and my speed is up from 25mb to nnearly 100mb
but not 200mb as expected
odd even after i power cycle my ONT and router

tested on wired

tested on both mac and windows

going to try direct connect if got time
and use a better cable :)
cat7 ahah got afew at office to play around

Cat5e will do, just make sure your laptop network card is gigabit :)

ShivaDagger

maybe u try to explain from the start

why go back white ONt with the RG?
what black modem?

or u not sure take a pic of your equipment

what m1 provide now is
either white or black ont
and RG which is for those under old white ONT
then from there it link to your router

Problem 1

Thanks for the prompt response. if im not mistaken, the black modem im talking about is equivalent to the black ont. i am given linksys ea2700 together with it.
now the problem is i cannot connect wii to linksys ea2700, which i suspect is a compatibility issue. called up linksys, the guy tried to troubleshoot, i still had the same problem. i have played with almost all the configurations possible on the linksys router, to no avail.
so then i thought i could use my old white RG, the huawei router. turns out, the new black ont does not support the huawei router. gave m1 a call, said the black ont can work with all routers except that old one of mine.
i have tried the below configurations:
black ont > linksys >(wireless) wii
black ont > huawei >(wireless) wii
black ont > linksys >(port 3) huawei > wii
black ont > linksys >(wlan port) huawei > wii
black ont >(rj45 to usb) wii
black ont > linksys > laptop >(ad hoc network) wii
phone 3g > wii
phone 3g > laptop >(shared internet) wii

so basically, all i need is one of the following to come true:
1) getting black ont to work with old white rg huawei router (currently no internet service when connecting via huawei router)
2) configurations on linksys ea2700 to work for wii
3) find my old dir 615 router
4) buy a new router which we have no info whether it will work on wii

i have tried shutting down, factory reset, rebooting the router. i've also tried turning off all firewalls on router, put wii to DMZ, port forward recommended ports on wii site, mac filter to allow all connections to wii.
i have also tried recommendations like removing metalic objects near wii, changed channel 1-15, tried different encryption algorithm, put it to no encryption, manual define dns/ipaddress on wii instead of auto, etc.

Problem 2

Just to add on to the problem i'm have above. my download and upload speed with m1 fibre 200mbps through linksys ea2700 is 9mbps (wired). i have not tried direct from black ont to pc but the result is disappointing. i understand there have been tweaks within this thread to help boost the speed but mostly are for the other routers.

any, any suggestion would help so much, either for problem 1 or 2. thanks in advance

ngbc

Problem 1

Thanks for the prompt response. if im not mistaken, the black modem im talking about is equivalent to the black ont. i am given linksys ea2700 together with it.
now the problem is i cannot connect wii to linksys ea2700, which i suspect is a compatibility issue. called up linksys, the guy tried to troubleshoot, i still had the same problem. i have played with almost all the configurations possible on the linksys router, to no avail.
so then i thought i could use my old white RG, the huawei router. turns out, the new black ont does not support the huawei router. gave m1 a call, said the black ont can work with all routers except that old one of mine.
i have tried the below configurations:
black ont > linksys >(wireless) wii
black ont > huawei >(wireless) wii
black ont > linksys >(port 3) huawei > wii
black ont > linksys >(wlan port) huawei > wii
black ont >(rj45 to usb) wii
black ont > linksys > laptop >(ad hoc network) wii
phone 3g > wii
phone 3g > laptop >(shared internet) wii

so basically, all i need is one of the following to come true:
1) getting black ont to work with old white rg huawei router (currently no internet service when connecting via huawei router)
2) configurations on linksys ea2700 to work for wii
3) find my old dir 615 router
4) buy a new router which we have no info whether it will work on wii

i have tried shutting down, factory reset, rebooting the router. i've also tried turning off all firewalls on router, put wii to DMZ, port forward recommended ports on wii site, mac filter to allow all connections to wii.
i have also tried recommendations like removing metalic objects near wii, changed channel 1-15, tried different encryption algorithm, put it to no encryption, manual define dns/ipaddress on wii instead of auto, etc.

Problem 2

Just to add on to the problem i'm have above. my download and upload speed with m1 fibre 200mbps through linksys ea2700 is 9mbps (wired). i have not tried direct from black ont to pc but the result is disappointing. i understand there have been tweaks within this thread to help boost the speed but mostly are for the other routers.

any, any suggestion would help so much, either for problem 1 or 2. thanks in advance

I read from here that Wii games do not support WPA2-PSK (TKIP) wireless security. In that case, you have to set the EA2700 security to 'WPA Personal' or 'WEP'.

