Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Flight over Changi, supposedly Malaysia burning. He mentioned whole area damn hazy.
Taken by another EDMW bro.

159120643.iLA1SLE7.jpg

WussRedXLi

Higher PSI in eastern part of Singapore on Friday - Singapore Environment News & Top Stories - The Straits Times

SINGAPORE - The eastern part of Singapore has been seeing hazier skies with the Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) hitting the moderate range since morning. At noon, the PSI reading was 79. The rest of the country saw PSI readings between 56 and 63 at noon.

Residents in the east had complained of a strong burning smell on Thursday evening, with some saying that it smelled like burning plastic.

Residents in areas like Siglap, Bedok, Pasir Ris and East Coast Road said they were affected as early as 6.30pm.

As of 9.30pm, the Singapore Civil Defence Force confirmed that there had been no fires reported in the affected areas.

A check on the National Environment Agency's app MyEnv showed that the hourly PM2.5 reading in the east peaked at 155 (ug/m3) at 3am on Friday, an extremely high reading compared to the other parts of Singapore.

It dropped to 24 at 4am and at 8am, it registered a reading of 51. By noon, it was 24.

The PM2.5 reading for the rest of Singapore hovered in the 18-28 range at 8am.

PM2.5 are small, toxic particles that can be emitted by forest fires, vehicles, power plants, refineries, ships and aircraft, and to a lesser extent by construction and land reclamation.

WussRedXLi

https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/posts/10152570880402115

陳玉能 Now the smell just got even worse. I stay in tamp and my house used to be able to see the city area. Now I can't even see the blocks at bedok reservoir. It's that bad.

Zurah Fanzaynness Yup. Very very very hazy since morning. E smell unbearable. I kept on sneezing cuz I hv sinus. I need to close all my windows wic I find it humid. I m staying on e eastern side ie Tampines. Pls pls pls do something. My entire family hv sinus esp me n my 14 yr old dotter.

Sofiya Aurora the smell is so bad in my house now. I got sinus pain on my forehead after smelling it. it's really bad the haze at tampines st 33 now

Tng Soon Huat Strong burning smell. Air purifier turned red colour and still turning red. No chance tyrn green

Purva Sandesh Arora PSI readings aren't correct for SG - EAST - Simei Area ...cannot be 44-50...Please provide correct information. Weather update is deceiving. my daughter couldn't stop coughing whole night. uneasy feeling ...sore throat.

Shariff Sulaiman No wonder my asthma is making a come back...

Celestine Alvina Sun From punggol to sengkang... to pasir ris and bedok. It is very... I mean VERY bad.

No warnings from NEA? Must we flag out before u say... oh yea.. it especially high at this hour instead of warning the residents WHEN it happens so we can care for small children and elderly? Can you be competent instead of pretending it is not happening? #gehsiao

Joshua Alexis Wah cannot tahan even close the door and Windows also so strong..hope it's not some kind of sabotage to reduce population lol..

Calvin Tham Tampines ave 1 n 10 area... Stand at Balcony eyes smarting alr. This is a very bad Haze!!! Whats our good Garhmen doing about it? Been smelling slight haze for past 2 weeks alr. Lots of talk about Trans Boundary Haze. All talk nia??? Guess its Stay Indoors for CNY this year??

Joyah AsalBoleh Too tired i slept early.but was awaken by strong burning smell.so paranoid i just jump frm my bed to see what happen..thought my house was on fire running to my kitchen to see is there any fire..until my eldest son say it was haze....still dont believe it untill i look out the window...yess haze at tampines so bad...

Irene Teo Chengluan The burnt smell was very strong at Siglap/ Upper East coast area that I have to close all my doors and windows.

Angie Thng Strong burning smell in Pasir Ris area. Eyes tearing. Still very bad.

Andy Yeo Its extremely unbreathable in Bedok Reservoir area.

WussRedXLi

No wonder got 4 pax asking in PMs what Air Purifier to buy....

South side here, my laser particle counter missed the action. No action here.

