[serious] my take on Singapore's opposition

Tobecontinue

Another point about misrepresented facts by a well known minister, MR kee chiu, i remember he pointed out our salary increment is good, at least 1% (if i dont remember wrongly) from all walks of life. Please, u cant see whats wrong with that misrepresentation then i dunno what to say anymore. 1% of 800 bucks is 8 bucks, why dont he say 8 bucks instead? Misrepresentation anyone?

cancer81

Permanent Residents have a passport but they are not full citizens

they pay taxes, have CPF accounts too...

you suggesting that PR need to have levy too? That is a tad draconian imo, will really drive a lot of "Foreign Talent" away.

I am not against skilled immigrants but the term "foreign talent" is lousy.

With the higher levies, hiring S-Pass holders cost levy between 207-361 if based on 20 day work mths. They also need to be paid 2.2k per mth at least. E-Pass holders no need to pay levy but they are required to be paid 3.3k a mth.

"Foreign Talent" price out locals? What are we demanding? 7.5k average for the mid level position? I had a Pinoy doing a similar job as me on 4.5k a mth when I was on 3.3! Who is pricing out who? :s22:

cancer81

Another point about misrepresented facts by a well known minister, MR kee chiu, i remember he pointed out our salary increment is good, at least 1% (if i dont remember wrongly) from all walks of life. Please, u cant see whats wrong with that misrepresentation then i dunno what to say anymore. 1% of 800 bucks is 8 bucks, why dont he say 8 bucks instead? Misrepresentation anyone?
and most of the time if I tell my friends that they are getting less than 10% increment... it is time to F-off...

this is going no where... they misrepresent facts and yet the WP can't take them to task...

eh 7 voted in seats leh... can be a little louder or not

Tobecontinue

and most of the time if I tell my friends that they are getting less than 10% increment... it is time to F-off...

this is going no where... they misrepresent facts and yet the WP can't take them to task...

eh 7 voted in seats leh... can be a little louder or not

How do u think they can take any action? By speaking out in parliament and still not get shown via the news? They can speak out but do the current in power give a sh*t is another thing.

Tobecontinue

Permanent Residents have a passport but they are not full citizens

they pay taxes, have CPF accounts too...

you suggesting that PR need to have levy too? That is a tad draconian imo, will really drive a lot of "Foreign Talent" away.

I am not against skilled immigrants but the term "foreign talent" is lousy.

With the higher levies, hiring S-Pass holders cost levy between 207-361 if based on 20 day work mths. They also need to be paid 2.2k per mth at least. E-Pass holders no need to pay levy but they are required to be paid 3.3k a mth.

"Foreign Talent" price out locals? What are we demanding? 7.5k average for the mid level position? I had a Pinoy doing a similar job as me on 4.5k a mth when I was on 3.3! Who is pricing out who? :s22:

Its easily solve by creating another category but placing them as the same for Sinkie citizen is just wrong and within that category the govt can always choose not to tax. All this are just simple solution to the question u raise. But then why not? Why place them in the same ranks as sinkies citizen requirement for employment ration? This are just tricks IMO to stop sinkie from complaining about excessive FT recruitment vs the number of job went to sinkie.

cancer81

How do u think they can take any action? By speaking out in parliament and still not get shown via the news? They can speak out but do the current in power give a sh*t is another thing.

if the minister never respond when thrown a "you just misrepresented the facts" and the WP MP never get sued with libel... then u will never see it on TV

but we all know how PAP ministers are like dun we? What? JBJ did it a lot what... that is the way to do it!

Pritnam : "eh Kee Chiu, u luan luan pom one!"
Kee Chiu : "What I luan luan pom?"

sure go onto TV... tmr on newspaper...

Its easily solve by creating another category but placing them as the same for Sinkie citizen is just wrong and within that category the govt can always choose not to tax. All this are just simple solution to the question u raise. But then why not? Why place them in the same ranks as sinkies citizen requirement for employment ration? This are just tricks IMO to stop sinkie from complaining about excessive FT recruitment vs the number of job went to sinkie.

doing that will probably make us the one and only nation that does this kind of thing to permanent residents...

Are we going in the direction where do we not rest till we reduce the population of Singapore by half or something?

if the minister never respond when thrown a "you just misrepresented the facts" and the WP MP never get sued with libel... then u will never see it on TV

but we all know how PAP ministers are like dun we? What? JBJ did it a lot what... that is the way to do it!

doing that will probably make us the one and only nation that does this kind of thing to permanent residents...

Are we going in the direction where do we not rest till we reduce the population of Singapore by half or something?

Knn. Sinkieland should only have 4 millions nia :o

oreosg

This is the greatest excuse those opposition supporters like to use "not representative of the ground"

That's total bull$hit. The "ground" like EDMW/TRE/TRS/TOC/Transitioning.org claim massive unemployment yet U probably hardly know of anyone who is unemployed.

