Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread II

human_shieldz

Sorry if it has been ask before but too many pages :s22: Anyone know if store like Harvey Norman sell these set top box? Or somewhere around town around? Went Challenger, Gain City and this Home-Fix all say don't have zzzzz. Which one is recommended by the way?

albertlee

Sorry if it has been ask before but too many pages :s22: Anyone know if store like Harvey Norman sell these set top box? Or somewhere around town around? Went Challenger, Gain City and this Home-Fix all say don't have zzzzz. Which one is recommended by the way?

Yes, HN is selling the Draco STB @$135 iirc. Another place to try is Courts or NTUC Xtra.

I don't go for MDA approved STB, only go for cheapo PRC one.

human_shieldz

Yes, HN is selling the Draco STB @$135 iirc. Another place to try is Courts or NTUC Xtra.

I don't go for MDA approved STB, only go for cheapo PRC one.

This kind of things long term just buy a bit "branded" one can le, in case catch fire can go after their head lol. Buy cheapo PRC one dunno who to go for sia.

Wah the Draco one so ex. Anyone using the AC. Ryan one?

terry1

on the contrary, i would invest in a cheap stb. if it catches fire, i just throw it away and i buy another one

by the way, the stb (to receive the free-to-air HD channels) i have got in shenzhen is only s$20 and it works fine :D

albertlee

This kind of things long term just buy a bit "branded" one can le, in case catch fire can go after their head lol. Buy cheapo PRC one dunno who to go for sia.

Wah the Draco one so ex. Anyone using the AC. Ryan one?

Each got it pro and con lah.

No one can guarantee you that "branded" one can last long term wat, even TV nowadays break down fairly quickly. Which is why most electronic stuff only have 1yr warranty.

For cheapo one can easily get a few sets for the price of one "branded" unit. This is cost saving when you have more than 1 TV set that require the STB.

Anyway, it's up to individual, eventually it come down to how deep a pocket one has! :(

chiawy

+1 for cheapo set

Am using a cheapo MIC set top box. At least won't feel heart pain when MDA decide all broadcasters to use DVB-T3

chengsun

Do your digital channels freeze or flicker often during dinner hours?

I just started watching digital since Monday. And I notice that everyday during dinner hours (starts from 7pm, last for 1 hours plus), the images will freeze or flicker every few minutes, maybe 2, 3 times within 10 minutes. I did not notice such condition in the morning, or at night (like just now watching a bit of Star War on Chn5 HD was very smooth). I did not touch the antenna since Monday after I fixed it at the spot. I honestly do not think that it is due to signal strength or signal quality. Rather, I feel that it is similar to our internet access during peak hour, everyone surf so everyone getting slower access.

human_shieldz

Another question. So we'll now always be using antenna to watch our TV? Not possible to use the optic fiber line?

zoneguard

Do your digital channels freeze or flicker often during dinner hours?

I just started watching digital since Monday. And I notice that everyday during dinner hours (starts from 7pm, last for 1 hours plus), the images will freeze or flicker every few minutes, maybe 2, 3 times within 10 minutes.

My guess this is due to a source of interference, a electrical appliance that is turned on during dinner hours perhaps.

zoneguard

Why wait so long for Ch U ?:s12::s12::s12: Still mentioned completed installation of digital. Confusion:s13:

My wild guess,

The retuning exercise is for Ch U to go HD, see this
As part of Mediacorp’s plan to transition into full HD for its digital TV channels, Mediacorp will be conducting a retuning exercise from 4 January to 29 February 2016 for the following digital channels transmitting on UHF 570MHz:

Currently Medicorp transmits 2 HD/1SD channels in 1 mux. 522Mhz mux don't have enough bandwidth to carry 3 HD channels. With retuning, they are going to use 570Mhz to carry the two HD channels: CNA and Okto.

So Ch U will stay on 522Mhz when it turns HD.

I'm not a broadcasting engineer so this is all guesswork/speculation.

albertlee

Just saying cos with Antenna, it feels like a make shift solution to watch TV :s13:

Can't be help, that's how DVB-T2 technology work. Well, if your house have the old HDB MATV point then try connecting to that first.

If that don't work and still don't wish to use external antenna then go for TV with built-in DVB-C tuner and connect to existing SCV point.

human_shieldz

Can't be help, that's how DVB-T2 technology work. Well, if your house have the old HDB MATV point then try connecting to that first.

If that don't work and still don't wish to use external antenna then go for TV with built-in DVB-C tuner and connect to existing SCV point.

Wah ok, all along i thought when they go digital, it's to make use of the optic fiber point. Remind me of the times when buses had TV to watch, so nice.

WakaTech

anyone try to retune cos Malaysia side DTV signal is up as report by fellow ly members. these are the freq for Malaysia DTV

post-857978-1452272273_thumb.jpg

post-857978-1452272325_thumb.jpg

South Johor now got total of 14 DVB-T2 channels from MYTV & Mediacorp.
List ��
TV1 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV2 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV3 (MY) 714.000mhz
NTV7 (MY) 714.000mhz
8TV (MY) 714.000mhz
TV9 (MY) 714.000mhz
TVAH (MY) 714.000mhz

Henry Ng

anyone try to retune cos Malaysia side DTV signal is up as report by fellow ly members. these are the freq for Malaysia DTV

List ******************
TV1 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV2 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV3 (MY) 714.000mhz
NTV7 (MY) 714.000mhz
8TV (MY) 714.000mhz
TV9 (MY) 714.000mhz
TVAH (MY) 714.000mhz

That's great. More options.

b00mxer

List ******************
TV1 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV2 (MY) 714.000mhz
TV3 (MY) 714.000mhz
NTV7 (MY) 714.000mhz
8TV (MY) 714.000mhz
TV9 (MY) 714.000mhz
TVAH (MY) 714.000mhz

Can't recipe from my side. Where did you received from?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.