Any full time investor/trader here?

focus1974

If you are trading, maybe take a look at rayner's thread on moneymind. He has some sound technique to profit from trading.

How about jeff sun? that guys seems to be demi-god mode..
always making money..
donno how true though..

Obama486

I read that trading is not different from playing casino games

its a zero sum game

without commission

half win half lose

with commission factored in

in the long run only the house wins

is this true?

focus1974

rayner VS Jeff Sun VS Dr Tee
who better?

so far.. i think only dr tee show his cdp account (but donno got photoshopped or not)..

but it seems a 1 hit wonder.. he bet big on one penny company and it skyrockted... the individual stock weightage of his stock portfolio seems to suggest he dont practise money management. When you looked at the cost of hldings.

Jeff sun have got the concept of K.i.s.s correct.. money management, support/resistance, some candlesticks... that's all he need to go into play. .. but no statistics from him on his expectancy ratio

actually my parents also on forex but more on saving plan

like put certain amount of money on NZ currency and earn those interest

hmm forex i thought the movement not like stock indices run fast ?

Ehh.. I think your parents never use leverage, if u use leverage of x50. Is sibei volative till u can't sleep.

there is also another term for forex
its called glorifed casino

In my option, all forms of trading is some form of casino. Got any form of trading that is confirm win one meh? Except for investing in long term stocks, anything else is gambling to some extend.

100k enough to do full time trading?
U full time trader?

100k confirm is enough to do full time trading for my forex strategy. But everyone's forex strategy is different and has different returns. If u want to try forex, I suggest u try demo account for 1-3 months if you are impatient and then start with 5k with a real account. I will say u will surely lose that 5k within 1 month.

I trained in my strategy for 2 years defining and refining my strategy. During training, I lose 4k trying out strategy w real money. Finally this year won back lost money and more on top of it. Its really not easy to win in forex. I originally don't intend to share my strategy with any of my close friends cause it is that precious to me. And also I think it will totally change one person's perspective of life and money cos the return really makes u belittle your job. Its really not healthy.

Obama486

Ehh.. I think your parents never use leverage, if u use leverage of x50. Is sibei volative till u can't sleep.

In my option, all forms of trading is some form of casino. Got any form of trading that is confirm win one meh? Except for investing in long term stocks, anything else is gambling to some extend.

100k confirm is enough to do full time trading for my forex strategy. But everyone's forex strategy is different and has different returns. If u want to try forex, I suggest u try demo account for 1-3 months if you are impatient and then start with 5k with a real account. I will say u will surely lose that 5k within 1 month.

I trained in my strategy for 2 years defining and refining my strategy. During training, I lose 4k trying out strategy w real money. Finally this year won back lost money and more on top of it. Its really not easy to win in forex. I originally don't intend to share my strategy with any of my close friends cause it is that precious to me. And also I think it will totally change one person's perspective of life and money cos the return really makes u belittle your job. Its really not healthy.

so how many years have u been trading?

what's your annual returns like?

forex is another account right have to apply?

despite now you already have stocks account ...by the way forex rates also never up or down too fast etc if I remember happen to monitor forex for fun.

BroadBear

Bro agree with you on this statement. Once you found a sound strategy and can profit consistently the returns really make your salary looks like a joke.

Can I ask you, what average monthly returns are you getting as a % ROI of your capital? I am currently doing forex too and have found a sound strategy but often times I let emotions of greed and fear get the better of me and hence I am not consistent yet. I am looking at 10% average monthly ROI, is that too optimistic?

kletian

of 100 people who trade for a living, 99 of them probably will fail
its a zero sum game after all

in the middle, the big winner are the brokers who take in the commissions

long term investing is the way to see your money grow

those who have been profiting from trading, I doubt u will be able to continue "winning" for years after years.. after some time, your luck will run out... trading is not different from gambling

short term, there will be winners and losers, long run.. the house always wins

anyone disagrees?

Well I treat investing like gambling. When go to the casino, in the long run the average guy lose 1%. But investing in the long run makes the average guy maybe 6%. odds are with you

joshua182

of 100 people who trade for a living, 99 of them probably will fail
its a zero sum game after all

in the middle, the big winner are the brokers who take in the commissions

long term investing is the way to see your money grow

those who have been profiting from trading, I doubt u will be able to continue "winning" for years after years.. after some time, your luck will run out... trading is not different from gambling

short term, there will be winners and losers, long run.. the house always wins

anyone disagrees?