The same "ground" claim companies preferred hiring FTs yet u can check with any hiring manager or HR and they will tell U any hiring campaign will turn up at most 1 out of 10 candidates being local and U'd be lucky if that 1 even remotely fits the bill. I have yet to meet a single hiring manager telling me its easy to find locals

The "ground" claims massive MRT breakdowns affecting their lives yet the actual situation is MRT breakdowns are infrequent at best and even when they do breakdown the breakdown happens at different times of the day on different routes. Unless this same "ground" takes MRT on multiple routes every single day, they chance of them getting affected regularly is the same as the chance of striking 4D every month. I take the MRT, and even once was I affected by the breakdown.

There are problems in SG. No one is denying it, the difference being some idiots like to blow it up a million times

From your view, there seems nothing wrong with SG except for idiots that blow minor issues by a million times.

Your life must be pretty cosy down there, I assume.

Good luck with it and hope it stays that way.

Tobecontinue

But ya now we are the one and only nation that catch sinkie faster than ft in terms of crime.

PR is to me still cannot be regarded as sinkie till they are fully converted into our citizenship. To me PR is just a status for u to stay a longer period of time in my country but dont place as thou this country is rightfully yours. Esp if u dont serve NS.

cancer81

But ya now we are the one and only nation that catch sinkie faster than ft in terms of crime.

PR is to me still cannot be regarded as sinkie till they are fully converted into our citizenship. To me PR is just a status for u to stay a longer period of time in my country but dont place as thou this country is rightfully yours. Esp if u dont serve NS.
a dude post a youtube video featuring himself saying stuff that you do not want people to be saying. Much better, he insults Jesus Christ....

a dude made some post on Facebook, claims his facebook got compromised...

Notice that police added a "providing false information to public servant" charge. You want them to Batman the dude cos he is foreigner?

Do we investigate all incidents carefully or we just throw any foreigner in jail and let all citizens go free?

we have become what sort of nation?

Tobecontinue

a dude post a youtube video featuring himself saying stuff that you do not want people to be saying. Much better, he insults Jesus Christ....

a dude made some post on Facebook, claims his facebook got compromised...

Notice that police added a "providing false information to public servant" charge. You want them to Batman the dude cos he is foreigner?

Do we investigate all incidents carefully or we just throw any foreigner in jail and let all citizens go free?

we have become what sort of nation?

Na the diff is not letting who go scott free or not, its how the vast different between the 2. Once is investigate and charge within a week and 1 take months. If netizen didnt bring out the awareness on Ello, i think he wouldnt even be charge now.

cancer81

Na the diff is not letting who go scott free or not, its how the vast different between the 2. Once is investigate and charge within a week and 1 take months. If netizen didnt bring out the awareness on Ello, i think he wouldnt even be charge now.

Amos probably left the evidence at home thinking he would only be sued by Lee Hsien Loong in civil court.

He might have even admitted to making the statements and the video when questioned.

Ello on the other hand gave a statement to the police that he did not write the posts (which if u left ur Facebook on ur browser just like that, ur fren can help u post such things) and that his facebook account was compromised.

If the police do not take time to check through the access logs and go through the forensic evidence, how to charge? Gut feel? Batglare?

Drag him to the rooftop and dangle him over the edge and rage at him?

Yeah right....

CAShop

Please use you tiny brain or whatever that's left of it before U post nonsense

The case of Ello is complicated because he claim his account was hacked. They need to gather evidence to show that it wasn't and he was lying to the police. They can't just throw him in Jail like the EDMW or TOC/TRS kangeroo style court

Amos case is straight forward, he appeared on his own Youtube video, how u defend that? He self pwn and provided his own evidence, Just need to watch Youtube. What u expect the police to investigate? That he was hypnotized?

fox1

Talking to same person/clone can be entertaining at times.
HEHE :D

Tobecontinue

新加坡大坏仔

wotheret

cancer81

dunno and dun care....

I only care if u make sense when posting... putting all your emotions inside just clouds ur judgement

sunzoner

because it will show that they have the better ideas on how to reform HDB...

do we just tell the WP MPs to show up, not say anything and when voting for bill that time just say "aye" cos they say "nay" also pointless?

this means that only 100% WP parliament will allow WP to do work liao lor...

we switching between hegemony because that is the only way?

They dun have to air policies in parliament. They can do it via other channels.

sunzoner

I will like to remind you that ALL the WP MPs showed their support for the motion when it was put to the floor

I knew it was going to go somewhere in this direction when that motion passed unanimously and parliament has proven me correct by putting in a legislation bill that slightly stomps on civil liberties...

did EDMWers raise an objection? Did WP MPs ask if this is a little too much? I dun see the SDP coming out with a statement stating that we need to keep our zeal to limit civil liberties?

I only see Social Justice Warriors suddenly go berserk focusing all their attention on some foreign workers who decided to take the law into their own hands....

Obviously you did not read widely enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.