ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread - Part 3

maylyn

How about water-cooled switches. :s13:

Anyway, made some headroom with the 'noise' issue after stage 1 changes I have introduced. Now running for 3 days and the noise level is within acceptable range while no impact in temperature (no rise up spotted). Stage 2 pending delivery. ;)

Hoot these and modify ;) :D

andr3wyong

What is the slated performance of the zhone's wifi?

With the newly placed AC87U in the study, the wifi doesn't even reach the toilet, which is <10m, though with 1 or 2 walls depending on how the line is drawn. Finicky!

Thinking of taking my friend's suggestions and using a mikrotik in place of the zhone, and then using 1 (or 2) unifi ap pro.

The Zhone wifi definitely will not live up the the AC87U, haha. It could be that your home has certain structural beams/features that results in the poor connectivity, in which case you have to try locating the AC87U in a different room.

Currently how long does it take from registration to activation? My ST contract is almost up, and I'd figured that I should consider jumping ship, since ST doesn't offer ISP mail with 1Gbps.

ps: Not trying to ask if VQ has email, and I might as well use existing own domain name for email from here on whether I recon to ST or sign up VQ.

NLT is the delay factor; other than that, if you sign up before the last 2 days of SITEX, the turnaround time for VQ is NLT appointment date + 3 days.

You go help me find suitable LN2 pot first + mountings onto the CPU die :s22: ;) I sponsor my Fluke 50 Series thermometer for your usage for free :D

Don't even know ARM CPU can be operable @ extreme negative temperatures :s22:

Not ARM lah our Speedtest PC is Devil's Canyon leh.

Plastick

is the current 600mbps package the sitex deal?

Hi, check one-time charges over at the signup forms ViewQwest Pte Ltd for the plan u wish to sign up.

Home voice is now available for $3.95/mth if i not wrong. (for new recontract customers. if you had voice bundle free previously it remains free.)

As for porting number from MR i leave it to Nic or monkey. ;)

as a smaller RSP it isn't cost effective for us to support number porting presently. However as our subscriber base (slowly) grows this isn't set in stone of course

thank you.

Plastick

You will be able to opt for another yet-to-be-announced promotional bundle which some will find very attractive

do you mean to say i can choose to change it to the sitex one w/o additional cost? i ask cause i don't want to do any sign up now and then to miss a better one when the sitex promo is out (if there is one).

thank you for the sibei prompt response.

maylyn

My server's CPU TDP is 8x95W in 2U space, the water may boil :p I want to put 135W CPUs in still

Heat convection via water is one of the best ;)

What is TDP 135W CPU? no kick for water cooling :p

Air cooling is one of the worst due to very poor heat conductivity.

andr3wyong

do you mean to say i can choose to change it to the sitex one w/o additional cost? i ask cause i don't want to do any sign up now and then to miss a better one when the sitex promo is out (if there is one).

You will have to wait for the SITEX promotional sign up forms to be made available on our website in order to enjoy the SITEX promotion by email sign-up, at our showroom or at SITEX itself.

If you submit the non-SITEX bundle sign up form, you will need to submit the SITEX form again later so I highly suggest waitin for the promotion to be announced before signing up (which should be any day now...)

HexenHeretic

wanna ask on behalf of someone, does viewqwest provide webhosting services for business?

andr3wyong

Heat convection via water is one of the best ;)

What is TDP 135W CPU? no kick for water cooling :p

Air cooling is one of the worst due to very poor heat conductivity.

It's a 8-CPU server in 2U. BTW I think you mean conduction, convection would mean the server is submerged in water :p

Mineral oil still can, but definitely not water!

wanna ask on behalf of someone, does viewqwest provide webhosting services for business?

We provide colocation services but not directly web hosting. If you need hosting do drop me a PM. If you would like colo services, do PM me as well.

I can link you up to an account manager (I can't go into more details on forums as I do not do corporate sales and also because I do not want to use my HWZ account in a commercial capacity)

AndyShin

Any1 had heat issues with zhone router? Mine is inside the DB closet and I feel the top surface with my hand is hot!!

Is it normal for the router to be so hot? I on it for 24/7 non-stop bcoz of my ip cams.

use a coolermaster flat surface cooling pad

andr3wyong

Can't wait for the Sitex promo.

Any hints?
You might be disappointed? LOL

Worst hint ever. But eh for those who do not want the bundle, I can buy the <ahem> off you :3 told my boss I want a new <ahem> and he said deduct from salary <cries>

CrazyBlue

The Zhone wifi definitely will not live up the the AC87U, haha. It could be that your home has certain structural beams/features that results in the poor connectivity, in which case you have to try locating the AC87U in a different room.

it'd be pretty fugly to have the AC87U in master bedroom haha.

what options do i have? repurpose the ac87u as the main router, buy another AP like unifi?

leave the ac87u as it is, buy a unifi? replace the zhone with ERL/mikrotik.

just how good is this unifi? heard it's wifi range is crazy :s22:

iamahleong

is it only <ahem> for sitex and the rest of the deal is like still water ? as i dont plan to upgrade <ahem> and will go with the default

maylyn

It's a 8-CPU server in 2U. BTW I think you mean conduction, convection would mean the server is submerged in water :p

Mineral oil still can, but definitely not water!

Oops conduction i mean ... sorry lor brain on zzz today :s22:

Want to hoot hard, hoot this ;) :D

ra[g]e

it'd be pretty fugly to have the AC87U in master bedroom haha.

what options do i have? repurpose the ac87u as the main router, buy another AP like unifi?

leave the ac87u as it is, buy a unifi? replace the zhone with ERL/mikrotik.

just how good is this unifi? heard it's wifi range is crazy :s22:
Cable up with Cat 6 :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.