Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Haze spike detected @ South towards direction of Batam. The sea halfway between SG and Batam can see some haze cloud that delineates less hazy air and the denser haze cloud.

Lets see the conditions later. South or West shd kena first.

Bullseye - South side now, my meter detecting slightly elevated levels of particulate matter vs just now at 3+. Meter showing peaks of 69 ug/m3...just now was 40 ug/m3 levels.

WussRedXLi

160642626.GTuOEOuc.DSC_0013.JPG

tmkedmw

7pm NEA pm2.5 reading for ALL regions above 35ug/m3 liao, with west the worst at 50+

WussRedXLi

Decent warm-up run today. More chance in the future all the way till early December.

Nice image

HSUP-2015-07-05-22-30.jpg

More fuel for the El Nino coming up. That new WWB forecast has intensified further.

u.anom.30.5S-5N.png

WussRedXLi

I have tested today how we can maintain good quality air throughout the flat, hence maintaining a good degree of freedom and comfort during hazy days. Having 1 single air purifier means that you need to be holed up most of the time in the MBR or something.

This is important since > PSI 200 is still considered to be not easily attainable. But an extended period of sustained > PSI 80 is very easily attainable in the future (easily more than enough to trigger health symtoms for children/elderly...those in the sensitive/susceptible group). PSI 100-150 could be a pretty common occurrence. Peaks of 3-hr PS 150-200 for a 1-2 times in a month is not impossible. That was what happened in 1997 Super El Nino year for 3 months (peak of 226). Now, 2013 was only like 5 days, with 3 very days peaked at 401...that's it.

Master bedroom. Sharp 840E with 45mm filter (220m3/hr), Sharp FZ-31 with 31mm filter @ 160 m3/hr (switched on for 1hr to bring it down), LG PS-R459 with 45mm filter @ 320m3/hr. Aircon switched on in Turbo. 16" fan blowing at the door to pump the air down the hallway.

2nd bedroom, door closed. Living room windows and kitchen door are all closed. Toilet door = closed.

3rd bedroom (closest to living room), Aircon switched on to Turbo. Samsung AX40 with 35mm filter @ 12.5kph airflow output (option to switch to 60mm filter @ 16.5kph output with 350 m/3hr, or 45mm filter). LG LA-Q378SB lying on its side and placed at the door so that the output is blowing towards the living room.

So I'd have the 16" air circulator and LG LA-Q378SB with 45mm (about 320 m3/hr) filter blowing the air towards the living room.

Living room has a LG PS-S209 with 25mm filter (Same airflow speed as original filter, so that's ~ 160 m3/hr).

So total is ~ 1400m3/hr. I managed to stabilise after about 45 mins at 0 or 1 ug/m3, it was jumping between the 2 figures. Outside was 50-60 ug/m3 on the meter.

Opening/closing the door does make the meter jump up a bit, after which it would go down again.

So theorectically, there is enough horsepower to maintain very clean air of 4 ug/m3 in a PSI 200 (200 ug/m3) setting.

After 1hr, I managed to hit 29 deg C for the living room (was a very hot 31.2 geg C before). There is a stand fan blowing at the sofa and it was pretty comfortable, won't perspire at all. But wife wanted to watch TV and mine is a plasma so it got warmer. Ended up about 29.5. Today is a pretty hot day, so it's a good test.

Note : I still can augment the AP cleaning with 3pcs of 3M Filtrete. ie 16" air circulator, 2 aircon FCUs. That should be an additional ~ 120 m3/hr CADR.

Have a spare Sharp A28, will be bringing to parent's place to augment the Novita NAP 501. Will be bring a few boxes of 3M Filtrete there also.

plasticpistola

I have tested today how we can maintain good quality air throughout the flat, hence maintaining a good degree of freedom and comfort during hazy days. Having 1 single air purifier means that you need to be holed up most of the time in the MBR or something.

