TV repair discussion thread (consolidated)

tuckloong

My 42 LCD Samsung display was working fine till it just completely blacked out. The on/off light is still there but no picture. Had it for 5 years now. Have considered my repair options but working out to be a little to expensive. Decided to buy a a new tv :D

Any suggestions on where I can sell a 2nd hand tv and recouperate something? Or what to do with your 'busted' tv's?

me donated to the repair shop :)

epos

My 42 LCD Samsung display was working fine till it just completely blacked out. The on/off light is still there but no picture. Had it for 5 years now. Have considered my repair options but working out to be a little to expensive. Decided to buy a a new tv :D

Any suggestions on where I can sell a 2nd hand tv and recouperate something? Or what to do with your 'busted' tv's?

Read All Samsung LCD TV owners - take note, bad caps saga again!

If its only a few cap gone bad, DIY replacement will cost you less $50. include Soldering iron/solder and Capacitors. Those caps are quite easy to fine in SLT.

king24

Anyone know where to buy a cheaper panel for lg 6200? My nephew hit the screen with a wooden flute . N the panel crack . Lg say 650 for the panel . Zzz

Jiyuu

My Sony Bravia LCD TV has a white moldy patch on the left bottom of screen, any advise or recommendation for repair for this issue. Got this tv about 2 years ago.

Thank you

Bieffe

My Sony Bravia LCD TV has a white moldy patch on the left bottom of screen, any advise or recommendation for repair for this issue. Got this tv about 2 years ago.

Thank you
you seldom on this set correct? And is in a room u on AC almost every night?

cscs3

I got a Philips LCD TV bought in 2010, 47PFL5609 (2009 model) when power on, all white screen appears with a thin horizontal line on top...called a TV repair guy and he said no more spare parts..is it worth to repair ?...thanks.

This is why I never take Philips (and Sony).

cscs3

Not sure if anyone know what is wrong? Thanks in advance.
Got a LG LED TV in 2009, no more warranty.

Flickering started few mths back and read somewhere online, off the TV and remove the plug overnight. Tried and resolved the issue, no problem until last Sunday, the flickering came back and this time even worse, screen will go blank on and off.

Have gotten a new TV but thinking to repair it and use in room if it does not cost too much.

2009 model should be those LCD non LED back light type. First thing to check is the power supply if any bad capacitor. Next suspect is the back light.

cscs3

Anyone know where to buy a cheaper panel for lg 6200? My nephew hit the screen with a wooden flute . N the panel crack . Lg say 650 for the panel . Zzz

If yours is 42" or below. You may find is cheaper to buy another one (same model) and keep the rest as a spare part to support your new TV.

cscs3

My brother bought the LG 55 ledtv during recent IT show use for only 18 days uplorry liao, can power on but no display, got sound...I think if tml the LG technician come down to fix and refuse to one to one he sure screw him upside down

Usually 1 to 1 is within 7 days and to the shop you purchased from. Seem LG quality has degraded. Recently bought one and is a open box failure.

To my surprised, panel is no more made in Korea ! (47" high end model).

Gondon72

got so lucky or not. Just 1 week after 3 years warrenty my LG 42" Plasma TV just went no screen with sound first and then totally no screen no sound after i tried to turn off and on. :(

grapewall

My old fat CRT tv spoilt. I think it shouldn't cost much to repair so send to this shop in Blk 194 Kim Keat Avenue call Gxxk Kxxn. The old man boss attitude was very bad when I sent my tv there. Almost quarrelled with him. Gave me an attitude like he don't want my business and I owed him a million. Nvere mind, left my tv there.

Next day,they called me my TV is already repaired and cost $80. WTH! Such an old TV cost $80 to repair?? Worth or not? They didn't even call me to ask if I'm okay with it. When I questioned them why so ex, the guy, which I think is the repairman in the shop, yelled at me say labour costs no need ah?part no need ah?I ask him labour cost how much, he said $100 each day! Then shouted at me say "Want, come collect. Don't want don't collect!" Very bad attitude! Anyhow charge. Conman!

