Accident! Help!

twenty47

If you only concern now is not to pay a single cents.
By all means go ahead with them.
But rememeber they do not 'help' for FREE or out of good will thou.
There will be a huge profit to obtain if not why help you.

Thanks for helping many other drivers to 'push' the insurance amount to another higher level just because...............

I'm just thinking, authorized w/s are also workshops out to make money. My thinking is there is a surveyor from the insurance company to set a realistic benchmark. in the end, authorized w/s or not all also making money. I doubt authroised w/s means they will charge the insurance company less out of goodwill.

is this train of thoughts correct? or are authorised workshops really more saint? and about surveyors, will they be able to make a good gauge of situations?

Arsene_Wenger

I had that thought too but I thought the other party will send their surveyor to look at the car before the workshop can start work? that way the w/s cannot anyhow claim right? please correct me if im wrong

True, they will send their surveyor now to access damages but not the cost.

Workshop can easily jack up the labour and material costs one.. Who to say they have charged more expensive.. :s13:

I have encountered labour cost for spraying bumper around $600.:s22:

What other insurance coy or lawyer can do is they will usually try to ask for abit of discount for the amount your workshop is trying to claim for you.

If you are an opportuntist, there are many ways to kio some kopi $ for yourself legally... don ask me how. :D

AL5509

I had that thought too but I thought the other party will send their surveyor to look at the car before the workshop can start work? that way the w/s cannot anyhow claim right? please correct me if im wrong
hhhmm think you may need to understand how is the final billing amount computed.

Such workshop will 1st charged a high fee for towing your car to their workshop, next a high price for your rental car with all the nicenice service.
Which you may think, ya they deserved it when especially your are not paying a single cents.
Plus all the admin charges, this and that.
The start of bill may just jump to a few hundreds to thousands before your car is repair.

Next move to your car's repair.
As you do not know their workshop and they do no know you.
The claim via repair is very subjective to how 'well' you find their workmanship,etc.
I do not mean all but some workshop will submit a OEM parts to be claim and replaced but give you a chiong brand for that.

And all these small actions bring up the claim amount maybe for a very simple job to be done outside.
If not if doing back in your AD; you can still ensure the parts changed, repaired, replaced is confirm 100% OEM parts.

So my personally opionion, just do not take up such offer from anyone on road.

As if their business is really good which lot of customers, why do they still need to do such things?

Just my 2€ worth.

twenty47

Got 1001 ways to skirt around the fringes of the law one.

My suggestion is go to a fair honest workshop lah....even better offer the other party a chance to intro you his workshop. Make a potential friend, who knows you might expand your network with a person who will be willing to go out on a limb for you next time?

... other party ask me don't report.....

Arsene_Wenger

I'm just thinking, authorized w/s are also workshops out to make money. My thinking is there is a surveyor from the insurance company to set a realistic benchmark. in the end, authorized w/s or not all also making money. I doubt authroised w/s means they will charge the insurance company less out of goodwill.

is this train of thoughts correct? or are authorised workshops really more saint? and about surveyors, will they be able to make a good gauge of situations?

Somewhere along this line and no lawyer involved tooo...

Lawyers are usually the suckers.

Arsene_Wenger

You mean the other party ( as in the car owner you are claiming ) ask you dont report to your own insurance company?

Report own insurance company not equal to claims.

The only reason is even private settlement will affect owner in getting insurance quotes the next year..

It applies to you too.

john hanley

Must report, but don't submit claims if the other party can offer cash lah.....

Last time I in rush, banged a sonata private car. Offer him 5k cash on the spot settle he don't want, go claim insurance, guess how much..........asking 10k plus damages.......basket ball

AL5509

Had you handed your car over to the workshop to do up the claim?
If so, abit too 'late' as in the other workshop will surely not do all done for free.
Who is going to foot the bill now??