This is important since > PSI 200 is still considered to be not easily attainable. But an extended period of sustained > PSI 80 is very easily attainable in the future (easily more than enough to trigger health symtoms for children/elderly...those in the sensitive/susceptible group). PSI 100-150 could be a pretty common occurrence. Peaks of 3-hr PS 150-200 for a 1-2 times in a month is not impossible. That was what happened in 1997 Super El Nino year for 3 months (peak of 226). Now, 2013 was only like 5 days, with 3 very days peaked at 401...that's it.

Master bedroom. Sharp 840E with 45mm filter (220m3/hr), Sharp FZ-31 with 31mm filter @ 160 m3/hr (switched on for 1hr to bring it down), LG PS-R459 with 45mm filter @ 320m3/hr. Aircon switched on in Turbo. 16" fan blowing at the door to pump the air down the hallway.

2nd bedroom, door closed. Living room windows and kitchen door are all closed. Toilet door = closed.

3rd bedroom (closest to living room), Aircon switched on to Turbo. Samsung AX40 with 35mm filter @ 12.5kph airflow output (option to switch to 60mm filter @ 16.5kph output with 350 m/3hr, or 45mm filter). LG LA-Q378SB lying on its side and placed at the door so that the output is blowing towards the living room.

So I'd have the 16" air circulator and LG LA-Q378SB with 45mm (about 320 m3/hr) filter blowing the air towards the living room.

Living room has a LG PS-S209 with 25mm filter (Same airflow speed as original filter, so that's ~ 160 m3/hr).

So total is ~ 1400m3/hr. I managed to stabilise after about 45 mins at 0 or 1 ug/m3, it was jumping between the 2 figures. Outside was 50-60 ug/m3 on the meter.

Opening/closing the door does make the meter jump up a bit, after which it would go down again.

So theorectically, there is enough horsepower to maintain very clean air of 4 ug/m3 in a PSI 200 (200 ug/m3) setting.

After 1hr, I managed to hit 29 deg C for the living room (was a very hot 31.2 geg C before). There is a stand fan blowing at the sofa and it was pretty comfortable, won't perspire at all. But wife wanted to watch TV and mine is a plasma so it got warmer. Ended up about 29.5. Today is a pretty hot day, so it's a good test.

Note : I still can augment the AP cleaning with 3pcs of 3M Filtrete. ie 16" air circulator, 2 aircon FCUs. That should be an additional ~ 120 m3/hr CADR.

Have a spare Sharp A28, will be bringing to parent's place to augment the Novita NAP 501. Will be bring a few boxes of 3M Filtrete there also.

Good morning wrx bro!

So that means both mbr n room closest to it need 2 AP each n their doors cannot close? 2nd room door must be closed n dun need AP?

Yest brought my dog out for walk can smell a bit of the haze liao:(

orangeman

Bought a LG LA-Q379SB, the korean sibling of local set PS-R459. 318m3/hr 40W. Used set, SGD 60. :eek:
You can get the LG LA-Q379SB for SGD278 shipped via FedEx on qoo10.

The 220V 60Hz set, like the Samsung AX40, can work here no issue at all. But the HEPA is used, so need to change to my taobao HEPA (which i have spare coz i customised 4pcs for the PS-R459). Opened it up and cleaned everything with alcohol...good as new. :D

NB. Found one impt difference between the LA-Q379SB and PS-R459.
The button function for turning on/off the ionisier on the PS-R459 is changed to a dimmer function on the LA-Q379SB. Press once and the lights on the air purifier dims. Press another time and it switches off the light. Great! This is coz on most air purifiers except the Sharps, there is no way to turn off the lights during sleeping hours

160634443.ZXHjFTvo.1.jpg

160634445.panN3TKY.2.jpg

Bro this is the HEPA you customize from Taobao ah?
Now Q010 selling LA-Q379SB @$294 already.

WussRedXLi

Good morning wrx bro!

So that means both mbr n room closest to it need 2 AP each n their doors cannot close? 2nd room door must be closed n dun need AP?

