Is there a reason huai WP field 28 candidates? Not 29? Not 30?

asiafrenz

Yes PAP everyday pwn sinkees non stop.

That's why in order to stop them pwning sinkees everyday, all WP need to do is to field 2 more candidates, and work to get all 30 elected.

Then PAP can no longer pwn sinkees everyday non stop (at least for the next 5 years)

Imagine if PAP come up with some unfair legislation to pwn sinkees, WP can immediately block it and it will no longer be applicable to Singapore

it is commendable you have such a strong view! Would you consider running as a WP candidate to make it to 30?

Rokusaburo

it is commendable you have such a strong view! Would you consider running as a WP candidate to make it to 30?

Even if i do run as a WP candidate, there will still be short of 1 candidate to make sure PAP cannot pwn sinkees. :s8:

EmPtYsOuLz

Why not field 89 x 2 no of candidates?
Every grc/smc field 2 WP parties, team A and team B

asiafrenz

Even if i do run as a WP candidate, there will still be short of 1 candidate to make sure PAP cannot pwn sinkees. :s8:

you should be able to convince a few more in the forum to join you to make it to more than 30 in fact. There are a couple here who have been self volunteering to stand for election for the opp camp. You being the eloquent one, should be able to convince them. If you have the will to do good for sinkies, many here will sarpok u.

Eraval

Do tell me, which one is harder to do and require more resources?

Going from 28 candidates to 30 candidates.

Or going from 28 candidates to 89 candidates? :s8:

Gong simi *******, already your original question is a big if liao, so why not just extend all the way to 89

And I dont know how you got the 10% chance of getting all 28 into Parliament, how to calculate ah? Based on your own opinion ah? Then the rest of us can base on our own opinion also and say 0.000001%?

Rokusaburo

Gong simi *******, already your original question is a big if liao, so why not just extend all the way to 89

And I dont know how you got the 10% chance of getting all 28 into Parliament, how to calculate ah? Based on your own opinion ah? Then the rest of us can base on our own opinion also and say 0.000001%?

unless you mean sinkees love to be pwned by PAP everyday for the last 5 years, and will love to have the same treatment for the next 5 years? :s8:

yummie

At the expense of the well being of sinkees for the next 5 years?

wat make u think he actually cares for sinkies??? he doesn't want to be exposed and cursed at if WP doesn't block any lousy policies.

jabberwocker

Well, if the voters are hungry enough, they can always vote other opposition parties in to stop PAP. All of us know that is not gonna happen, so WP is just taking a safe move of providing 28.

It's a good move. If they can get 28 in and manage their TCs well for the next election, then they can picture themselves as viable replacement for current party. But that's being really optimistic. If they can get 1 more GRC, its already big progress.

It's silly when you hear opposition parties that talk like they can replace PAP overnight... I repeat. Not Gonna Happen!

Rokusaburo

Well, if the voters are hungry enough, they can always vote other opposition parties in to stop PAP. All of us know that is not gonna happen, so WP is just taking a safe move of providing 28.

It's a good move. If they can get 28 in and manage their TCs well for the next election, then they can picture themselves as viable replacement for current party. But that's being really optimistic. If they can get 1 more GRC, its already big progress.

It's silly when you hear opposition parties that talk like they can replace PAP overnight... I repeat. Not Gonna Happen!

How is 30 MP's going to replace PAP? (When most likely, PAP will win the other 57 seats and still be majority party?) :s22:

ussr_1991

TS, this is ur one sided mind and why it does not work in the numbers game:

1) There is a lack of 2x SMC in the East side that is fielded by weak oppo.

The list of SMC in the East / North / Central where they are closest to WP's base BUT not contested by WP.

1: Potong Pasir. I don't need to elaborate and if WP or any other party goes there, it will incur a bigger wrath than NSP into MacPherson fray. Even Sebastian Teo from NSP also veto some of its party members suggesting to contest there and we got Tan Lam Siong for this.

2: Mountbatten. The opposition party is again from SPP, and right now she is the only viable candidate to take over SPP / Chiam's legacy after Lina retires (Lina announced to Shin Ming before that this will be her last GE stint, perhaps to attract sympathy votes?). Ben Pwee had announced that he will continue to stay on SPP if he wins (Because a GRC team must be from same party, and a MP must stay on the same party for the term) BUT RETURNS TO DPP if they lost Bishan Toa Payoh GRC.

