mrsun18

It cannot disappear into thin air. Must be in the usual position you have already mentioned.
On second thought, those things could have been removed by the owner as you mentioned. Ask him for the plans which all new owners are given. If he can't give you, buy a set from HDB. Call the hotline to find out how.

romanohairi

Damn... Just found mine after 6 yrs. it's in closet at the entrance of my kitchen and it's locked. Can't find the key. What a waste, I shld have place my TP there. Arrrggg.

mbgeow

But the Tp put inside the Uitily box then Ont put where r ? I saw my new house living room there got a network access wall point , but room dun have

derrickgoh

On second thought, those things could have been removed by the owner as you mentioned. Ask him for the plans which all new owners are given. If he can't give you, buy a set from HDB. Call the hotline to find out how.
Walau eh, you mean they can suka suka remove one meh? I thought this is considered vital part of the flat!

mrsun18

Walau eh, you mean they can suka suka remove one meh? I thought this is considered vital part of the flat!
Huh! Have you heard the case many years back of a renovation contractor hacking the column in a flat until the whole block almost collapse? A bit of exaggeration, but it really caused panic in HDB.

romanohairi

But the Tp put inside the Uitily box then Ont put where r ? I saw my new house living room there got a network access wall point , but room dun have

At 1st, i thought can place the tp in the closet. But since it already in my living room, can replan the connection since theres a wall point is next to my tp.. Heres my plan until im able to break open the utility box..

TP->ONT->ROUTER->WALL POINT IN THE LIVING ROOM -> UTILITY BOX -> Switch -> all the room via utility box.

Now you tubing how to pick a lock....LOL.... If it works, bye bye home plug.....

MarkChenTW

Huh! Have you heard the case many years back of a renovation contractor hacking the column in a flat until the whole block almost collapse? A bit of exaggeration, but it really caused panic in HDB.

I have seen cases not in Singapore that column was removed and half a building collapse...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.