Post your Home Cooked Dishes here

Toons

Mine is cheapo turbo broiler...hahah
... Pop into the turbo broiler for 40 mins at 225C

Wah, i never get such good results with my broiler. Tink its time to get its lazy ass working again. Remembered tat i still have a pack of frozen chicken drumsticks rotting in the freezer. Now i know wat to do with it Gum sia! :D

striker22

The key is to remove as much moisture as possible by patting it dry, leaving it in the fridge and/ or rubbing dry spice on it. I start the oven to the max and then bring it down. Anytime there is lots of moisture, you cannot get crispy chicken skin.

carey

Thanks for sharing. I will try to rub some curry powder and herbs as well next time I cook.

As for the photos, i think they just take first and determine what to do later depending on how much you eat. If you see your face pasted outside the restaurant next time with a big red cross on it then you will know.

I dont know about using curry powder as "flour" cos it may be overpowering ahaha

Can you try and let us know? :D

Dont think they will deliberately shame their customers haha

Toons

Horkay, after looking at Carey's beautiful tumeric chick, i also cannot resist trying my own. Here's to my virgin attempt at airfried tumeric chick drums.

Before ... with some salt n pepper.
Y7077cB.jpg

After ... errr Carey, they're supposed to be this color right? Afterall, you said to spam the tumeric?
63nThhB.jpg

N8i0SQk.jpg

Reagent
2yrdaci.jpg

Toons

Wind drying ...
x7zLfai.jpg

... cum aging my tumeric chicks :s13:
EROOK1M.jpg

Hope its worth it ... i stained my fingers yellow :(
5p29bIs.jpg

Results
ETA lunch 31 Jan

Outcome to be revealed tomorrow .... not cliff hanger lar, just tat i'm only airfrying them tomorrow for lunch :D

So basically, they're still out there, absorbing the essence of heaven n earth ... or absorbing the dirt depending on how you look at it ;)

carey

Yup the turmeric powder looks ok haha

Wont be bitter - in fact i can hardly taste the turmeric flavour after roasting haha

But remember to use a drip tray :)

Toons

wah i see first time pple airing their food out side hahahah :D

Tot of using hair dryer, but lazy, so use the good ole foc + no effort way :D

Maybe should lay out on a tray so the pieces at the bottom get to dry as well?

Good idea, then i dun have to reverse the pieces halfway thru liao :o

Yup the turmeric powder looks ok haha

Wont be bitter - in fact i can hardly taste the turmeric flavour after roasting haha

But remember to use a drip tray :)

Keke, yea, ended up okay. In fact, i was hoping for a stronger tumeric fragrance. I remember eating those malay fried chick b4 with a really strong tumeric fragrance which are really nice. Hmmmm, how to intensify the tumeric fragrance ah? Some of those tumeric are abt 4x the price of the one i bought. Will those more X tumeric be more fragrant?

when airfrying I used a metal stand with the pieces of chick laid on top. Just placed a plate underneath to collect all the dripping oil. Cleaning wise still okay. Can lay the entire bottom with aluminium foil? Then can just fold up the foil n throw away ... minimal washing then?

Toons

The outcome :-
dsqksAk.jpg

YIyhhqU.jpg

Verdict :-
Hmmm, the drying really helped with the crispiness of the skin wor. Even next day when i reheated a piece, the skin still crispy.

Got a bit of tumeric fragrance, but i prefer more. Any ideas on how to get a stronger tumeric fragrance like those malay fried chick?

Tenderness no prob, but juiciness can be improved. Eat hot still okay (can be juicier though), but later when cold n after keep in fridge, really becomes dry. Sigh, think its partially due to my using frozen chick as opposed to fresh/chilled chick. Also, lack of oil as i airfry instead of deep fry with oil? Could it be cos its over dried too?

Overall still not bad, but it lacks the oiliness n fried taste you get from deep frying with oil, so not tat shiok. No choice, its healthier at the expense of some taste ... there is always a tradeoff ... :s8:

Gum sia for reading all my jabblering :s13:

striker22

Verdict :-

Got a bit of tumeric fragrance, but i prefer more. Any ideas on how to get a stronger tumeric fragrance like those malay fried chick?

Add curry powder. Some malay cooks use fresh tumeric paste in their batter mix.