So to contest 29 or 30, WP will need to randomly pick a SMC outside of their influential zone, like Pioneer or Radin Mas for example. But by doing so, it will also means a deviation of Low's successful formula as a grassroot party and might possibly see how happened to Chiam-KJ alliance proposal (KJ wished CST jointly contest in West Coast GRC, but CST has more grassroot impact in Central areas near Potong Pasir while KJ has no grassroot effect as KJ was in a new party. So we got Nicole & Jeannette etc hopping party, and CST pulled out from SDA and both parties were hit badly instead.)

So realistically, WP can only contest in at least one more GRC, either Ang Mo Kio GRC so that their Nee Soon contest won't be enclaved and complete majority of Hougang estate into WP, or Pasir Ris - Punggol GRC so that Punggol East SMC (Sengkang East) is connected to Sengkang West SMC without enclave.

Either that where both areas were too big, WP can also contest Tampines GRC instead.

But why WP did not opt any of the 3 GRCs?

Reason 1) WP from LTK to Gerald all say this GE is not about changing government as hardcore opposition supporters would like to see.

Hence, a challenge to PM and DPM wards are out because these contest signal a strong intention (Especially with strong candidates + strong brand name) to change the policy and direction, instead of being a co-driver to moderate it.

This means Ang Mo Kio GRC and Pasir Ris Punggol GRC should remain for weaker opposition candidates to make a token contest, SO AS TO AVOID CHENG SAN INCIDENT AGAIN of simi Hawkings time travel theory.

Reason 2) With left only Tampines GRC, think again. While you and I along with many opposition supporters wants to see WP strong enough and pinned all our hopes on them to deny PAP's 2/3 majority, what does this means when WP contest 30 or more seats?

The sole rubber stamp approval will be on WP's hands.

With the stupid mud-slinging smearing against various opposition members going on, from Daniel to AHPETC to Sebastian (He is no longer bankrupt, like Chee Soon Juan and his conviction record was way longer than JBJ was convicted) to Desmond Lim, it does work on daft people who cannot see the big picture.

If WP 'cannot' handle the AHPETC issue fast enough, and now FMSS is 'sueing' them for god know reason, how you expect middle ground voters to feel safe voting for WP only to have a 'freak result' that all 30+ WP members voted in, and become Republican VS Democrats and the whole government shutdown for weeks?

If you think on the middle ground side, the answer is pretty clear. We should not only pin our hopes on a single party.

50 years ago, our forefathers pinned our hopes on PAP, LKY and made today's progress with good and bad.

30 years ago, our parents pinned our hopes on SDP, CST for the good he made for Potong Pasir residents but only to turn sour by 1993. (CST criticize against SDP's CEC publicly worse than what GMS criticize against WP, and sending Malay candidate in Bukit Gombak SMC in 1997 for a revenge for CST's damaged ego only to give PAP justification for GRC - While LTK has been championing to abolish GRC)

Today we should neither pin our hopes on a single party, be it WP or SPP or SDP. We should welcome a diverse talent pool and no longer a black or white scenario.

Vote opposition means vote not only WP, but if needed, SDP, SPP, SingFirst, RP, PPP or even SDA and NSP if they can survive their own low point (SDP once was in their low point, WP also. Both survived from their all time low and it is time for SDA & NSP to work out a new direction as well).

People should also stop harping from Tan Jee Say's involvement of Presidential Election, whereby ultimately President is done on the advice of PM and its councils (Also appointed by the cabinet).

asiafrenz

TS has the will to do good for sinkies, so we should encourage him to volunteer himself to WP to stand in election. If this does not pan out, then no choice lah, who asked the 60% to vote in the MIW in 2011, causing all of us to suffer, want to blame, blame the 60% lah, blame WP also not right! Of course we will remember who is the main culprit for pawning sinkies, TS already said pap pawning sinkies gao gao!

Rokusaburo

Reason 1) WP from LTK to Gerald all say this GE is not about changing government as hardcore opposition supporters would like to see.

Do tell, how can WP replace PAP as government even if they win all 30 seats, when PAP most likely will win the rest of the 57 seats???

Unless you mean, 30 seats are actually more than 57 seats???

Reason 2) With left only Tampines GRC, think again. While you and I along with many opposition supporters wants to see WP strong enough and pinned all our hopes on them to deny PAP's 2/3 majority, what does this means when WP contest 30 or more seats?

The sole rubber stamp approval will be on WP's hands.

As opposed to PAP being the only party who can dictate what happens to Singapore? :s22::s22::s22:

Quoted 10 chars. :s12:

OrLengJuz

hey you gotta give some space for other oppos

Does that means there will not be any rooms for WP to expand in the future?
Next election will have more 3 corners and ppl will start to belittle kpkb other opposition parties for spoiling WP chances of winning?
Pls wake up your ideas... That is not true democracy...

kingkongikiss

If all 28 candidates win, then PAP can continue to pwn sinkees everyday for the next 5 years and WP can say they spoke up but cannot do anything

If they field 30 candidates, then PAP cannot continue to pwn sinkees everyday for the next 5 years because WP can speak up and block legislation from PAP at the same time.