Yest brought my dog out for walk can smell a bit of the haze liao:(

There were some brief spikes detected on Sat and Sunday.

The simplest way of putting it is in m3/hr airflow and using fan to shift the cold and clean air around. I had a total of 1400m3/hr yesterday initial power on, after 30-60 mins i powered down the Sharp fz-31 160m3/hr and throttled down the 2 x LGs from Turbo to high speed (maybe 320m3/hr to upper 100s ?). It's daytime, hence the white noise is still bearable for the first hour or so, and the 16" air circulator isn't very silent anyway.

My room area is proably about 60 sqm. 2.8m ceiling. So 800 m3/hr would still work nicely if you want 5 Air Change per Hour (besides, the furniture and stuff would all take up air volume). Seriously for haze use, 2 ACH would still work.

I also had APs in the living room. My living room isn't airconed, but 2 x 9000 BTU/hr from the rooms is able to create a very decent environment with the fan cooling in the living room.

Achieved a reduction of 98% from ambient.

WussRedXLi

Bro this is the HEPA you customize from Taobao ah?
Now Q010 selling LA-Q379SB @$294 already.

Yea, i customised the HEPA from Taobao. 45mm depth, just managed to fit it in barely and also use the prefilter. Original is 32mm HEPA and 10mm activated charcoal with maybe 2-3mm more of empty space.

They can only customise in depths of 35mm and 45mm. Preferably is use 45mm coz there is some 30-40% drop in airflow vs the originals.

They can do a special run of 60mm, but it'd be expensive.
eg Samsung AX40 45mm = rmb 110
Samsung AX40 60mm = rmb 180. Ask for some of those very thin 0.5mm thick prefilter so that you can stick to the sides of the HEPA, then don't have to use the original prefilter.
35mm probably would cost about rmb90?

All my APs are running on RMB29 (cut the fixed one-size 305 x 305 x 25mm) to RMB140 Taobao customised size filters, the only difference is very cheap fixed size @ 25mm depth needing some DIY cutting or more expensive customised size that you just fit in nicely.

The indon haze is a mix of PM2.5 to PM10. PM2.5 is predominantly 0.15 - 0.4 microns range. PM10 due to the closer proximity hotspots.
The HEPAs, as measured, would work for all size ranges. Just a matter of having enough "horsepower". HEPA does not stop abruptly at 0.3 microns, a common misconception of its operation as a "physical sieve".

Asakura

feasible to leave 2nd room open and let the living room unit to clean the air?

WussRedXLi

http://news.yahoo.com/peru-declares-emergency-14-regions-el-nino-worries-180032277.html

17 hours ago

LIMA (Reuters) - Peru has declared a 60-day state of emergency in towns in 14 regions to brace for possible damage from the climate pattern El Nino in the rainy season, state media reported Sunday.

Peru has forecast a "moderate to strong" El Nino in the winter season and has not ruled out an extraordinary event in the summer, which begins in December in the southern hemisphere.

The phenomenon, a warming of Pacific sea-surface temperatures, has wreaked havoc on local fishing in Peru and triggered landslides in years past.

The emergency declaration orders authorities to take action to prepare for the "imminent danger" of El Nino and unusual climate conditions, state news agency Andina said.

The regions placed under the state of emergency include several key fishing and mining areas.

Unusually warm waters linked to El Nino led catches of cold-water anchovy to plummet last year, helping drag down economic growth to the weakest pace in five years.

Peru is the world's top producer of fishmeal - animal feed made of ground-up anchovy - and a major exporter of copper, gold and silver.

WussRedXLi

feasible to leave 2nd room open and let the living room unit to clean the air?

Of course, just that for us we have 2 kids and my MIL would come over during weekend to help, so we'd need 1 x living room, 1 x computer room and 1 x MBR. 2 x Toilet doors closed, 1 bedroom closed and 1 x kitchen closed.