Tenderness no prob, but juiciness can be improved. Eat hot still okay (can be juicier though), but later when cold n after keep in fridge, really becomes dry. Sigh, think its partially due to my using frozen chick as opposed to fresh/chilled chick. Also, lack of oil as i airfry instead of deep fry with oil? Could it be cos its over dried too?
Texturally, frozen chicken can taste like that, plus airfrying can make it too dry. To increase juiciness, Some people brine it or soak in milk/ buttermilk first and then marinate with spices before drying it.

Overall still not bad, but it lacks the oiliness n fried taste you get from deep frying with oil, so not tat shiok. No choice, its healthier at the expense of some taste ... there is always a tradeoff ... :s8:

If desire abit more oil, can smear some ghee or lard on the chicken before cooking. Dun use butter cos the water content is abit too much

Toons

Add curry powder. Some malay cooks use fresh tumeric paste in their batter mix.

Any idea on the proportion? 1 : 1?

Texturally, frozen chicken can taste like that, plus airfrying can make it too dry. To increase juiciness, Some people brine it or soak in milk/ buttermilk first and then marinate with spices before drying it.

Soak overnight too? Those UHT cow fresh cream milk can hor?

If desire abit more oil, can smear some ghee or lard on the chicken before cooking. Dun use butter cos the water content is abit too much

Thanks bro! Really appreciate all the suggestions. Some clarifications in red. Will try them out for my 2nd attempt :D

striker22

Proportion is up to u. I am not chinese so I prefer more curry powder than tumeric but most people should use only 1/4 to 1/2 the amount of curry powder compared to tumeric.

Any cheap milk will do. Soak at least 2 hrs maybe longer. Can add salt to milk if u like. Lay dry on baking sheet. With paper towels. Dun put in mixing bowl or liquid will collect below.

carey

Keke, yea, ended up okay. In fact, i was hoping for a stronger tumeric fragrance. I remember eating those malay fried chick b4 with a really strong tumeric fragrance which are really nice. Hmmmm, how to intensify the tumeric fragrance ah? Some of those tumeric are abt 4x the price of the one i bought. Will those more X tumeric be more fragrant?

I think they added something else to it

Probably lemongrass plus galanga

Anyway, I was trying to achieve fried chicken - not turmeric chicken =:p

when airfrying I used a metal stand with the pieces of chick laid on top. Just placed a plate underneath to collect all the dripping oil. Cleaning wise still okay. Can lay the entire bottom with aluminium foil? Then can just fold up the foil n throw away ... minimal washing then?

Can or use an aluminium baking pan below

I usually recycle the oil/drippings to fry eggs etc

carey

How about grilling them only when you want to eat them? :s8:

My chicken is always very juicy and tender woah :s13:

twtan14

Some home cooked dishes.

Deep Fried Pomfret with Chilli - The chilli paste is home made too.

Dinner-03Dec2013-01.jpg

Stir Fried Cabbage and Asparagus with Minced Pork

Dinner-03Dec2013-02.jpg

blues7

The outcome :-

Totally awesome, very impressive

For me, too lazy to make even with air fryer

Will only consider if family like to eat and ok to eat frequently

If not getting air fryer will only occupy more space in kitchen

Which is over crowded with juice machine, slow Cooker etc

Mod Edit: Do not quote the picture in reply, read the Rules and Regulations.

Last edited by a moderator:

twtan14

Ciabatta with Virginia Ham, Lettuce, Tomato, Avocado and a squeeze of Honey Mustard. Taste even better if the Ciabatta bread is lightly toasted first.

Breakfast-28Dec2013.jpg

hairil

I remember eating those malay fried chick b4 with a really strong tumeric fragrance which are really nice. Hmmmm, how to intensify the tumeric fragrance ah? Some of those tumeric are abt 4x the price of the one i bought. Will those more X tumeric be more fragrant?

You can try using fresh turmeric and other herbs and spices such as lemongrass (serai), galangal (blue ginger/lengkuas), garlic, shallots, coriander seeds (ketumbar) and fennel seeds (jintan). Curry powder adds a subtle kick of heat, but not in an overpowering manner which makes you perspire bucket-loads.

Blend the spices together (using either a blender, food processor, or the classic mortar and pestle), and marinate the chicken in the resulting paste for at least an hour or two (best left overnight in the fridge). Oh, and don't forget to add salt, or you'll end up with a pile of fragrant but disappointingly bland chicken pieces.

Hope this helps! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.