So, I decided to donate the tv to them lor.Not worth the effort for me to go and collect anyway.What a conman, think I carrot head anyhow chop. They told me this kind of old tv very valuable, can tahan very long..many pple want it. Ok lor,since they got such a good lobang, I donate to them lor. See if they can get more than $50 for it.

BTW, it will cost me $60 to dispose it off. :)

cscs3

My old fat CRT tv spoilt. I think it shouldn't cost much to repair so send to this shop in Blk 194 Kim Keat Avenue call Gxxk Kxxn. The old man boss attitude was very bad when I sent my tv there. Almost quarrelled with him. Gave me an attitude like he don't want my business and I owed him a million. Nvere mind, left my tv there.

Next day,they called me my TV is already repaired and cost $80. WTH! Such an old TV cost $80 to repair?? Worth or not? They didn't even call me to ask if I'm okay with it. When I questioned them why so ex, the guy, which I think is the repairman in the shop, yelled at me say labour costs no need ah?part no need ah?I ask him labour cost how much, he said $100 each day! Then shouted at me say "Want, come collect. Don't want don't collect!" Very bad attitude! Anyhow charge. Conman!

So, I decided to donate the tv to them lor.Not worth the effort for me to go and collect anyway.What a conman, think I carrot head anyhow chop. They told me this kind of old tv very valuable, can tahan very long..many pple want it. Ok lor,since they got such a good lobang, I donate to them lor. See if they can get more than $50 for it.

BTW, it will cost me $60 to dispose it off. :)

All I know is $80 may be just enough for Sony TV man to come down to your place (ie transportation only). Part is extra.
- Not quite sure the current price now. That was several years ago for my old SONY CRT. Even you decided not to repair, you still need to pay $40 (or $60).

And all price exclude GST !

faithsilence

my 8 yr old Samsung TV recently have this problem where when it is turned on, the TV will show a distorted TV image, then it will get into the blue screen mode. It will appear ok after I turn it off and on again or switch to another channel. What is the possible cause of this?

mrsun18

my 8 yr old Samsung TV recently have this problem where when it is turned on, the TV will show a distorted TV image, then it will get into the blue screen mode. It will appear ok after I turn it off and on again or switch to another channel. What is the possible cause of this?
The tv set is telling you that he is sick and old - he wants to retire... Seriously, it is likely to be beyond economical repair (not worth). Take this as an opportunity to buy a new set with the latest T2 option :s22:

Bieffe

The tv set is telling you that he is sick and old - he wants to retire... Seriously, it is likely to be beyond economical repair (not worth). Take this as an opportunity to buy a new set with the latest T2 option :s22:
i totally agree. MB issue. My just over warranty Samsung also repair. $300. Less than 6 mths cannot power up.

faithsilence

Already bought :D Sony 42W674A, I was torn btw this model after the very nice salesperson at HN Northpoint recommended a similarly spec-ed TV from Panasonic, the model is L42E6S (1 more HDMI and 1 more USB port than the W674A), I almost bought the Panasonic as I always like Panasonic electronics, the SMART interface is also not bad and user customisable. What disappointed me was the workmanship of the TV though.

There is this extra thin frame covering the bezel of the TV, it was rather poorly installed as I can see gaps all over. I dunno what's with the design of the TV with the extra plastic frame, it would have been so much nicer if it is without. But those who can look beyond this can consider the L42E6S though, the design is quite nice.

In the end, I bought the Sony. :vijayadmin:

proddy

My old model 46" LCD from Sharp is not showing black color accurately. So when it is a dark scene, u'll see ugly patches. Other colors is fine as I watch BPL with it and am satisfied with the colors.

Any rough repair costs or is it time for an upgrade?
Any takers for such "spoilt" LCDs if I get a new TV

cscs3

My old model 46" LCD from Sharp is not showing black color accurately. So when it is a dark scene, u'll see ugly patches. Other colors is fine as I watch BPL with it and am satisfied with the colors.

Hope is not panel issue as Sharp panel only first year under warranty.

tuckloong

wah which model de? maybe can change the picture setting? :(

spoilt TV arent worth much de...haiz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.