Widespread SD Card issue with Samsung Galaxy S3 and Note 2

lxb_70

looks like jelly bean is "frying" up the sd cards.... :(

lithium86

My Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE also damaged my SD card. I was using Kingston. Nature of problem: After a while I cannot view the photos on the SD card and the music stored on it would skip a lot. Reformatting the card has helped, but I suspect it could be a Samsung SD slot issue.

VEF888

Adding one more to the count, a 32GB mirco SD from sandisk fried by Note 2.

Was hoping the card can be saved by inserting and formating it in other devices...cameras, computer, others smartphones etc., but none of the device could even recognise the card.

Sad. Seems like a phone issue.

lxb_70

is it because the processor too hot? quad-core... too hot liao... was thinking of upgrade to note2 from my current note1.... scared sia..

Nichi

how come so far almost all of the cards that are spoilt are from sandisk?

renfred89

how come so far almost all of the cards that are spoilt are from sandisk?

I think some people mistaken SD card as SanDisk. Moreover, some people got their product from qoo10, ebay or some other cheaper sources which could indicate inferior product quality.

I got mine from challenger, paid a premium for it and it still going strong leh, though I watch movies or drama from my microSD card. Hehee..

renfred89

is it because the processor too hot? quad-core... too hot liao... was thinking of upgrade to note2 from my current note1.... scared sia..

Ello.. no such thing as too hot. All sandisk SD card products are temperature and water proof.

If you scared then stick with your note 1 until 天长地久 lor..

lxb_70

Ello.. no such thing as too hot. All sandisk SD card products are temperature and water proof.

If you scared then stick with your note 1 until 天长地久 lor..
oh really ah? coz i think like that is i saw the word "fried"... :s13:

cantopop

finally i got this problem on my note 2..my sd card die.

anyway or programme i can recover my photos? this

Ivan323

I'm had the same dismount and mount issue before I went to SanDisk for a one to one exchange. I do not encounter any mount or dismounted issue but ever once my phone unable to read all my music and pictures in my so card.

Model: N7105
FW: 4.1.2
Card: SanDisk mobile 32g

Spongy

It does not matter if you use Sandisk or Samsung. I had used different types of microSD [Sandisk 64gb(Class10), Sandisk 32gb(Class 4 and Class 10) and Samsung 32 Gb (class 10)] and still S3 reported damaged SD card. Currently, my S3 will happily report damaged SD (Samsung 32 Gb) and then it will work when i restart the S3 again.

It is definitely a samsung phone issue and they ought to compensate for the damaged SD card. I am now paranoid to store anything important in the damn SD card cos' S3 will suka suka tell u it is not accessible anymore.

My class 10 Sandisk 64GB also had the same issue. After I updated the firmware, it showed me that the SD card is corrupted and ask me to format. I just restarted my phone and everything is working fine for months now. By the way, I had formatted the card with my Note 2 before using it.

Nichi

looks like 90% of the sd card problems in this thread is all from sandisk

mykingston

looks like 90% of the sd card problems in this thread is all from sandisk

many reasons, can't conclude from only one angle :
- could be due to sandisk more users thus more failure
- could also be sandisk batch issue

what bothers me is why there's another 10% non- sandisk failure.

worse is why we seeing so much failures, regardless of what brand, reported by S3 and Note 2 users

pajamas86

I have this issue too... With my SanDisk card dismounting on my Samsung S3 (non-LTE) upon lock screen and mounting it again on wake.... It screws up the phone, the loading become slower, battery life becomes shorter, and funny error messages appear.

Tried to fix it twice at Samsung Service Centre (able to reproduce the error in front of the Samsung Technician, and he sorta replaced the card reader) but the same issue occurred.

In the end, I was fed up. I just went to purchase a Samsung SD Card at IT Fair (since even a reputable brand like SanDisk fails, I just go ahead and buy a brand not ususally associated with SD Cards, and a 32GB MicroSD card for $30 is kinda cheap, and promises high speed). Once done, the phone returns to normal. No issues, no funny messages.

Guess it's really a incompatibility issue between SanDisk and Samsung phones. The solution is not that expensive and solves the problem immediately.

cantopop

in the end i sold the note 2....really pissed off that all my photos is gone.

bye bye note 2...

twinings

experienced it today with 1 week old s3 mini, my sd card is a 2 year ++ of age from my blackberry. working fine on bb and computer, but can't be read on s3 mini.

when the sd card is inserted, the phone went on and hyper mode. battery drained fast with the battery and phone both getting damn hot.

renfred89

experienced it today with 1 week old s3 mini, my sd card is a 2 year ++ of age from my blackberry. working fine on bb and computer, but can't be read on s3 mini.

when the sd card is inserted, the phone went on and hyper mode. battery drained fast with the battery and phone both getting damn hot.

BB uses a different file system from android. However computer is able to detect both android and BB file systems.

I suppose if you do a reformat and transfer back your contents according to it's file system, i dont see why it doesnt work leh..

Nichi

have you tried copying all the data out and format the card.

see if ok

fireduke86

Third time unlucky with my S3 LTE, this time with my newly RMAed Lexar 32GB Class 10. Formatted it with my S3 on Friday evening, transferred the files over and it died yesterday night when I restarted my phone. :( Guess I have to get a Samsung MSDHC to try~

launm88

Don't know whether if it is the same type of problem,
I used to have this sd card problem on my made in china tablets.
Then all my sandisk sd cards would be corrupted after a few week usage by the tablet.
Then I happen to read in forums about "slow formating the sd card to NTFS format".
I tried this , and no more sd card corrupting again.

maybe someone can try and feedback here...
PS : slow formating a 32Gb sd card take a long long time , more than an hour

cheers

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.