Air purifier?

yanbros

Anyone know if taobao has hepa filters for osim iLife? Did a search and didn't find anything.

Asakura

Hving an air purifier is just part of the pic. You'd need to control the dust/dust mite population on your pillow and bed. Seriously, if you have an aircon, just blow it at the bed hence when you toss and turn, the dust mite droppings that are stirred up would be blown "away" and you won't inhale them in. The HEPA would take care of the droppings while in the air. That'd be a excellent first step in controlling the dust mite droppings.

im also suffering from allergic rhinitis. i have the suction side (ax40) facing the bed. :s13:

WussRedXLi

This is getting more and more scary. Forecast getting worse and worse, more and more pink and dark red areas. A Good 10 days of intense WWB, and pretty good coverage as well.

I think 1997 scenario is absolutely possible at this juncture. And it's not even July.

Forget about simi 4 tons or even 400 tons of silver/potassium iodide. No baby cumulonimbus clouds see simi? Even cumulus clouds are rare nowadays, you can plainly see with SG skies (and the party's barely started). All the convective clouds pushed to S America and USA side liao.
Can never fug around with mother nature.

u.anom.30.5S-5N.png

WussRedXLi

A28 no need custom made. Just get the 305mm x 305mm x 25mm depth ones.

This one I measured to be very good in performance. Like 98% efficient at 0.5 microns.
Airflow is good enough too in the AX40 (IIRC about 12.5kph, Original samsung is close to 16kph) and definitely works well in the Sharp A28 as not to be a limiting factor as the original spec airflow is 160 m3/hr.

I am also using it in my LG PS-S209.

All must cut and stuff the gaps. Just a 15 minute job....pretty easy.

Nowadays, I just roll up the plastic bag packaging and stuff them in, including some tissue paper. I do test the output, the performance is legit, the bypass is plugged well enough. Easily touches 98% drop in PM.

For daily use, in which airflow is not of utmost critical importance, cheap cheap can liao.
During hazy periods, switch to the thick/customised size filter.

RMB26 now.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm...39668&ns=1&_u=t1u0hcibda34&abbucket=10#detail

WussRedXLi

But I must mention, the Sharp A28 is cheap and filter running cost is ultra low (due to the above TB HEPA filter).

But the power consumption is only average...over a few years if used daily 12hrs, the electrical disadvantage would catch up on you. High speed is pretty noisy and airflow is not high for that noise level. Medium speed is just slightly less noisy than Samsung AX40 in high speed.

WussRedXLi

Got any lobang for custom makers from taobao? How about for the Ax40?

RMB110 ea for 310mm x 281mm x 45mm HEPA. Gives about 15kph windspeed at the outlet. Need to aliwangwang and chat with the seller to give the dimensions, but he knows what to do lah....coz have sold a few liao.

This is just a link to the seller's shop....not for the item.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.162.ZaWosI&id=20676620186&_u=t1u0hcib32b0

The RMB26 HEPA also can be cut to fit the Samsung AX40. But airflow is 12.5kph. Good enough for daily use.

Wattage when using the RMB26 HEPA is 19W for the AX40. Wattage when using the RMB110 45mm depth HEPA is about 27W. Measured by a DMM at the power socket. So it's maciam like a manual fan speed control. :D

And no matter what, be it Sharp original HEPA or customised taobao HEPA or your own specially cut up HEPA, all must use the plastic packaging/tissue paper and roll them up, stuff them in with a ruler/flat blade screw driver, plug up the sides to prevent bypass. They will work ok as long as , don't worry, I have measured many times.

tmkedmw

aqicn.org now don't even have the pm2.5 line. It was there previously but with no readings for a while.
Looks like NEA no longer feeds that pm2.5 data to aqicn thus prompting them to discard that pm2.5 line altogether. :(

For those depending on AQICN for readings, please note that they are no longer (maybe temporarily, I dunno) tracking the PM2.5 readings for Singapore since around Saturday or Sunday.

yCU06Pn.png

WussRedXLi

Lai liao lai liao.

http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2015/06/30/haze-begins-envelop-parts-riau.html

A number of regions in Riau have been covered in haze over the past few days as hotspots — which can trigger forest and land fires — continued to surround the province as a result of the prolonged dry season.