I can only pity the car which bang you.
Guess he is going to be another 'victim' for high insurance claim this time round.
Haizzz

twenty47

No I'm still deciding that's why I'm asking here. I just called agent... Their service sucks man. If I were to send there, they will take 10 days to determine who is at fault before giving me a replacement car... Damn Sian. I want to reduce insurance claim for other party but now I have to pay for 10 days of cab...

AL5509

No I'm still deciding that's why I'm asking here. I just called agent... Their service sucks man. If I were to send there, they will take 10 days to determine who is at fault before giving me a replacement car... Damn Sian. I want to reduce insurance claim for other party but now I have to pay for 10 days of cab...
Which insurance company are you with?

Likewise, if you said you haven't decide yet.
Is the other party willing to foot the entire bill for this accident?
If yes, report to insurance company 1st(a MUST to do); do a quick and desicive suggestion and settle it fast.

However, if the other party play punk and keep neg here n there.
Then just leave it to the workshop to claim.

twenty47

Which insurance company are you with?

Likewise, if you said you haven't decide yet.
Is the other party willing to foot the entire bill for this accident?
If yes, report to insurance company 1st(a MUST to do); do a quick and desicive suggestion and settle it fast.

However, if the other party play punk and keep neg here n there.
Then just leave it to the workshop to claim.

If i'm going agent he still can pay cash meh?

AL5509

If i'm going agent he still can pay cash meh?
The agent you referred to is insurance agent company or AD's agent?

As far as I know insurance's agent do not take up 'outside job' beside those insurance claim issues.
You may opt to go back AD is the party's willing to pay 100% thou but please be reasonable.
As you do not expect the other party to pay $10~over k in cash ba.
If so, most drivers will just ask you claim insurance ba.

Likewise, TS have yet to share how bad is your damaged?

twenty47

No I mean my car's dealer as in cycle and carriage.

The rear is in a bad shape. Don't know if the undercarriage is fine. Can still drive

AL5509

No I mean my car's dealer as in cycle and carriage.

The rear is in a bad shape. Don't know if the undercarriage is fine. Can still drive
Whoa! If like that, what have the other party commented?
He/she asked you do not 'report'; which may means do not want you to claim via insurance and go for private settlement (assumingly).

What do he/she said?
Seriously, it should be the other party feeling lose not you as it not your fault.

My humble suggestion is to give a 'date-line' how the party want it to be resolved.
If not, just go ahead with the claim accordingly.

But going back to claim issue, try not to enage those 'services' found on the road as many explained as well.

deleted_nil

i will never accept the help due to some reasons based on here.
And it may backfire to you at some point which you may only experience it at a later stage

TS, Good luck to you.

flashover

I ever come across this type of "help" when i met into an accident. Bloodsuckers!!!

sgpug88

Hi TS, don't need to worry so much... I would say go ahead with the help of this agent & workshop as I'd similar experience like you, service is good, save me a lot of time & trouble... however, please ENSURE at least the following are met:-

1. the document that signed by the workshop bared the official letter head, properly signed and stamp, clearly state that you do not need to pay any single cent for any thing related to the accident, no matter what is the outcome of the case

2. the traffic/accident report prepared by them are truthful because you are going to sign it and answer for it in court, don't cheat

3. take some pictures before you hand the car over to the workshop, make it very obvious to the workshop that you had taken the photos (my friend's experience was, the workshop "make" the damage more serious)

If you are very comfortable that the above 3 conditions are met, just go ahead, there are still some good people and workshops around.

BTW, does that guy happened to be Raymond Cnnn? If yes, trust him and he will deliver his promise.

Cheers!

EJB

Friend had a head on, the guy that appeared from passing by that took her car for repairs, didn't replace her bonnet and did a haphazard spray job done, can see the waves on the bonnet (80 other guy -20 her fault)

The last time I had accident on AYE, a lot of workshops also happen to "passby".

I just locked the doors and stayed inside until my workshop tow truck came.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.