You can leave 1 more room opened. That room is likely to have an aircon FCU, so that's even better. Just that it'd cost a fair bit of $$$ in electricity bill :s13:

2 x 9000 btu/hr FCU = approx. 750W for a 2 tick compressor. 1.5kW fixed consumption. It's about 40 cents per hour (including GST) operation.

Make sure the aircon FCUs and external compressor fins and fan blades are decently cleaned so that they are operating at max efficiency, that's why learning to DIY clean is so good. You don't have to wait for the aircon man by fixing an appt and wait for them (Sometimes they rubber band 4hrs one). Sibeh jialet if you do once every 3 months as advised.

----------------------------------------------------------------

BTW, one more interesting thing that you'd notice is that while the living room is at 29 deg C or so, maybe hitting 28 deg C after a longer period, it'd be pretty dry. RH can dip to 40% range, maybe 30% if switched on longer. Esp if you are in the airflow of a fan, you will feel comfy and not perspire. My kids and wife perspire easily, they did not perspire yesterday at all in the living room.

The reason is coz the 100% duty cycle for the aircons would continue to dehumidify the air (aircon drainage pipe would continue to flow one). However, the cold dry air from the rooms flows out to the living room and gets heated up by the warmer walls/floors....maybe plasma TV heats it up. The rooms would be cold an dry, but the living room would be warmer and just as dry. So that aids the living room comfort level.
While the room's floors/walls/electrical appliances heat up the air, the RH % stays the same (assuming that the unit is pretty air tight), only humidifying factor is the number of human occupants in the space. So yes, 2 x 9000 btu/hr units trying to cool 60 sqm of space can lead to pretty low humidity levels over a longer period of time but temperature won't get freezing cold.

That is how the refrigerative type of dehumidifier works. There is a cooling part (like your aircon FCU) and before the air is exhausted out, there is a heating element that re-heats the air which has been dried.

I don't forsee the external compressor/electrical fan motor breaking down if it's been maintained/installed properly in a windy open place and it's a good reliable brand (free of dust clog-ups) and you break up the 100% duty cycle by not operating for more than 6hrs at a time (rest for say 20 mins).

But then again, I do see some pretty screwed up installations coz the aircon ledge designs are screwed up in the first place. You have 2 compressors and there is some "short circuit" of the exhaust air back to the intake coz the aircon ledge is small + partially blocked and one external unit needs to be angled towards the second unit thus heating the second unit up as it ingests some of the hot air.

For this example, if the general wind direction is such that during certain months (NE or SW monsoon period) it causes the output of the hot air of that compressor to blow towards the intake fins, then really it may reduce the efficiency and life of the fan/compressor. Issue of both the angle of the compressor + one compressor is placed behind the other, it can make a difference. The intake would draw in the hot air, esp if aided by the wind.

airconi.jpg

plasticpistola

There were some brief spikes detected on Sat and Sunday.

The simplest way of putting it is in m3/hr airflow and using fan to shift the cold and clean air around. I had a total of 1400m3/hr yesterday initial power on, after 30-60 mins i powered down the Sharp fz-31 160m3/hr and throttled down the 2 x LGs from Turbo to high speed (maybe 320m3/hr to upper 100s ?). It's daytime, hence the white noise is still bearable for the first hour or so, and the 16" air circulator isn't very silent anyway.

My room area is proably about 60 sqm. 2.8m ceiling. So 800 m3/hr would still work nicely if you want 5 Air Change per Hour (besides, the furniture and stuff would all take up air volume). Seriously for haze use, 2 ACH would still work.

I also had APs in the living room. My living room isn't airconed, but 2 x 9000 BTU/hr from the rooms is able to create a very decent environment with the fan cooling in the living room.

Achieved a reduction of 98% from ambient.

I see all the numbers I jitao :s22: :s22:

If leave room doors open while ac is on, will it epic over work the ac condenser cos it'll have to keep kicking in to maintain the room temp?

