[15 Mar 2025] Bartley Rd East accident: 70-year-old motorcyclist dies; 30-year-old female driver arrested

IAmChiobu12M

SINGAPORE – A 70-year-old motorcyclist has died after an accident involving a car at the junction of Bartley Road East and Airport Road on March 15.

In response to queries from The Straits Times on March 17, the police said the elderly motorcyclist died of injuries after being taken to Changi General Hospital, without elaborating on when he died.

A 30-year-old woman who was driving the car that collided with the motorcycle has been arrested for careless driving without due care and attention, causing hurt, said the police.

Videos posted on social media show the man riding his motorcycle from the middle lane onto the rightmost lane at a junction, with the traffic lights displaying red.

A white car rapidly approaches the motorcycle and collides with it. The impact sends the man flying onto the roof of the car and landing several metres away. His helmet is flung off his head.

Police investigations are ongoing.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-old-motorcyclist-dies-after-being-hit-by-car

I too am female but I slowly understand why got stereotypes on female drivers. Some girls really cannot drive and damn hazard. I saw 1 recently. Want to turn left yet took extreme right lane (1st lane) then want to turn left never signal, in front got traffic light but still green for car to go she suddenly stop, a car behind luckily reacted fasted honk and faster siam. Then I see inside 2 young girls trying to figure out or panicking and anyhow change lane and is not slowly smoothly change lane by lane. Jitao 1st cut to 4th like grandfather road. I see already smh. And some also stupid stop right in front of the traffic light where pedestrian walk. Can't they have better judgement and gague??? Really buay tahan. How these people even pass one????

IAmChiobu12M

I too am female but I slowly understand why got stereotypes on female drivers. Some girls really cannot drive and damn hazard. I saw 1 recently. Want to turn left yet took extreme right lane (1st lane) then want to turn left never signal, in front got traffic light but still green for car to go she suddenly stop, a car behind luckily reacted fasted honk and faster siam. Then I see inside 2 young girls trying to figure out or panicking and anyhow change lane and is not slowly smoothly change lane by lane. Jitao 1st cut to 4th like grandfather road. I see already smh. And some also stupid stop right in front of the traffic light where pedestrian walk. Can't they have better judgement and gague??? Really buay tahan. How these people even pass one????
Female driver… nuff said
Can't help to agree to some extent. But to be fair not all female suck la. I think my driving not exactly zai yet but at least I'm alert and don't treat it like f1.

Cowbellc

Totally no slowing down. Omg
Rest in peace. Make sure justice is served correctly

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
spare no chance on the offender/s for such offence

need to drive the message loud & clear

* no pun intended

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.