nino34.png

nino3.png

This one is just off Mexico/S America
nino12.png

WussRedXLi

Impressive.

Latest forecast "plume" to peak as Super El Nino instead of just a moderately strong El Nino.
+ 0.6 deg C for July vs June.

And the forecast "plume" in July is much more accurate than June (way past the Spring Predictability Barrier).

https://twitter.com/EricBlake12/status/618531246264741889/photo/1

Eric Blake ‏@EricBlake12 · 8h8 hours ago
Latest NMME ensemble shows >95% chance of a strong #ElNino & >60% chance of the strongest in modern times #climate pic.twitter.com/jKFfjhFlw7

SSTs (Sea Surface Temperatures) in Central and East Pacific are important. Equally important is the seas just north of Aus and also in our SEA area. It needs to be cool. This cool/hot gradient along the EQ (5N and 5S) is what moves the moisture and storms toward S an N America side.

Our seas are cooling as nicely well. Was not this cool 2-3 months ago.
sst_anom_new.gif

WussRedXLi

The small one (Severe Tropical Storm or Cat 1 Linfa) near Santou/HK now is actually a borderline typhoon (it intensified).
The big one (Typhoon Chan Hom) is gonna hit Wenzhou as a Cat 4, then shift to Shanghai probably a Cat 1 and exit the Yellow Sea.
Next is Typhoon Nangka, will intensify to probably a Cat 5 super typhoon and then hit Southern Japan as quite a strong strength.

You can see the enhanced SW monsoon flow there.

El Nino and increased activity like this have a direct relationship, which one causes which one, is a chicken and egg relationship. But it could be said that it's a feedback loop.

HSUP-2015-07-09-18-30.jpg

WussRedXLi

st_20150709_zbhaze09_1494800.jpg

Pekanbaru, Riau, shrouded in haze yesterday. Local officials began distributing masks, while visibility at the Pekanbaru airport fell to as low as 600m, resulting in a flight being diverted to Batam. PHOTO: GHIFARI A. RAMADAN

Forest fires worsen ahead of expansion of cloud-seeding operations

Zubaidah Nazeer Indonesia Bureau Chief In Jakarta

Forest fires in Sumatra have intensified, with a thick haze enveloping parts of the island, prompting local officials to distribute masks.

"The acrid smell is getting bitter this evening. We feel like the haze is coming stronger on us. It is worse now than hours ago," Pekanbaru resident Didik Herwanto told The Straits Times yesterday evening.

Visibility at the Pekanbaru airport in Riau province yesterday morning was as low as 600m, resulting in one flight being diverted to Batam.

Said Mr Sugarin, head of the meteorological office at the Pekanbaru airport: "A flight was diverted to Batam this morning as we had fog and haze. Visibility at 7am was 600m, but it gradually recovered to 1,500m at 8am, and to 9km at around noon."

The situation seems to have worsened, ahead of a government effort to expand cloud-seeding operations to southern parts of Sumatra today. Cloud-seeding over central parts of Sumatra have been ongoing for over two weeks.

The Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) in Riau province reached as high as 111 in some parts yesterday.

The forest fires come as Indonesia enters its dry season, with concerns that an El Nino phenomenon could worsen this. Rainfall is expected to be minimal in provinces like Riau.

Meteorologists say the wind direction determines whether the haze will be blown to Singapore.

In this case, winds are blowing from south to north, causing Singapore's PSI reading to climb into the moderate range.

While Mr Sugarin notes that the situation in Riau is improving, he blames neighbouring provinces for the haze, saying most of it was due to fires burning in southern provinces like Jambi and South Sumatra.

However, South Sumatra Governor Alex Noerdin refuted this.

"There is a lot of the blame game going on, but we prefer to tackle the problem and talk less," he said, adding that he would officiate the beginning of cloud-seeding over his province today.

Hot spots in South Sumatra dipped to 27 from 34 a day earlier, though he admits this is no guarantee there will be no fires or haze.

The governor was speaking on the sidelines of an event held in Jakarta, where he announced that he is working with Asia Pulp and Paper to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in South Sumatra.

In Jambi, the Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency spotted 29 wildfires across the province on Tuesday, reported the Jakarta Post. Local conservation initiative Muarojambi Bersepakat Movement (GMB) said fires had started in Pematang Damar forest in Muarojambi regency, burning some 10ha of land.

The forest serves as a conservation area for various rare orchid species.

"Pematang Damar forest is surrounded by fire. Unless something is done about it, the forest will be burned to the ground in just a few days," GMB deputy chairman Adi Ismanto was quoted as saying.

Dr Sutopo Purwo Nugroho, spokesman for Indonesia's National Disaster Management Agency, said the authorities will step up water-bombing operations to help douse fires, as a way of complementing the cloud-seeding efforts.

"Water-bombing operations have been carried out using two helicopters from private plantation companies. We will soon rent helicopters to beef up the operations," he told The Straits Times.

WussRedXLi

All North South East West and Central will exceed the 25 ug/m3 24-hr PM2.5 recommended limit (eg WHO, Australia)

South side 1900hr (1800-1900h) = 54ug/m3. (PSI 99 / AQI 147)

WussRedXLi

West side seems to look bit hazy and a bit chao tar smell liao.

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

South side at tg pagar/orchard/chinatown too. Mother, grandma, wife and colleagues detected the smell.

Very distinct when you come out of a grade A office building with good grade F9 filters (my office building gets it down to 1 or 2 ug/m3 PM2.5)

chuanz

North: 53 ug/m3
South: 71 ug/m3
East: 45 ug/m3
West: 64 ug/m3
Central: 55 ug/m3

Asakura

it was bad last night, i thought my dad burnt something over the stove.

WussRedXLi

it was bad last night, i thought my dad burnt something over the stove.

Yeah started last late adternoon/evening or so.....then early morning showers cleared but also setup the WSW- SSW winds which brought the spike over. This morning's smell was worse than ytd.

WussRedXLi

Bro today I was at AMK/YCK and the haze was pretty bad man - got a bit of chao tah smell~

Bro, today warm up only leh. Marathon hasn't started yet. Let them use up all the salt/budget to seed, then El Nino start to hou you gan and we can have fun.

You won't have issues if you have enough APs. N95s, I think still same, no real need....unless you are super sensitive grp. (start to wear from PSI 150, as advised by MOH, only if you won't kena headache/light-headedness from wearing them)

Time so spam this video for the new readers here

plasticpistola

Bro, today warm up only leh. Marathon hasn't started yet. Let them use up all the salt/budget to seed, then El Nino start to hou you gan and we can have fun.

You won't have issues if you have enough APs. N95s, I think still same, no real need....unless you are super sensitive grp. (start to wear from PSI 150, as advised by MOH, only if you won't kena headache/light-headedness from wearing them)

Time so spam this video for the new readers here

Think my 2 boxes of N95 masks might expire soon lol. Never even open before ~:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.