Then setup

Black ONT-->EA2700-->WiFi <- WII

How to Connect Wii to the Internet

Hope the above solved your Problem 1.

For your Problem 2, did you get ~200Mbps with Direct ONT connection to PC/Laptop ?

ONT (Lan Port #1) --> PC/Laptop (wired)

mzabu25

doesnt work... still got the same message...

VoM50ZW.png

can you check whether the WAN is set to ON?

Asus%20WAN.jpg

fuzzybear

Cat5e will do, just make sure your laptop network card is gigabit :)

yea both Mac & win is on giga card
Mac on. cat5e liao
win on cat5

from the looks they haven really boost fully I meed to to give them a call liao haha

to chase them

ShivaDagger

I read from here that Wii games do not support WPA2-PSK (TKIP) wireless security. In that case, you have to set the EA2700 security to 'WPA Personal' or 'WEP'.

Then setup

Black ONT-->EA2700-->WiFi <- WII

How to Connect Wii to the Internet

Hope the above solved your Problem 1.

For your Problem 2, did you get ~200Mbps with Direct ONT connection to PC/Laptop ?

ONT (Lan Port #1) --> PC/Laptop (wired)

I've done the switch of the encryption to all possible permutations yesterday. But, for the sake i just tried it again and it doesn't work. i'll try the direct connection later but to get 9mbps due to router is disappointing. maybe i'll go get a new one later at IT show =(
still open to any other suggestion of any kind souls =/

zhaohan

bloody hell, after waiting for 1 month for them to settle my port 2 issue
they told me to wait for another month or two :s13:

fuzzybear

I've done the switch of the encryption to all possible permutations yesterday. But, for the sake i just tried it again and it doesn't work. i'll try the direct connection later but to get 9mbps due to router is disappointing. maybe i'll go get a new one later at IT show =(

if want to get then go m1 take up the cheap deal for Asus

I top up for Asus ac66 haha
but I still using my old Gigabit engenious router

Stallone

keep us updated too bro
as alot of ppls say they renew but still speed not updated

M1 notified me that there's an issue with the line's capacity n OpenNet are unable to give a time frame on when will the line be ready for 200mbps.

so i guess i'll have to wait for M1 to contact me again when they're ready.

sucky huh? want me to recontract to 200mbps, sign liao the tell me this rubbish

lucky it's still same price at 39$ with a 1GB mobile BB, if not they confirm tio kaopei by me

ShivaDagger

Ok I just called M1, apparently if u tweak your setting on the lan network interface, u can clock a higher speed. For my case it was:

1) Go to device manager
2) Expand Network adapters
3) Double click on your lan ethernet adapter
4) Go to advanced tab
5) Go to speed & duplex
6) Change it to 100mbps half duplex

Changing it to full duplex cuts off the internet for some reason. Went up from 9mbps to 47mbps download speed though I am on 200mbps line.

Still hopeful for kind souls who has answers to linksys ea2700 router and wii compatibility. Thanks!

fuzzybear

M1 notified me that there's an issue with the line's capacity n OpenNet are unable to give a time frame on when will the line be ready for 200mbps.

so i guess i'll have to wait for M1 to contact me again when they're ready.

sucky huh? want me to recontract to 200mbps, sign liao the tell me this rubbish

lucky it's still same price at 39$ with a 1GB mobile BB, if not they confirm tio kaopei by me

I feel for u bro
I aslo jury renew my fibre
from 25mb to 200plan bout today I check they only boost to close to 100mb

u are not alone bro
I will call m1 to. xx too ask for a reason
for this

fuzzybear

But i signed up during the previous IT show, can i still do a top up now?

no idea for u
but I doubt it u can top up as I can top up due to I renew it coma wth free Asus n56

maybe u can call or go m1 shop ask
even. u can't topup u go buy from m1 it still cheaper than grtbfrom retrial at $300 for ac66

mata_hippo

The wizard can't detect connection, you can just select internet type as "Automatic IP (DHCP)"...

Doesn't work leh... It has always been those settings... so I'm jus confirming...

So frustrating and troublesome zzz

wondering if my linksys e1200 can give me over 100mbps... y m i changing it in the 1st place... :s22:

ngbc

Is Wii's wifi wireless-G or wireless-N standard?
Your also tried setting Security Mode to Disabled ?

If nic card only 100Mbps, you will only get max. 96Mbps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.