In Dumai municipality, haze started to emerge on Sunday evening and had grown thicker by Monday morning, leading to poor visibility in the city, which was recorded at only 2 kilometers.

Head of Dumai Disaster Mitigation Agency’s (BPBD) prevention and control section, Tengku Ismed, said the thick haze was coming from both local forest and land fires as well as those in neighboring regions.

“A joint team has been working to extinguish the fires while at the same time coordinating with the provincial administration to anticipate the emergence of new fire locations,” Ismed said on Monday.

Thin but acrid smelling haze also covered a number of regions in Pelalawan regency for the last two days due to land fires. Data at the Pelawan Firefighter and Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBPKD) showed that serious land fires were visible in Kemang subdistrict, Pangkalan Kuras district, burning some 30 hectares of farmland and bush.

Based on the data collected by the Meteorology Climatology and Geophysics Agency’s (BMKG) Pekanbaru station, from the Terra and Aqua satellites, 59 hotspots were detected on Monday in 10 regions across Riau.According to the data, Pelalawan and Rokan Hilir shared the greatest number of hotspots, with 16, followed by Bengkalis with six, Kuantan Singingi and Indragiri Hulu, with five, Kampar, four, Dumai, three, Indragiri Hilir, two and Siak and Rokan Hulu, with one.

Responding to the situation, Rokan Hilir Regent Suyatno expressed his concern and called on the provincial administration and the central government to focus on extinguishing the fires.He did not dismiss the possibility that traditional land clearing measure through burning could have caused the fires. “After conducting air monitoring, I promptly coordinated with Rokan Hilir police chief for law enforcement support,” he said.Separately Riau BPBD head Edwar Sanger said that starting on Monday the agency’s water bombing operation moved from Rokan Hilir to Pelalawan to prevent the haze from covering the provincial capital of Pekanbaru.

Edwar also admitted that the weather modification technology (TMC) to create artificial rains had not yet provided satisfying results due to strong winds and lack of clouds. “We’ve seeded 12 tons of salt over Riau but only rain of light intensity has fallen in a number of areas including in Koto Kampar and Meranti Islands,” he said.Last month, the Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) warned that the dry season this year could last longer than that of previous years due to the weather phenomenon known as El Nino.

12 tons of salt over Riau province, see the below maps for Before and After.

160552540.lxPEQTzx.1.jpg

160601067.EtszpYYV.1.jpg

yanbros

Can someone help to untiong this? I was looking for a custom HEPA filter maker in taobao and asked if they had any test done and he gave me this.

jsg45l.jpg

I also asked what grade would i be getting. He said most customs able to meet 99.99%... haha.. quite skeptical.

WussRedXLi

The cheap PP media is most of the stuff that you'll be getting in TB. Is around 95-99% max when measured at the air purifier's outlet. Things like not having hotglue at the sides of the filter matter a wee bit (very very slight leakage). Don't have to worry....what we are going after is cheap and works ok. Coz recommend to change once every 6 - 12 months max for SG air quality.

Mentioned before and more importantly tested before with laser particle counters, don't worry about the %, but rather the airflow. That is key. How can this be so? Mathematically already can see it, CADR expressed in layman term = airflow x % efficiency. The latter can range from 95% all the way to 99.97%. The former can be much wider ranging. An extreme example is 100 air purifiers having 95% Taobao HEPAs.

WussRedXLi

Review of 1 – 30 June 2015

5 Southwest Monsoon conditions prevailed in June 2015. During the period, the low level winds were blown from the southeast or south-southwest.

6 Dry and warm conditions were experienced on most days in June 2015. There were thundery showers over the island on several days in the late morning and early afternoon, and the highest daily total rainfall recorded for the month was 69mm on 16 June 2015 in the Jurong area.

7 In June 2015, most parts of Singapore received below-average rainfall. The highest rainfall of 160mm and 191mm (0 to 20% above average) was recorded over the western part of the island around Jurong. Rainfall was lowest over the central and eastern parts of Singapore around Whampoa and Marine Parade respectively, where 25mm to 49mm (70 to 85% below average) of rain was recorded.

rainfall-distribution-1---30-june-2015.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.