[GPU Review] Sapphire AMD r9 Fury X on the rise!

bemylove

Ooops.

Nooooooooooooooo im not gonna sell it over for a 980ti. After so much ive been through, no... im gonna stick with it.

I want something new technology, something different, something unique, something special.

I mean, it does what it does and it meets my expectation. It is still better than my 2x 290. And my expectation was to move on from 2 cards to 1 cards, to scale properly and enjoy a much smoother game play.

Why not get a ref. 980Ti, water block it and see how far it can overclock? More exciting than Fury. Fury like old man, not even +100mhz OC already cough out blood. No pleasant surprises with such low OC.

Fury X should priced at $888 to be more exciting for non-OC users. 980Ti also comes with 6GB ram and DX12.1 too. S$40 more makes Nvidia a bargain!

I suspect another month AMD will cut prices. Fury no fire one.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
FuryX is more fun and exciting than GTX980ti.

Because people like you who hate AMD won't be able to enjoy the fun. Typing using KB is all you can do.

royfrosty

Why not get a ref. 980Ti, water block it and see how far it can overclock? More exciting than Fury. Fury like old man, not even +100mhz OC already cough out blood. No pleasant surprises with such low OC.

Fury X should priced at $888 to be more exciting for non-OC users. 980Ti also comes with 6GB ram and DX12.1 too. S$40 more makes Nvidia a bargain!

Im not affected by the price drop, even if it is cut by 50%. Im a early adopter and i pay for what i can afford. And i choose what i have interest and passion in my mind.

Sorry but what you mentioned, wont even change my mind one bit.

Its not exciting nor enticing even one bit about anything NV has to offer. GDDR5, long cards, just like just another card all along.

TBH, i have tested HD textures for SoM for 4K, and you will see that even this game that takes the most VRAM, takes just nice to saturate 4gb VRAM at 3970mb. This is new and unique, and HBM does its job to keep it that way.

Yureak

Cant comment much on Dx12 or 12.1

But for HDMI here is my thoughts.

You have 3 DP ports for monitor usage, this card is suppose to target 1440p to 4k gaming.

There is however AMD provide 1 HDMI 1.4 for people to use. I wouldnt say its bad.

1. AVR users will not bother about this, AVR will upscale it to output 60hz before output to monitor.

2. TV users, this is a bit tricky. TV has their own native refreshing rate. Some can go up to 900hz. But if one uses this card on TV will be limited to 60hz on 1080p and 30hz on 4k. But overall who is using a 4k tv to play games? I guess it is a total disaster of input lag to use a 4k tv to play games.

Personally i have a 55" uhd tv to play both xb1 and nvidia shield games when set to game mode lag is acceptably non-existent.. i intend to play 4k60 eventually but this lack of hdmi 2.0 is a dealbreaker because 30hz is a definite nono

haylui

:s13::s13::s13:
long time no see bemylove
even 970 with 3.5GB ram also better than AMD's offering

koroshiya8

I love the info being feed in this thread but not the bashing..

Please dont spoil TS's intention for this post.

FuryX is more fun and exciting than GTX980ti.

Because people like you who hate AMD won't be able to enjoy the fun. Typing using KB is all you can do.

Fury exciting meh? You pay $999 ($40 less than awesome 980Ti), still need to find space to mount the fat fan/rad, and boot up pray no coil noise and pump noise now(!). After that install choice of many beta AMD drivers and that is all you can do. Further tweaks to the OC is very limited. The stock voltage also at 1.22v already, which is R9 28nm optimal before heatstroke. So boring. Nvidia around 1.15-1.18v stocks for more fun.

In game results, we all you all know lah. It is already beh-kan without bring OC vs OC into play. Highly inconsistent frame times meaning to expect plenty of stutters and splutters. In some games some more like GTAV,SoM,Metro, the 4GB is choking. It also means we must depend on AMD timely drivers (lol!) release to optimise new game engines to best use the 4GB limitation. No DX12.1 feels like bad days of DX10.1 and SM3.0

Tiagong Fury vrm located at back gets up to 100 degrees celsius! Seems another oversight in design putting VRM behind with no active cooling!
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/937-8/temperatures-nuisances-sonores.html

AMD really no money and making stupid mistakes. It shows in their new R9 series including Fury, are overpricing and under innovation.

koroshiya8

Personally i have a 55" uhd tv to play both xb1 and nvidia shield games when set to game mode lag is acceptably non-existent.. i intend to play 4k60 eventually but this lack of hdmi 2.0 is a dealbreaker because 30hz is a definite nono

I think you belong to the more niche group who plays game (including PC) on TV with 4K and having HDMI 2.0. Definitely for your case it makes sense to go 980Ti..... it all depends on the use case.

royfrosty

Fury exciting meh? You pay $999 ($40 less than awesome 980Ti), still need to find space to mount the fat fan/rad, and boot up pray no coil noise and pump noise now(!). After that install choice of many beta AMD drivers and that is all you can do. Further tweaks to the OC is very limited. The stock voltage also at 1.22v already, which is R9 28nm optimal before heatstroke. So boring. Nvidia around 1.15-1.18v stocks for more fun.