Where you get your numbers? out of thin air?

traders exist because there are opportunities in the market for those willing to learn not just the technical skills but also to alter their psyche.

your zero sum game is also incorrect. in a bull or bear market, the market grow or detract on a day to day basis. how is this a zero sum game? you do not make it clear if you are referring to equities, forex, futures, options.

also, if trading is like gambling, please visit a trading floor, a HFT headquarters or the such and tell us how on earth are they sustaining themselves. poor guys and their "addiction"?

kletian

u dunno how to read is it?

i said trading, not investing...

investing is different from gambling

trading is like gambling

My definition of investing includes trading what. Why must follow yours/other people's?

Anyway, odds are with you and it applies to both trading and investing. It's not a zero sum game because prices inevitably end up higher.
Beating the market is another matter...

kletian

short term trading is a zero sum game
if you don't even understand this, maybe u shouldn't be in this forum

investing is different, in which u are investing in a business and the fundamentals price u long term returns

Define trading then. I'm sure you could be right for some forms of trading but if you'll just using the term 'trading' in general, i'll have to disagree with you.

To add: I do have trader friends doing hfts and arbs and seen enough to know that you're on the losing end if you allow hfts and arbs to be considered trading

actually I main concern and curious

I mean let's say you have 100 k at first able to live as Full time investor /trader?

It seem still cannot ? unless you really live humbly ...

most of the days never go out
eat at home
Still single of course living with parents.

is it possible ?

so far I have monitor all my investment I do earn but is not constant of course..

the problem is how long it take " certain double amount of profits "

a lot of factors also regarding those stocks you holding right now

yes some bro mention forex possible..but I mean stocks here :)

antonpoh

actually I main concern and curious

I mean let's say you have 100 k at first able to live as Full time investor /trader?

It seem still cannot ? unless you really live humbly ...

most of the days never go out
eat at home
Still single of course living with parents.

is it possible ?

so far I have monitor all my investment I do earn but is not constant of course..

the problem is how long it take " certain double amount of profits "

a lot of factors also regarding those stocks you holding right now

yes some bro mention forex possible..but I mean stocks here :)

If you trade US stocks (GBSN) with 100k when the market opens and sell now in less than 2hrs you make aro 60k. Now $3.90

Even if you buy 100k in (HKTV) in less than 2hrs can make aro 37k. Now $10.49

Athelia

are you a full time trader?
do u have a proven record of making a profit?
do u know of anyone in person that makes a living from trading?

I know of people making a living being a full time investor
but I know of none who can make a living as a full time trader in the long run

the thread topic is any full time investor/trader here

I'm just trying to say that in the long run trading for a living is not sustainable

:s13::s22::s13::s22::s13:

If you trade US stocks (GBSN) with 100k when the market opens and sell now in less than 2hrs you make aro 60k. Now $3.90

Even if you buy 100k in (HKTV) in less than 2hrs can make aro 37k. Now $10.49

problem I still don't have ample funds yet.

yea I see some bros trade in US

I still not expert on US market yet ...now just concern on SGX local first yes some bro do mention our SGX is " earn peanut ...scrap here and there " compare to US market.

in fact I can trade US market but according to my broker happen to my relative for my side seem have to trade two times? I not sure but my relative told me better concentrate on SGX .

well I know he mean for me good ...in fact he as broker himself already lost a lot ...man.....

LOL when I open account the person ask me want to open account for US market too?
I say ok or but my relative object lol than the person say no harm just see see the market lor
I also say that....I see but never trade than relative say ok ...

by the way forex account have to set up differently right?

I never ask my relative as I know he trade forex before..
and I do know forex is " dangerous "

well as we all know no risk no gain ...

No. If you've got $100k, you can realistically expect to make about $7k-$10k a year out of that.

like that is " seem hard to be full time yet "

7k to 10k a year...but at least got money to feed daily needs humble lifestyle...I believe still manageable but CPF hard to top up ...liao

I feel more curious any bro here managed to trade/invest full time here just solely from playing SGX only.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.