you all dunno the story?
the biggest prize money in history is $15 million. 2 guys with triad links and owns a bookie ring share a bet of $5k amongst other numbers and tio first prize from Sg pools. FYI, sometimes bookies also hedge their collection from their punters for hot numbers and buy with Sgpools to avoid overcompensating. Yes, they hedge their risk. Even got software for it.
Unfortunately, the guy who went to buy bluff and say he never buy ; got sick that day and hence never go queue up. After all, 15 million he can retire liao but he got greedy and do not want to share.
He return the money to other guy and sorta cut off the connection gradually
This bluffing guy tried to live a normal life. Still stay hdb , etc and low profile. After a few years still got found out. Likely spill the beans to some mistress who pao tok him. that part of the story , we shall never know.
The deceived guy then seek revenge. It was the only gun shot case in the 90s. Can easily google it.
The rest of the info u can find on the internet la.
But that's the background as to why someone actually punt 5K each time. You think any tom dick harry anyhow bet 5K -10k anytime one meh?