And if they field 28 or field 30, they will still be the co driver (since PAP will still be the majority party)

$,$$$,$$$ per director and member

ussr_1991

Quoted 10 chars. :s12:

You didn't fully understand my meaning.

Everything takes steps and you are simply impatient.

Like baby haven't crawl, then start to think how to run or Haven't kissed yet, start thinking to pump.

1) 30 seats is a key sign that they want to form the govt by next GE (GE 2020).

The average age for all WP's candidates at 42.

The unofficial sources (Since I don't know all the cabinet ministers age) is that average minister age is at 53.

So what LTK think is that this batch and next batch of new candidates to be elected as MP for at least 10 years before they are ready to take on Minister role and take over as new government (By GE2025), but this is possibly done facing a wrath of other opposition supporters who feared WP being the next PAP. (Now won't, who knows the next 20 years will WP deviate like PAP did?)

So contest 1/3 for now is useless, and will be smeared by whites that a AHPETC cannot do properly, let alone holding a key vote to block essential bills that are of 'benefit' to pinoy lee (Opps, should be Singapore. Sorry) and led to government shutdown as in US / Taiwan.

Not all like you wanted to see a change of govt or let a particular party to have significant power. Any of these seemed like a deviation of co-driver definition by LTK.

I would like to conclude again:

50 years ago, our forefathers pinned our hopes on PAP, LKY and made today's progress with good and bad.

30 years ago, our parents pinned our hopes on SDP, CST for the good he made for Potong Pasir residents but only to turn sour by 1993. (CST criticize against SDP's CEC publicly worse than what GMS criticize against WP, and sending Malay candidate in Bukit Gombak SMC in 1997 for a revenge for CST's damaged ego only to give PAP justification for GRC - While LTK has been championing to abolish GRC)

Today we should neither pin our hopes on a single party, be it WP or SPP or SDP. We should welcome a diverse talent pool and no longer a black or white scenario.

Rokusaburo

1) it is a psychology game. If they field 29. Conservative and benchsitter would be afraid to vote for oppostions as they fear that opposition would take over government. Even those leaning toward opposition would vote pap too

2) they do not have enough people/resources to form a government. Capability and capacity to field a government may not be there since they do not have experience

3)they may not want to form government but merely serve as check and balance. In other word, collecting 16k per month is much more simpler tasks than to formulate policies and getting bashed for coming up with undesirable policies.

Your point 2 and point 3 is not applicable since you know, 30 seats and they are still not majority and thus cannot form government, and at 30 seats, they cannot formulate policies (and thus cannot come up with undesirable policies)

yummie

This is wrong.

Singapore Parliament system does not allow Government Shut Down or Hung Government scenarios.

Singapore has no Congress, no Senate, no House of Commons, no House of Lords, no Upper House, no Lower House whatsoever. Singapore only has one Parliament.

All Bills will be pass as long as there is a majority even by one vote. e.g. PAP 45 votes vs WP 44 votes = Bill to raise GST will pass.

The fabled 1/3 Opposition seats can only prevent changes to Singapore Constitution. e.g. PAP 45 votes vs WP 44 votes = Motion to amend Constitution to abolish Elected Presidency not pass as 44 votes is more than 1/3 total votes cast.

Many Singaporeans still confused by this today.

thanks for the info

ussr_1991

Your point 2 and point 3 is not applicable since you know, 30 seats and they are still not majority and thus cannot form government, and at 30 seats, they cannot formulate policies (and thus cannot come up with undesirable policies)

At the end of day, it is a psychology game as I mentioned despite the tdlr effect.

And we have seen the ills of Taiwanese & US govt's deadlock by major 2 parties.

So it is always wise to have 2 major opposition parties that combines become more than 1/3 and if needed a 3rd and even 4th opposition parties in some bigger nation's context to become ~ 45%

This is to show to all voters and even International media if needed that some clowns' policies is simply screwing locals that all parties reject it.

Compare to only 1 single opposition party that is very strong that keep object harmful / clown policies, but being reported as some 'wolves in sheep clothing' vetoed for the sake of his hidden agenda?

Which of the 2 is worse for WP for now, and translates to which of the 2 gives worse to Sinkies?

hjx

cause WP just wanna cruise along .. talk no need to actually think and do and still get $15k per month.. shiok what

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.