Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread II

chakuman

Just realised almost all prime time shows are available in both chinese and English subtitles when selected on ch5/8.
Channel 5 now has the English subtitles option for most shows.

Channel 8 still needs to reposition their english subs as they take the subtitles directly off from the SD feed

Also does anyone know whether anyone using Singtel TV STB the subtitles are perfectly sized? Starhub STB the subtitles are stretched and pixelised

Sent from heaven using GAGT

lunzi88

Sorry still really abit confused about one thing.
If the TV itself supports dvb-c, if I were to connect it to a scv point I would be able to receive all the free local HD channels without the need for any external equipment yes?

becky00

Hello,
Was looking through the thread. Still not too sure what to get to recieve the HD.
To recieve DVB-T2, I need a dvd-t2 enable tv and a indoor antenna? Can I use the master antenna? Does it send the digital send through there?
I saw some posts on DVB-C which is sending digital signal through the starhub point? If I get a DVB-C, does it means I can connect to the starhub point for mediacrop channel.
Thanks

Streetwise

Sorry still really abit confused about one thing.
If the TV itself supports dvb-c, if I were to connect it to a scv point I would be able to receive all the free local HD channels without the need for any external equipment yes?

Hello,
Was looking through the thread. Still not too sure what to get to recieve the HD.
To recieve DVB-T2, I need a dvd-t2 enable tv and a indoor antenna? Can I use the master antenna? Does it send the digital send through there?
I saw some posts on DVB-C which is sending digital signal through the starhub point? If I get a DVB-C, does it means I can connect to the starhub point for mediacrop channel.
Thanks
Articles here for ur reading:
What is DVB-T2 & Why Should I Care? - HardwareZone.com.sg
MediaCorp Digital TV - Technical Guides
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...vb-t2-singapore-[consolidated]-4486989-3.html

soontobetold

If u're asking about HDB rooftop antenna, I can only speak for myself and the ans is yes....currently.
what about for landed property? there's previously a rooftop antenna but it fell down quite sometime back. during the renovation, the contractor say nowadays antenna no longer in use so they removed it. so if want to reinstall the antenna will it work for digital tv? also can the rooftop antenna receive analog and digital tv signal at the same time?

cause will not be install scv points like that if going to digital tv, but at the same time do not want to buy a STB for use with older tv for the time buying so want to stick to analog till 2017

Streetwise

what about for landed property? there's previously a rooftop antenna but it fell down quite sometime back. during the renovation, the contractor say nowadays antenna no longer in use so they removed it. so if want to reinstall the antenna will it work for digital tv? also can the rooftop antenna receive analog and digital tv signal at the same time?

cause will not be install scv points like that if going to digital tv, but at the same time do not want to buy a STB for use with older tv for the time buying so want to stick to analog till 2017

Logically, u should be able to use the current antenna since u were using for analogue channels.

Here's an extract from mda website(http://www17.mediacorp.sg/digitaltv/faq.html):
Landed property

You should be able to use your existing rooftop antenna if you are currently using it to receive MediaCorp’s current UHF Channels (Channel NewsAsia, Channel U, and okto). You could seek the advice of an antenna contractor if you are not sure. Click here for a list of antenna contractors.

ipaq4444

Jeremy1

Anybody interested in a 20m long antenna cable.

Please pm me, I had one FOC.

tan1688

Oh right. So one point one receiver would be better since "usually" one point one tv?

Anyway what's the reason why only getting "DVB-T2 set-top box bundled with an indoor antenna" is the recommended option and no mention of this DVB-C receiver?

Err, starhub could encrypt or switch off anytime, never made by mandatory mda. Starhub is "privatized" those cables belong to them.

my bad, i deleted off =:p

reddevil0728

Err, starhub could encrypt or switch off anytime, never made by mandatory mda. Starhub is "privatized" those cables belong to them.

Do you all see the pattern ?