In game results, we all you all know lah. It is already beh-kan without bring OC vs OC into play. Highly inconsistent frame times meaning to expect plenty of stutters and splutters. In some games some more like GTAV,SoM,Metro, the 4GB is choking. It also means we must depend on AMD timely drivers (lol!) release to optimise new game engines to best use the 4GB limitation. No DX12.1 feels like bad days of DX10.1 and SM3.0

Tiagong Fury vrm located at back gets up to 100 degrees celsius! Seems another oversight in design putting VRM behind with no active cooling!

AMD really no money and making stupid mistakes. It shows in their new R9 series including Fury, are overpricing and under innovation.

There you go again. You still FAIL to see what it is. No one here is talking about performance gains from what you are comparing at.

That $40 i wont pay for a blower cooler. That may not even work cooler. The performance for a stock blower vs a clc.

And i trade that for a just extra single digit frame for a noisier card.

Noise on clc? Nah i dont think so. No matter what you say blower is still much more noisier than clc.

Nevermind. Some day you will understand.

Not gonna argue.

escksu

I now also join Roy!! My eat grass hot. No time to assemble. Tonight then can. Cause I took time off, rush down to SLS to buy.

eatgrass_zpsdgrqteue.jpg

trento

I bought the Gigabyte g1 980 Ti at PC Themes yesterday. Absolutely 0 regrets on the purchase. After re pasting with MX4, temps during GTA V gaming session barely hit 56 degrees at 40% fan speed.
To the bro whom I had a short chat with on the Fury X vs the 980 Ti, its still the same old un-optimized driver on AMD's part that I have not considered it since the 7990 era. People keep saying wait for optimization, wait for better drivers.
I rather say just get the 980 Ti, enjoy the frequent optimized drivers from Nvidia and play your favourite games without the frustration of waiting and waiting. That alone is worth the 120-150 more dollars you are paying for.

to some extent i agree with u. already pay so much might as well come up with that extra 5-10%. The temps are very good for your 980ti. Is it similar for other 980ti non-ref models too?
If air cooling does as good a job as water cooling, then its ok.

I think performance wise, Nvidia remains the undisputed leader. Reliability of drivers too. For the cheaper range, which is where the bulk of their sales will come from, i still see AMD offering good value cards as their pricing is very competitive. But at the top, i concur. Stick with Nvidia.

enenyi

I now also join Roy!! My eat grass hot. No time to assemble. Tonight then can. Cause I took time off, rush down to SLS to buy.

eatgrass_zpsdgrqteue.jpg
Wait...r u the one featured in PC Themes' FB post? The one with 2 pieces of FuryX? :p

royfrosty

eatgrass_zpsdgrqteue.jpg

Nice!

Powercolor or Sapphire?

Wao first time see xfire can see msi dragon logo. Haha

escksu

This thread is NOT a AMD vs Nvidia thread. This is about Fury X. Pls don't come here KPKB. Get lost and start your own thread.

trento

There you go again. You still FAIL to see what it is. No one here is talking about performance gains from what you are comparing at.

That $40 i wont pay for a blower cooler. That may not even work cooler. The performance for a stock blower vs a clc.

And i trade that for a just extra single digit frame for a noisier card.

Noise on clc? Nah i dont think so. No matter what you say blower is still much more noisier than clc.

Nevermind. Some day you will understand.

Not gonna argue.

to be fair i think he has a point in stating the consistency. but of cos, there's always a better way to convey one's opinions. i won't say the Fury X is pointless. There are good things about it as u've pointed out. But from a performance pov, even being a neutral myself, i cannot help but notice the inevitable.

The ref cooler mod is not something most ppl would do. so i would leave that out. If i have to give an overall score, i would still give it to 980ti. Will be keen to hear more from other reviewers soon on the comparisons.

Mikiberry

eatgrass_zpsdgrqteue.jpg

Cable management is challenging liao lol.
Wah the short and bui bui card is damn CUTEeeee

trento

This thread is NOT a AMD vs Nvidia thread. This is about Fury X. Pls don't come here KPKB. Get lost and start your own thread.

it's ok to comment and give opinions. but as u stated, kpkb is not desirable.

Mikiberry

Lai liao lai liao, can sense the war horns blowing from the battle of the camps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.