WussRedXLi

This predominantly NE Singapore haze episode seems bad due to the very high levels of smell attached to the smoke particles (relatively speaking, the PM2.5 concentration is not super sky-high relative to the high levels of smell).

Seriously speaking, you don't need to spend that much for haze prevention prep.

If your aim is just to bring say PM2.5 50 - 100 ug/m3 concentration range down to say a very very breatheable 5 ug/m3 in your room in 30 mins, even a Sharp A28 with its 168m3/hr airflow and stock H10 filter (85%) will do the job in a 15 sqm MBR within 30 minutes. In fact, 5 ug/m3 is pretty clean air, this air quality is equivalent to the cleanest days you'd get during end Dec 2014 to late Jan 2015.

But I am not saying that this basic Sharp A28 model is suitable for everyone even though it'd do very decently for the majority of conditions experienced here in SG. This is coz even in fan speed 2, it is somewhat noisy and probably unacceptable for very light sleepers. The energy efficiency is also below average. But for prevention of transient haze episodes, this is good.
For bigger halls like Mansionettes/Penthouses, we even have the $200 Xiaomi, which has 1.6X more cleaning power than your Amway.

For those who are more health conscious (more and more studies point to air pollution impacting our lives) and who are into healthy living, healthy eating.....hence needing something that he/she would use daily for a good 10-12 hours, then yes you'd go for a model that has a more refined edge.
Mid priced models include those in Sharp, LG, Samsung, Philips, Coway....and go all the way up for models offered by IQAir, Blueair, Austin Air and of course your mentioned Amway.

To give you an idea, if you were to plonk a Samsung AX40 into a typical 4/5 room HDB master bedroom of say 16-25 sqm....you are looking at ZERO ug/m3 on the laser particle counter within 30 mins of operation for the typical 50- low 100s ug/m3 concentrations that we face. Even for June 2013 haze, no issue at all, just would take a wee bit more time and maybe hit a bottom threshold of say 1 or at most 2 ug/m3 concentration due to "room leakage". In fact, you'd be more like looking at the number of particles per Litre of Air, really going down into such minute ranges that it doesn't really make much of a difference in real life even for those Sensitive Group who have medical risks. Just mere numbers and statistics

So choose your poison depending on your personal budget and needs.

PS. For NE China and the sky-high PM2.5 concentrations that they get, that's another ballgame. A Samsung AX40 type of AP shd be common purchase even for a small 15 sqm bedroom. Coz their AQI peaks range from 600 all the way to nearly 1000 (!!!). You get what I mean?
And you know, last year (or the year before last year), 7 million deaths were attributed to such high levels of air pollution.

WussRedXLi

This very transient haze episode I believe "woke up" a lot of folks esp those with underlying health issues but just lacking the trigger. Not kidding here, just check the Straits Times Facebook postings above. Several hundreds in the first day alone....

2014 haze was very prolonged but PM2.5 relatively mild, and not much smell hence not noticeable at all.

This NE Singapore haze episode was absolutely terrible in terms of smell. I myself was actually doubting my pal when he said he needed multiple shots of his asthma meds and the whole family kpkb due to the smell. I definitely doubted when he mentioned that it's even slightly worse than June 2013. (Sure anot, wu yia boh? Coz I am living @ South, didn't get nothing on 12-13 Feb.

Last night I got my first hit at 2300hr. It was smelly alright, but not super duper smelly ie at a Chinese temple during peak period. My wife did smelled this when she came out to use the toilet (to avoid waking up the young ones due to the flushing sound). She is usually a calm person and bochup about the haze (she is also an Indonesian, so before she came to SG over 10 years ago....haze very common occurrence lah :D ). But this morning she was quite excited, she told me when she came out to mix milk for the toddler, the smell was absolutely terrible that she had to close the windows for the kitchen and living room (actually she doesn't have to, all the 3 rooms have air purifiers, MBR actually 2 coz got toddler :D),. I checked the NEA pollutant concentration and it was 84 ug/m3 peak only.

