how old is your TV? If it's more than 5 years or so, would recommend to buy a new TV set.Any recommendations for lcd tv repair? i heard a pop sound from the tv and it went dead. look like a capacitor KO. liao
how old is your TV? If it's more than 5 years or so, would recommend to buy a new TV set.![]()

not so sure as didn't repair any flat TVs before haha just buy new one since nowadays TV prices are dropping.Just coming to 5 yrs. .. anyone know what is the rough cost to fix it?![]()
If you are sure it's a cap issue, then some of those basic repair shops might do, and in xtremeplace.com there is a bro there called wizardofoz who does such jobs, you can pm him there.Any recommendations for lcd tv repair? i heard a pop sound from the tv and it went dead. look like a capacitor KO. liao
If you are sure it's a cap issue, then some of those basic repair shops might do, and in xtremeplace.com there is a bro there called wizardofoz who does such jobs, you can pm him there.
Otherwise the vendor repairs are not that cheap.
Cheers.
It looks more like a surge protection varistor, not a capacitor. However, usually there is a high voltage fault which causes the varistor to burst. Hence, just by replacing the burnt varistor alone may not solve the problem.Found the fried capacitor ... but hor.. donno how to replace it .. anyone know where to buy the replacement part? similar capacitors beside it says . 5J 6KV.
$80 is reasonable lah. If you call the agent, you'll also have to pay for transport charge (between $30 and $50) if you will eventually reject the repair.My old fat CRT tv spoilt. I think it shouldn't cost much to repair so send to this shop in Blk 194 Kim Keat Avenue call Gxxk Kxxn. The old man boss attitude was very bad when I sent my tv there. Almost quarrelled with him. Gave me an attitude like he don't want my business and I owed him a million. Nvere mind, left my tv there.
Next day,they called me my TV is already repaired and cost $80. WTH! Such an old TV cost $80 to repair?? Worth or not? They didn't even call me to ask if I'm okay with it. When I questioned them why so ex, the guy, which I think is the repairman in the shop, yelled at me say labour costs no need ah?part no need ah?I ask him labour cost how much, he said $100 each day! Then shouted at me say "Want, come collect. Don't want don't collect!" Very bad attitude! Anyhow charge. Conman!
So, I decided to donate the tv to them lor.Not worth the effort for me to go and collect anyway.What a conman, think I carrot head anyhow chop. They told me this kind of old tv very valuable, can tahan very long..many pple want it. Ok lor,since they got such a good lobang, I donate to them lor. See if they can get more than $50 for it.
BTW, it will cost me $60 to dispose it off.![]()
It looks more like a surge protection varistor, not a capacitor. However, usually there is a high voltage fault which causes the varistor to burst. Hence, just by replacing the burnt varistor alone may not solve the problem.

It is not a varistor. It is a capacitor. I've manage to find the circuit diagram online for this board.
I've went down to simlim tower and bought a 1Kv 100pF ceramic capacitor and replaced the damaged one. But the TV is still not powering on. I guess some other component might be an onboard fuse might have blown as well.
Well ... i do not have any equipment to test it now(yep i do not have multimeter) so i'll just keep the whole thing one side and deal with it when i have the time.
BTW .. samsung quote me SGD$127 for a replacement power board.
Get a new set..
My old fat CRT tv spoilt. I think it shouldn't cost much to repair so send to this shop in Blk 194 Kim Keat Avenue call Gxxk Kxxn. The old man boss attitude was very bad when I sent my tv there. Almost quarrelled with him. Gave me an attitude like he don't want my business and I owed him a million. Nvere mind, left my tv there.
Next day,they called me my TV is already repaired and cost $80. WTH! Such an old TV cost $80 to repair?? Worth or not? They didn't even call me to ask if I'm okay with it. When I questioned them why so ex, the guy, which I think is the repairman in the shop, yelled at me say labour costs no need ah?part no need ah?I ask him labour cost how much, he said $100 each day! Then shouted at me say "Want, come collect. Don't want don't collect!" Very bad attitude! Anyhow charge. Conman!
So, I decided to donate the tv to them lor.Not worth the effort for me to go and collect anyway.What a conman, think I carrot head anyhow chop. They told me this kind of old tv very valuable, can tahan very long..many pple want it. Ok lor,since they got such a good lobang, I donate to them lor. See if they can get more than $50 for it.
BTW, it will cost me $60 to dispose it off.![]()