ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread - Part 3

andr3wyong

it'd be pretty fugly to have the AC87U in master bedroom haha.

what options do i have? repurpose the ac87u as the main router, buy another AP like unifi?

leave the ac87u as it is, buy a unifi? replace the zhone with ERL/mikrotik.

just how good is this unifi? heard it's wifi range is crazy :s22:

I am satisfied with the UniFi range and it is above average (i.e. AC66U and above kind of range).

However my concern is that if your house has structural features that attenuate or obstruct the signal, then really nothing much will help as in terms of 2.4GHz range (which probably is the only usable one in difficult areas), most commercial and home routers today are capped at 200mW due to IDA regulation in 2.4GHz band.

I.e. all IDA-compliant devices in 2.4GHz band are likely to perform the same.

Even the Zhone router is already transmitting at the maximum allowed 200mW under IDA regulation.

is it only <ahem> for sitex and the rest of the deal is like still water ? as i dont plan to upgrade <ahem> and will go with the default

Monitor/Keyboard?!

Just tahan a while more lah.

Oops conduction i mean ... sorry lor brain on zzz today :s22:

Want to hoot hard, hoot this ;) :D

My server used for real life ESXi/SAN cluster lah, not benchmarking

cyberet

You might be disappointed? LOL

Worst hint ever. But eh for those who do not want the bundle, I can buy the <ahem> off you :3 told my boss I want a new <ahem> and he said deduct from salary <cries>

i'll be signing up this sitex.
finally the contract is over :s13:
lazy to go show to signup le, any diff? :s12:

andr3wyong

Lucky draw only haha! And also you get to go over to MR booth to tell them you are signing up for ViewQwest! Their promoters tell me they dunno who ViewQwest is, maybe you can tell them :p

Otherwise you can do by email or visit showroom and help yourself to the broadband and sofa haha!

CrazyBlue

2 rooms away, 2 walls;

2.4ghz
jQ14tti.png

5ghz
Fdf7Xf5.png

I'm not even sure if this is acceptable speeds with just 2 walls away in the master. Anyway, this is tested on MBP 2014 - the phones and tablets seem to be having a much harder time, if even usable.

I'm..just not sure if it's a firmware issue or hardware, and if hardware, will anything help with the MBR area, short of putting an AP there directly.

andr3wyong

2 rooms away, 2 walls;

2.4ghz
jQ14tti.png

5ghz
Fdf7Xf5.png

I'm not even sure if this is acceptable speeds with just 2 walls away in the master. Anyway, this is tested on MBP 2014 - the phones and tablets seem to be having a much harder time, if even usable.

I'm..just not sure if it's a firmware issue or hardware, and if hardware, will anything help with the MBR area, short of putting an AP there directly.
Get free home consultation from VQ and ask them to bring an RT-AC68U, but don't buy, just "borrow" it to do a comparison. Maybe, just maybe, it is an AC87U hardware/compatibility issue.

Then do a WTT on marketplace lor. OR you can purchase that RT-AC68U as a repeater (or AP).

Else, you can always try an RMA of the AC87U to a new set.

CrazyBlue

Get free home consultation from VQ and ask them to bring an RT-AC68U, but don't buy, just "borrow" it to do a comparison. Maybe, just maybe, it is an AC87U hardware/compatibility issue.

Then do a WTT on marketplace lor. OR you can purchase that RT-AC68U as a repeater (or AP).

Else, you can always try an RMA of the AC87U to a new set.

*ring ring* monkey hotline? haha. thanks for the responses, gg out liao, test again later. :s12:

chaicka

Currently how long does it take from registration to activation? My ST contract is almost up, and I'd figured that I should consider jumping ship, since ST doesn't offer ISP mail with 1Gbps.

ps: Not trying to ask if VQ has email, and I might as well use existing own domain name for email from here on whether I recon to ST or sign up VQ.

What took u so long to join me... :s13:

chaicka

Stage 3 is whole house air conditioned 24/7 like data centre along with "in-case-of-fire" auto activation equipment?! :s13::s13::s12:

Not yet... Getting there. Now only got smoke or heat detection to automatically trigger lights for escape route. ;)

The water-cooled switches is due to one of the poorest h/w design I have seen in a decade. Fans that spin like full blasted R720s for a tiny 24-port 1U switch. Leaving me a bitter taste after this nightmare. Maylyn knows what I am talking about. :p

maylyn

Not yet... Getting there. Now only got smoke or heat detection to automatically trigger lights for escape route. ;)

The water-cooled switches is due to one of the poorest h/w design I have seen in a decade. Fans that spin like full blasted R720s for a tiny 24-port 1U switch. Leaving me a bitter taste after this nightmare.

Hoot the Daikin VRV systems :p :D

One the other hand, i''m not going to deploy the 24 port switch until Ubiquiti has come up a better temperature threshold and more variable fan speeds for it.

*Add into box collection first ..... Until further notice.

cyberet

Lucky draw only haha! And also you get to go over to MR booth to tell them you are signing up for ViewQwest! Their promoters tell me they dunno who ViewQwest is, maybe you can tell them :p

Otherwise you can do by email or visit showroom and help yourself to the broadband and sofa haha!

lucky draw prize is a plush monkey soft toy? :D

doki81

sigh...bottleneck seem to be happen on my onboard realtek LAN... :( any recommendation for good pcie LAN card?

hq83

Really depends on the schedule available - best to call in and ask
Spoke to a guy from vq,
for some reason my plan was upgrade from 500mbps to 600mbps.. instead of 1gbps..
he has helped to provision my line to 1gbps. but still unable to go past 800mbps download. will be waiting for him to arrange a on site engineer to troubleshoot on this :)

trickle_on

You might be disappointed? LOL

Worst hint ever. But eh for those who do not want the bundle, I can buy the <ahem> off you :3 told my boss I want a new <ahem> and he said deduct from salary <cries>

If the ahem is a functioning flux capacitor, no way am I selling it.

:p

Dr_ARCHer

Oops conduction i mean ... sorry lor brain on zzz today :s22:

I think convection is more correct than conduction. While liquids do conduct heat, convection is usually more efficient and takes place instead of conduction.

But hey, I only study social sciences..... :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.