The Hair Thread - Part 3

HeyYouThere

anybody know a decent salon in the east to bleach+dye my hair?

tried twister but no promo cost me 200+ and Kason always busy

Nickkkyy

Hi all,
Why when my brother and me use the same dye hair dye but the color on my brother's hair doesn't show while mine is pretty obvious .. Any idea why?

We both have natural black hair, never bleach, did everything exactly the same

Thanks

Sent from GAGT Android App

happideals

Selling Shiseido Professional Stage Works Hair Powder Shake

Hello guys, I'm actually selling the Shiseido Professional Stage Works Hair Powder Shake(full size - 150ml) for $25! Quick deal.

Able to meet up at Bedok, Sembawang, Raffles Place mrt station on weekdays!

Postage wise, $5.40 for Singpost Registered Mail, Free for Meetup (but only at the convenience of us <Sembawang, Raffles Place, Bedok Station>), or Normal Mail Postage for $3.20.

Also, if you get 2 bottles and above, $1 off each bottle!

Limited Stocks so grab it now!

Simply just send an email to happideals @gmail.com or text me at 93393471! Thanks!

BeanFarmer

Got back from HK yesterday and I recommend checking out temple street near Jordan station. Felt like a kid in a candy store, crazy range of "salon-grade" products... including clippers and scissors! Most of the styling products are really cheap... often 1/2 or 1/3 the price we see in sg.

Found a really interesting clay that washes out with water and doesn't weigh my hair down as much as gold digger! Something I've been appreciating a lot more recently after trying out water-based pomades. It's made by "Zenhair" but unfortunately you won't be able to google anything on it (I tried :D).

Definitely worth a look for anyone going to HK!
http://www.mangovine.net/site/entry/finding_cheap_branded_beauty_supplies_in_hong_kong/

Nickkkyy

Hi all,
Why when my brother and me use the same hair dye product but the color on my brother's hair doesn't show while mine is pretty obvious .. Any idea why?

We both have natural black hair, never bleach, did everything exactly the same

Thanks

deaththeorist

Got back from HK yesterday and I recommend checking out temple street near Jordan station. Felt like a kid in a candy store, crazy range of "salon-grade" products... including clippers and scissors! Most of the styling products are really cheap... often 1/2 or 1/3 the price we see in sg.

Found a really interesting clay that washes out with water and doesn't weigh my hair down as much as gold digger! Something I've been appreciating a lot more recently after trying out water-based pomades. It's made by "Zenhair" but unfortunately you won't be able to google anything on it (I tried :D).

MangoVine - Finding Cheap Branded Beauty Supplies in Hong Kong

Swee la bro! Going hk next mth

sogatda

be sure to visit these store if ur going hk too, dmn cheap also. I heard they offer more bulk discount if u can provide some proof that u own a hair salon. ><

shampoo.hk -

leejhong

tpj saw some new products on yr site, care to intro them? maikao clay, spray and vision pomade. how do all sprays rate up against each other now? ebl, powerpt, maikao, silouthette, voi, tigi

oh and your website taking rly dmn long to load nowadays, almost 1 min to load 1 product page sometimes! avg 30sec +

OK! I took a while to respond to this because for the past few weeks, i have been trying to perform a major upgrade for TPJ website. Some of you guys, if happen to frequent TPJ before, will find improvement in the site speed. Next week the server upgrade will be completed and it will be even faster. I hope TPJ is able to meet up to your expectations and provide a satisfactory online shopping experience for all!

It will be quite a lengthy post if i were to type all out. As a oneliner, hairspray is used to hold and fix the hair style in place throughout the day. So why are there so many different hairsprays out there? Two main differences: hold and shine. Most hairsprays come with extreme control as hold is one of the top prorities when it comes to styling the hair.

PP: Strong hold, matte and lightweight
VOI: Strong hold, slight shine
Schwarzkopf Silhouette: Extreme control, does not clump up the hair (makes it very suitable for bringing out the hair layers), non sticky
Tigi bedhead: Extreme control, mini size (able to bring up aircraft in hand-carry)
Maikao: Extreme control, texturizing, non sticky
Ebl taste hair spray: Extreme control, mild fragrance, low shine (new product as a replacement for ebl head code)

leejhong

Hi anyone can recommend something similar to GD but not so dry and chunky when applied to your hair? GD has great hold but the hair will stick together in a chunk..
looking for some product more moist that will still have the waves texture when u hand comb up.. using the old gatsby grey but has no hold at all. thx~~

You can consider giving vifa molding clay a try! It is soft clay which comes with slight shine. With this, it allows high level of pliability as it does not harden the hair or clump it up together too much. And yes i ought to mention that it comes with a nice smell too. Some even said that its addictive. For $18.90, a 130ml tub can last you a long time. Cheers!

http://theprettyjerk.com/product/vifa-molding-clay-extra-hold-130ml

leejhong

Guys, any hairdryer to recommend?

What's the voltage range like for salon type of hairdryers?

Noticed that a lot of people are asking about hairdryer purchase. Personally i would think that the watts matter more. Preferably, get a strong one of at least 1600W. Something i observed is that the speed matters when it comes to blowdrying and it really affects the results. Not an expert on such electronics so mine is just some ulu China brand that i bought one year ago!

leejhong

hello guys what would be the new hairstyle trend like for next year? Still slickback & quiff? :D

Went to clover far east for a haircut on new year day. Noticed that the slickback hype is going downhill. Angmoh hair is very fine and they dont tend to fall flat easily/clump tgther. On the contrary, asian hair is more coarse (thicker in hair diameter). And these plays a part in affecting how easy to style and how compatible the hairstyle is, for us. No matter what style you go for, remember to keep your sides short/shaved.

I still tend to believe in products that are formulated for asians. Yes there can be some which we feel that it suits us too, given that they are not asian formulated. And ultimately, the market is so wide with a variety of products to look at. So just choose the one that best suits you!

xRenol

MangoVine - Finding Cheap Branded Beauty Supplies in Hong Kong

be sure to visit these store if ur going hk too, dmn cheap also. I heard they offer more bulk discount if u can provide some proof that u own a hair salon. ><

shampoo.hk -

Note that some products could be 水貨.

sogatda

Wow its blazing fast now! :eek:

OK! I took a while to respond to this because for the past few weeks, i have been trying to perform a major upgrade for TPJ website. Some of you guys, if happen to frequent TPJ before, will find improvement in the site speed. Next week the server upgrade will be completed and it will be even faster. I hope TPJ is able to meet up to your expectations and provide a satisfactory online shopping experience for all!

sogatda

anyone knows where can i get star wax premium pomade in sg at an affordable price? $45 is way too ex for a pomade...

gaoxing84

Went to clover far east for a haircut on new year day. Noticed that the slickback hype is going downhill. Angmoh hair is very fine and they dont tend to fall flat easily/clump tgther. On the contrary, asian hair is more coarse (thicker in hair diameter). And these plays a part in affecting how easy to style and how compatible the hairstyle is, for us. No matter what style you go for, remember to keep your sides short/shaved.

I still tend to believe in products that are formulated for asians. Yes there can be some which we feel that it suits us too, given that they are not asian formulated. And ultimately, the market is so wide with a variety of products to look at. So just choose the one that best suits you!
Slick back or comb back is not a trend leh. It's a timeless classic. Quiff wise also the same. Since 1950s till now. Only Asian took some time to take it in. Because of the jap and recent Korea wave. The British indie cut also has been around for quite time some time already.

Yes Asian Product is formulated for Asian but don't we all use Ang moh product and it works too? Maybe even better . Lol to each of its own la. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.