Difference in Big 4 and small audit firm - Part 2

hozhijie

With a Diploma In Business and Accountancy from ACCA, you are not the same level as Polytechnic Diploma & will be consider as a Private Diploma which worth around ITE salary range. Are you willing to do low end position with low pay?

Low pay and a low end position doesn't really affects me if you are trying to test my mental capability. I've always believe that education and more importantly the right education is essential to our future, in what we wants to do but i also strongly believe that it has a limit. If education is the sole factor for one to succeed, there wouldn't be successful people like bill gates and mark zuckerberg. I believe that having the experience thrlughout the years will help tremendously in my career for the next 20-25 years. What I need is just a chance to prove myself! So yeap, no worries about being at the bottom of a career hierarchy for the first few years.

EricChia

HI GUYS, abut big4, where to find the hiring opportunities , when is the hiring season for fresh graduate of ACCA, have been an ACCA associate for one year( self -study) currently working at a total different industry. Now, considering a job switch to audit assistant/associate position.

fullguard

I think u better confirm with your NTU seniors. I think schools organise the industrial attachment programs.

Sent from Asylum using GAGT

many stated that they were going to go intern after sem2.2, so i'm not sure if i can intern after sem1.2 :(

Yes many year 1 intern in big 4, not easy to get in but there are a sizable number of people who did it.

how hard would you say it is to get in? do the people with high gpa usually get in, or the people with many CCAs, connections etc?

My year 1 interns mostly did before poly internship in some big4 or mid tier..

Sent from my phone using GAGT

if i do not have any internship in accounting sector before, do i stand a chance? is gpa crucial in securing the internship? and usually what do year 1 interns do? bookkeeping, data entry, or really the accounting stuff? sorry for the number of questions, really curious :o

thanks for taking the time to answer my questions guys :)

ZacharyA

Parthenon EY ?? Lol but what the use of comparing US and Singapore

ya lor, it is not even a fair comparison... instead of comparing with US EY to make yourself feel inferior, why not compare against EY Malaysia? Boleh lei

ZacharyA

Jin witty. I like.haha

the question so broad, then i throw out some questions to clarify loh... and in return, now he got his answers liao ma.

come to think of it, every big4 also got politics and there are bound to have some colleagues who are more aggressive and competitive. it depends on your luck lor...

losthopeguy

the question so broad, then i throw out some questions to clarify loh... and in return, now he got his answers liao ma.

come to think of it, every big4 also got politics and there are bound to have some colleagues who are more aggressive and competitive. it depends on your luck lor...
u should say every company have politics one la.

only job where maybe u see less rivalry or politics might be those garbage collector or cleaner? n even so, they might have politics as well just that no one knows

ZacharyA

only job where maybe u see less rivalry or politics might be those garbage collector or cleaner? n even so, they might have politics as well just that no one knows

yes every company has but im referring to this:-

"I would say it is largely more on the profile of the client u audit than the big4 u are in.. However some say PWC has the most friendly culture and less intense.. This however means u will learn slower in yr big4 career"

actually i am curious how can a less friendly culture make you learn faster. too stressed?

tryingtohelp

Its my belief politics come from estab issues. Big 4 have significantly less estab issues than most coys hence have generally lesser politics going on too.

bubblegumcartel

Its my belief politics come from estab issues. Big 4 have significantly less estab issues than most coys hence have generally lesser politics going on too.

You'd be surprised... Actually in for a huge shock for the amount of background politics going on in the big 4.

SG-xLeox

All Co. have politics, including Big 4.

In fact, i feel big 4 politics is the worst. Among same level peers below AM level is still managable. At and after AM level, the rest is all 命。

Your levels will be fighting for that limited number of manager positions.

Your counselling partner has their own likes and dislikes (including other partners).

Your portfolio allocations ....

Seriously. Big4 politics wont lose banking.

Sent from Asylum using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.