13 Feb, East was 76, 97 and 155 ug/m3 peak. :eek: And subsequently 81, 78 ug/m3 68 ug/m3 etc for 1-hr readings EAST. So I can imagine the psychological impact due to the bad smell alone.

To date, I have had 12 PMs asking for Air purifiers advice.

WussRedXLi

FT Pride, don't mind me posting the pics here. Wouldn't have been possible without a dSLR there for an impromptu shot without tripod (Sony A700)

159138591.kWNz6BXb.16347012940_9779ea7bcf_o.jpg

159138595.0bN2rqNY.16348572347_a3585cf4e2_o.jpg

WussRedXLi

Comparing landfill fires vs biomass burning (eg indon haze). Pg 20.

http://www.fire.uni-freiburg.de/vfe/Emissions-Open-Burning-Lemieux-etal-2004.pdf

Abstract

Biomass open burning sources typically emitted less VOCs than open burning sources with anthropogenic fuels on a mass emitted per mass burned basis, particularly those where polymers were concerned. Biomass open burning sources typically emitted less SVOCs and PAHs than anthropogenic (man-made) sources on a mass emitted per mass burned basis. Burning pools of crude oil and diesel fuel produced significant amounts of PAHs relative to other types of open burning. PAH emissions were highest when combustion of polymers was taking place.

Sghero

I live in tampines & can smell the chao tar smell every night. wheres the $99 sharp air purifier selling? may need to buy 2 sets.

WussRedXLi

I live in tampines & can smell the chao tar smell every night. wheres the $99 sharp air purifier selling? may need to buy 2 sets.

It's on qoo10. But it's sgd115 now, store pickup at Liang Court. It may drop anytime though.

But it's CNY now, bad time to pick anything up since I think everywhere also closed liao.

The stock filter for it is H10, ie 85% efficiency. IT will still work ok for haze for a typical HDB bedroom, 0.3 microns, even 0.1 microns. Just fire it up at high speed (noisy) for the first 30 mins.

WussRedXLi

Thinking of getting a honeywell air purifier.

Is it worth the investment?

If your budget allows for getting the machine and filters (change after 6-9 months with 12hrs nightly use to prevent mold compromising the HEPA media, prevent smell etc), ok. It's not quiet though. You cannot customise HEPA replacement filters for this on taobao.

You can check out the Samsung AX40 and LG LA-Q379SB on qoo10. Both are as quiet as it can be despite it having really good airflow specs.

mikeeeey

Thanks for the reply.

I need a really decent purifier for my living room. Will research on that two.

mikeeeey

Btw. What's the benefits of AX40?
Filter easy to get replacement?

How come Samsung website only got AX022

WussRedXLi

Thanks for the reply.

I need a really decent purifier for my living room. Will research on that two.
Both are cheap for the performance and can handle HDB living room sizes decently for most folks. The airflow spec is about low 300 m3/hr range.
Cost SGD265 (AX40) and 278 (LA-Q379SB) shipped.

If your family members have a history of heart/lung problems, young infants/toddlers, pregnant ladies, asthma....then you might need to step up the cleaning power and get 2 units. Or a single powerful unit like the Sharp FU-A80 (airflow 480m3/hr, SGD499)....but the Sharp will be louder than the 2 units of Samsung AX40 while cleaning less.

Btw. What's the benefits of AX40?
Filter easy to get replacement?

How come Samsung website only got AX022

Samsung AX40 much more powerful than the AX22 or AX20 etc.

Samsung AX40 has only 2 useful fan speeds. Low speed and High Speed. The other speed modes are useless.

LG has 4 speeds, low med high and turbo.

LG has no filters on qoo10, you'd have to customise from Taobao. ie aliwangwang the sellers and give them the dimensions.

Samsung has filters on qoo10, sgd88. Likewise, also can customise from taobao. eg Samsung filter just ask them to make 310mm x 281mm x 44mm.

Aim to change filters every 6-9 months. Reasons being to prevent mold/bacteria/virus from colonising the media and risk compromising the structure and hence "leaking"....which won't be good. Even though the manufacturers would say change every 2 years to 10 years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.