Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

OH. So A80 is better than AX40?

A80 is 499 at Goh Ah Bee. AX40 is 265 shipped on qoo10 (limited period). 480m3/hr vs 323 m3/hr. 75W vs 34W.
53dB vs 45dB.

2 x AX40 = 47dB. 70W. 650m3/hr. 530SGD.

As mentioned, don't worry about replacement filters. Use the APs daily for good health. Just order from taobao and change them out at the 6 months mark (my experience), won't go wrong. You will be a happy camper.

In China, A80 is known as the FU-A420S
ÏÄÆÕ¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷FU-A420S-B/S,Ô*×°½ø¿Ú/³¬´óCADR/³ý¼×È©/³ý¾ú³ý³ô-ÌÔ±¦Íø

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?sp...=42438146413&ns=1&_u=i1u0hcib2556&abbucket=10

The replacement HEPA can just get off the shelf. RMB164, but if you get 4pcs I think you can aliwangwang the seller (taobao's internet messenger) and get at RMB150. The seller has excellent service and responsive. I get my filters from this seller, they use 97% @ 0.3 microns efficient media, more than good enough. I measured this figure, not claimed (forget about the claims on taobao sites, quite a lot are anyhow whack though you may get gems sometimes, but then it'd be like Russian roulette)
This one :
ÏÄÆÕ¾»»¯»ú¹ýÂËÍø×¨Òµ¶¨×ö(ÊʺÏFZ-180HFS/FZ-240HFS/FZ-A420HF)-ÌÔ±¦Íø

This seller I IMed them and they said they use F9 media (slightly less than 85% efficient). Filter size for the Sharp A80 is 390 x 285 x 37mm.
ÊÊÓÃÏÄÆÕ¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷FU-A420S-B/SÂËо ¼¯³¾HEPAÂËÍøFZ-A420HF°üÓÊ-ÌÔ±¦Íø

I believe the original H13 99.97% Sharp filter for it is S$109 at Best Denki.

Likewise it's the same for the LG LA-379SB. This one has the bonus of having 4 useful fan speeds while the Samsung has 2 useful ones only.

mikeeeey

Thanks.

I already have a A80 in the master bedroom, In your opinion, would you get another A80 for the living room or move the A80 to the living room and buy a new AX40 to the master bedroom?

WussRedXLi

Thanks.

I already have a A80 in the master bedroom, In your opinion, would you get another A80 for the living room or move the A80 to the living room and buy a new AX40 to the master bedroom?

AX40 can serve the MBR fine so do move the A80 to the living room.

But according to the specs, the med speed of the A80 is 41dB. 300m3/hr. Samsung AX40 high speed is 323m3/hr, 45dB. Do you think you can tahan that slight increase in noise while sleeping? The Low speed is very silent, but it would not clean a MBR room by much. (the Auto mode airflow has the same speed as Low 99% of the time, the Sleep mode airflow is even lower which is useless). So 4 modes for the AX40 : Auto, High, Low, Sleep...of which auto and sleep modes are useless.

Else it's better to choose the LG which on paper has more control for the fan.
The LG is 46dB @ highest. (I googled on the LG website)
57381708-0f69-4fe9-9d7c-0c4df7e7f20f.jpg

button.jpg

WussRedXLi

The Samsung AX40 has choice of original filters. Qoo10, SGD88

LG has no source of original filters.

Can go taobao to customise HEPA filters. Price would be about SGD20 each for a 44mm depth size. Performance = 97% @ 0.3 microns as measured by my laser particle counter. Airflow would drop approx. 20-30% due to increased resistance (it's counter-intuitive but just take it as it is). But the price : performance ratio cannot be beaten for 6-9 months replacement.

Real world usage, after the 2014 haze, my HEPA do smell a bit in Dec (actually Nov already can smell). I started to use in Apr 2014 only. Same thing for my Sharp and Novita hence i changed them out in Dec.

In NE China, they change their HEPAs once every 1 to 2 months during winter where the air quality is very bad.

drifting

My Honeywell 50250 is damn noisy even at the lowest setting. Was hoping to get an air purifier to put in bedroom. Would you recommend the ax40 then if I don't know how to use taobao etc?

Also happy cny :)

WussRedXLi

My Honeywell 50250 is damn noisy even at the lowest setting. Was hoping to get an air purifier to put in bedroom. Would you recommend the ax40 then if I don't know how to use taobao etc?

HW 50250 is well known to be noisy. High speed 400+m3/h (250 ft3/min i think) is 58db.
Ie 10pcs of AX40 is quieter than 1pc 50250. 3dB increase for every doubling in number.

Bujt while nowadays I am advocating a 6-9 months change, I guess for most folks a 12mths change suffices as well. Change after the Indon haze season, ie Nov-Dec. Just nice also.

Happy new year to all. Darn it...1st day CNY also toking air purifiers. :D

IIIUSION

But those AX40 etc, is not running at local 50Hz right?

60Hz still need to get adapter that will use more power in long run also.

Filter every 6 months damn siong leh, I feel those once a year just nice.

Ya and I can't use taobao also :(

WussRedXLi

Would like to know if xiaomi air purifier good to hoot?

Too noisy, it's in the 70dB range @ 1m for high speed. That's even noisier than the 59dB for Honeywell 50250.

High speed is power, 406m3/hr. Also a wee bit power hungry at 75W.