Step 1. Remember it was once SCV cable vision funded by tax payers money dig roads lay cables everywhere.
Step 2. Placed under shared holding company Asia mobile holding with several partners.
Step 3. Get one of semi-GLC buy out share holding of holding company Singapore Technologies Telemedia.
Step 4. Announce "Privatized" but majority share holding of Starhub / SCV belongs to Temasek.

Why one big round ? Still same owner right, well under privatized shareholders need maximum returns on their shares,
squeeze sinkies.

Repeat 1.2.3.4. to SMRT, trains tracks tax payers money, Fibre Openet tax payers money, Comfort delgro 1.1billion tax payers money for the buses, Singtel list goes on ..
wrong section

Kac2009

Samsung DVB-C woes..

Been reading thru this and the previous thread.

Can any kind soul correct me if I wrong to say that
1. Most 2014 Samsung TVs initially have DVB-T2/C capability
2. But some have the DVB-C disabled by virtue of the location selection during setup?

I was trying to look for information for my new set (a modest UA40H5303AK) 's DVB-C (DVB-T2 was never in doubt) capability

Samsung VN website specs says the turner is "DTV Tuner: DVB-T2/C"
40 H5303 | SAMSUNG Vi

Courts agrees:
SAMSUNG 40 IN FULL HD SMART LED TVT2 UA40H5303AKXXS 40" to 44" - Courts Online Shopping

Samsung SG website specs says otherwise: "DTV Tuner: DVB-T2"
UA40H5303AK 40 Series 5 Full HD LED TV | SAMSUNG Singapore

Tried auto-tuning for the channels but only managed to get Analogue after connecting to the SCV point..

Also,

3) How do we get to the Extended Service Menu for Samsung?

Thank You in advance..

tan1688

Been reading thru this and the previous thread.

Can any kind soul correct me if I wrong to say that
1. Most 2014 Samsung TVs initially have DVB-T2/C capability
2. But some have the DVB-C disabled by virtue of the location selection during setup?

I was trying to look for information for my new set (a modest UA40H5303AK) 's DVB-C (DVB-T2 was never in doubt) capability

Samsung VN website specs says the turner is "DTV Tuner: DVB-T2/C"
40 H5303 | SAMSUNG Vi

Courts agrees:
SAMSUNG 40 IN FULL HD SMART LED TVT2 UA40H5303AKXXS 40" to 44" - Courts Online Shopping

Samsung SG website specs says otherwise: "DTV Tuner: DVB-T2"
UA40H5303AK 40 Series 5 Full HD LED TV | SAMSUNG Singapore

Tried auto-tuning for the channels but only managed to get Analogue after connecting to the SCV point..

Also,

3) How do we get to the Extended Service Menu for Samsung?

Thank You in advance..

You already know the answer, you look for extended service menu ? the tv firmware switched that C off. looking for other country firmware is no use many different T2 versions might not work SG :s22:

b00mxer

4 March 2015 update:

Toa Payoh residents can now receive Digital TV. This is the latest addition on top of Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Bukit Batok, Bukit Merah West, Bukit Panjang, Bukit Timah, Choa Chu Kang South, Clementi, Jurong East and Queenstown.

Source: www.mediacorp.sg/digitaltv

MoneyFace =p

You already know the answer, you look for extended service menu ? the tv firmware switched that C off. looking for other country firmware is no use many different T2 versions might not work SG :s22:
Heng i never bother to update firmware on my 2014 dumb TV....

CyberMew

where to buy the antenna and which ones to get? i thought my tv has built in antenna but i was wrong..only the tuner inside :(

j_t_fusion

some noob questions regarding Digital TV.

1. i need a digital tv set up box and an indoor antenna in order for my old tv to receive digital tv right? i got no miotv and starhub cable tv.

2. i noticed that all the digital tv set up box comes with their own remote control. does this mean that when i need to change tv channel, i need to use the digital tv set up box's remote control to change channel from now on?

3. any brand and model to recommend... cheap and good reception, no need any fancy function? MDA's website only list 4 models and the only brand i recognise is ac ryan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.