Topping up of CPF Account

Wryer

Got a question - my parents are retired and they have been paying cash for their HDB monthly repayment. The loan has abit 8 more months to go (approx 10k), for which i would like to pay on their behalf via my CPF. Is it even possible? Whether directly through my CPF or topping up their OA for repayment?

I am servicing HDB loan via CPF my own flat too.

henrylbh

Got a question - my parents are retired and they have been paying cash for their HDB monthly repayment. The loan has abit 8 more months to go (approx 10k), for which i would like to pay on their behalf via my CPF. Is it even possible? Whether directly through my CPF or topping up their OA for repayment?

I am servicing HDB loan via CPF my own flat too.

You can't use your CPF to pay for their housing loan.

Doesn't make sense to top up their OA and then use their OA to pay the loan. Give them cash directly to pay as they do normally.

Wryer

You can't use your CPF to pay for their housing loan.

Doesn't make sense to top up their OA and then use their OA to pay the loan. Give them cash directly to pay as they do normally.

If it's not administratively possible, then my last resort is to give them cash. But I just thought it will be better to use my CPF since I have no immediate use for it, whereas my hard cash can be vested elsewhere.

highsulphur

If it's not administratively possible, then my last resort is to give them cash. But I just thought it will be better to use my CPF since I have no immediate use for it, whereas my hard cash can be vested elsewhere.

You forgot the mantra "cpf is not your money". At least not until you are 55

henrylbh

Still your money. Can use to buy shares, gold, pay for housing and education etc. or quit the country if you really not happy that they do not allow cash withdrawal. Buying house to collect rent is raiding your CPF. They should pass rules to make profit from sale of properties, if not rent from subletting, to go back to CPF like those who use CPF to buy shares.

mcylo

As of now is 55, looking at how gov shift their goalpost, i wont be surprise if its delayed to an older age so that ordinary folks have "enuff for retirement" :(

wts2013

As of now is 55, looking at how gov shift their goalpost, i wont be surprise if its delayed to an older age so that ordinary folks have "enuff for retirement" :(

hahaha highly unlikely they will the change the first gate at 55, cos there are other controls/gates: they only change the min sum and CPF Life entry/payout age is good enough, hahaha

mcylo

I m not as optimistic as u :(

Still have many years to go.....haiz

wts2013

I m not as optimistic as u :(

Still have many years to go.....haiz

hahaha, we just need to use our Head to think based on the rules defined, as I said there are many gates behind the 55 gate for the gahmen to take action, since when did the gahmen change the 55 rule since inception? hahaha

Wryer

:s13: the debate about whether CPF belongs to ourselves will never end. Just thinking of ways of maximize its usage.

So i guess there's no way I can use my CPF to help my parents pay their Hdb even for 6 months period. Damn

henrylbh

Before end Jan, may be going to make a rather silly move by topping up my CPF with 52k - 37k being the annual limit and 15k being refund of housing loan, excluding accrued interest of $722. Then transfer the same to my father RA to earn 4% interest.

tiny

Some people's interests have been credited today (3 Jan). Some got the "4 working days notice" message. Weird that it is not standardised across the accounts.

Here is screenshot of one of the HWZ forumer's CPF interest being credited. Not mine hor. I not so elite:

23836656870_f1bee78df4_o_d.jpg

This year got about 9k of interest, 10k maybe next year.

iMac

I just log in into CPF website...cannot access 2015 statement...anyone facing same problem?:s11:

kage

Some people's interests have been credited today (3 Jan). Some got the "4 working days notice" message. Weird that it is not standardised across the accounts.

Here is screenshot of one of the HWZ forumer's CPF interest being credited. Not mine hor. I not so elite:

U got more money, so need more time to calculate for u ...:(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.