30W, 12 hrs a night, 365 days....5 years = SGD155 at current tariff.

The HW 50250 in high is 170W, haven't add in power convertor loss (maybe 10%?). if I rem correclty low speed = 50W

So while the Sharp A28 and FU-Z31 I picked up are bargains at sgd99 and sgd74 respectively, they aren't really useful in the long run if used daily, due to the electrical cost. FU-Z31 is second hand.

WussRedXLi

Filter every 6 months damn siong leh, I feel those once a year just nice.
Ya and I can't use taobao also :(

It's just a recommendation, which is probably doable for those who can get from taobao. Pros n cons lah.

But those AX40 etc, is not running at local 50Hz right?

60Hz still need to get adapter that will use more power in long run also.

No need .... 220V 60Hz AX40 appliance just plug into our 240V 50Hz.
Voltage diff, the China stuff are all 220V 50Hz. As for the cycles difference, won't spoil. In real life, several of us here have also been running for approx. 1 year already. I use mine daily for 12 hours.

There won't be any drop in performance, I posted before quite a while back.
The AX40 uses a SMPS/Switch mode power supply. The motor is a Motec brand 310 Vdc motor. Supposedly damn efficient. The motor does not see 60Hz, 50Hz or whatever cycles difference.

But yes...I know for stuff like washing machine and fridges, there is a difference in speed for their AC motors if you go mix up the cycles etc.

The Samsung AX40 AC connects to this power supply cum control unit....then feeds the DC to the motor, I traced the wiring. Right wire is the AC, middle wire goes to the motor with a 310Vdc manufacturer label visible. Left wire goes to the control.

If I put my ears close to the APs, the AC motors got a very low level hum in the lowest speed.
The Sharp KC-840 is DC. SAmsung AX40 also DC. Very power efficient for the performance. BLDC motors - Brushless DC.
Novita NAP501, Sharp A28, Sharp FU-Z31 are AC. Can hear the hum.

155853806.tLuS4Mdr.ax40.jpg

wallhwc

Wondering if anyone tried these 2 air purifirers? How do they compare to Samsung's AX40?

list<.>qoo10<.>sg/item/CNY-CRAZY-SALE-NEVER-AGAIN-PREMIUM/421450063?sellerview=on

list<.>qoo10<.>sg/item/CNY-CRAZY-SALE-NEVER-AGAIN-SG-BEST/416363979#itemInfo

WussRedXLi

Wondering if anyone tried these 2 air purifirers? How do they compare to Samsung's AX40?

list<.>qoo10<.>sg/item/CNY-CRAZY-SALE-NEVER-AGAIN-PREMIUM/421450063?sellerview=on

list<.>qoo10<.>sg/item/CNY-CRAZY-SALE-NEVER-AGAIN-SG-BEST/416363979#itemInfo

Bro, I don't think you are the seller since you mentioned the Samsung AX40 also. :)

The second one, forget it.

First one, specs looks great. 480 m3/hr for 80W. But it will be loud at 58dBA. SGD600. Free 1 filter.

Samsun AX40, 34W, 45dBA. 2 units gives you 650m3/hr, 68W, 48dBA. SGD538 shipped. Flexibility to clean 2 different rooms during hazy days. Samsung branded. Proven to be a decent reliable workhorse by folks here. Can get original filters at $88 or g for taobao customised.

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi, can provide the taobao link for customised filter for Sharp A28 and Hitachi EP-A3000 ?

Sharp A28 is this one. This is 300mm x 300mm x 25mm, no edge. Must DIY squeeze some tissue at the sides to act as gasket.

I have tested and measured before, it's operating at 95% efficiency at 0.3 microns. Pretty ok.

RMB29.90 each only. Buy 2 and get 5% off. Buy 5 and get 10% off. Free ship to your China forwarding warehouse.
¾Ü¾øSmartAir±©Àû hepa¹ýÂËÍø diy×ÔÖÆ °ì¹«ÊÒ¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷¼ÒÓÃÂËо-ÌÔ±¦Íø

Not sure about EP-A3000 size.
ALWW this seller and do custom. His filters are 97% efficient.
ÏÄÆÕ¾»»¯»ú¹ýÂËÍø×¨Òµ¶¨×ö(ÊʺÏFZ-180HFS/FZ-240HFS/FZ-A420HF)-ÌÔ±¦Íø

These filters do more than enough even for the usual Sensitive/Susceptible Group folks. What matters is really to close the door and windows properly (turn on aircon) and also select an air purifier that does at least 5 air changes per hour for your room. IF can do 8X, do it. The absolute filter efficiency makes very little difference in real life.....from my testing and measurements.

wallhwc

Bro, I don't think you are the seller since you mentioned the Samsung AX40 also. :)

The second one, forget it.

First one, specs looks great. 480 m3/hr for 80W. But it will be loud at 58dBA. SGD600. Free 1 filter.

Samsun AX40, 34W, 45dBA. 2 units gives you 650m3/hr, 68W, 48dBA. SGD538 shipped. Flexibility to clean 2 different rooms during hazy days. Samsung branded. Proven to be a decent reliable workhorse by folks here. Can get original filters at $88 or g for taobao customised.

Thanks for the reply.

Not seller. Considering to get a few at home as my dog is suffering from nasal cancer and the vet thinks its ok to give air purifier a try to see if it will help with symptoms, which aren't responding to medications. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.