Sorry I damn noob :s34:

Right now my place only got 1 AP in each room. Living room dun have AP so if need be will have to shift one out from room into living room. Or if haze gets rlly bad then will have to hoot a big one for living room liao :(

WussRedXLi

I see all the numbers I jitao :s22: :s22:

If leave room doors open while ac is on, will it epic over work the ac condenser cos it'll have to keep kicking in to maintain the room temp?

Sorry I damn noob :s34:

Right now my place only got 1 AP in each room. Living room dun have AP so if need be will have to shift one out from room into living room. Or if haze gets rlly bad then will have to hoot a big one for living room liao :(

Aircon "condenser" or compressor question is answered 1 post above yours.
If nicely maintained/installed and working ok, I don't see any issue. 100% duty cycle is actually ok for AC....but if you are afraid, don't go past 6hrs.
A badly maintained aircon FCU with quite a bit of dust in the metal coil in the room would probably ice up with > 6hrs operation with the thermostat set at 16 deg C hence 100% duty for > 6hrs. lol

IF living room no AP, then don't push the aircon lah. Guai guai stay in the computer room and MBR. :s34::s34:

plasticpistola

Aircon "condenser" or compressor question is answered 1 post above yours.
If nicely maintained/installed and working ok, I don't see any issue. 100% duty cycle is actually ok for AC....but if you are afraid, don't go past 6hrs.
A badly maintained aircon FCU with quite a bit of dust in the metal coil in the room would probably ice up with > 6hrs operation with the thermostat set at 16 deg C hence 100% duty for > 6hrs. lol

IF living room no AP, then don't push the aircon lah. Guai guai stay in the computer room and MBR. :s34::s34:

I damn paranoid about overworking the ac lol cos if spoil then smelly smelly gotta spend a few thousand bucks to install a new one.

Think maybe hoot an ax40 for living room if haze comes. Then can also zhng the vornado cheong brand by strapping a filter in front :D

tmkedmw

National scene: Hot spots detected in Sumatra
The Jakarta Post, Mon, July 06 2015, 3:04 PM

The US Terra and Aqua satellites have detected 36 hot spots indicating forest fires in Sumatra on Saturday morning.

The two satellites showed that 11 hot spots are in Jambi, 10 in Riau, nine in South Sumatra, two each in Aceh and Lampung, and one each in North Sumatra and West Sumatra, head of the Pekanbaru Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Office Sugarin said as quoted by Antara.

“In Riau province, seven of the 10 hot spots were found in Indragiri Hulu,” he said.

As a result, from Friday to Saturday Riau was shrouded in a haze that included smoke from the neighboring provinces of Jambi and South Sumatra.

While visibility in Pekanbaru, Pelalawan and Rengat dropped to between three to five kilometers, it dropped even more to one kilometer because of haze in Dumai.

However, authorities at the Sultan Syarif Kasim II Airport in Pekanbaru had decided not to cancel flights to and from the airport.

Sugarin said the Air Quality Standard Index in the six regions in Riau indicated that the air quality was moderate.

He also predicted that based on the direction of the winds the haze could soon be blown across the Malacca Strait to Malaysia and Singapore.

WussRedXLi

I damn paranoid about overworking the ac lol cos if spoil then smelly smelly gotta spend a few thousand bucks to install a new one.

Think maybe hoot an ax40 for living room if haze comes. Then can also zhng the vornado cheong brand by strapping a filter in front :D

Heh heh....you know your setup, condition and needs best lah. Just plan accordingly.

I'll just switch on the 3rd aircon FCU if I need more cooling power due to deteriorating conditions, or cycle the aircon FCU around if the haze/heat sticks around for days over the weekend.

Since day 1 5 yrs ago, my units are all maintained properly incld the ext compressor, no blockage of any sort for the compressor, condenser, fan or drainage pipe etc.

WussRedXLi

He also predicted that based on the direction of the winds the haze could soon be blown across the Malacca Strait to Malaysia and Singapore.

Actually for West side since 2nd July for the past 5 days, the 24-hr PM2.5 has been over the WHO recommended level (25 ug/m3).

It's like the start of 2014 in Sep. Diff is that it's beginning of July now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.