1Gbps Fibre fast enough?

lobukong

svjcbD0.png

This? :LOL:

Anyway, like you said, once in a while game DL is not the most worthwhile use case for 10G since it is pretty one-off and you are only as fast as the game server can serve. This is last night 三缺一 piak helldiver 2 session which I totally forgot about it and have to chiong download to be part of the 4-men-child team. :ROFLMAO:

Twice a week, I do off-prem data back-up and depublication for several production servers which I lately took off the subscription cloud. I will sync TBs of data, snapshots and logs on a tight schedule (off peak) between my home 10G internet and a work-lab on enterprise 10G. 10G internet allows me to do my backup much faster without the bottleneck of a 1G network, and at the same time still serving my customers and users on live servers with the implementation of a load-balancer. However, even with that workload, I am seeing max out at 5 - 7G peak.

If you don't see the practical use case for 10G, then I guess you most likely do not need it. In fact, most home users do not need it. Instead of pursuing and chasing the "fasterest" wired/wireless speedtest which gets you bored easily, I find starting experimenting and building a homelab probably will mean more fun and learnt more stuff along the way. Who knows, you will eventually find more future use cases for 10G. :cool:

Maybe can start with building that (half) Petabyte project and running AI inference from your home?? Mine still target to be commissioned by end Apr. :ROFLMAO:

e1dLeXJ.jpg
It's not easy to achieve this dl speed even with 10G plan. I post that as a challenge to him.

TanKianW

It's not easy to achieve this dl speed even with 10G plan. I post that as a challenge to him.

You need to come to the realisation that you are a "men-child" and your gaming kakis all waiting at the lobby with "WTF this piece of trash" is late for the game again, will Steam's load-balancer auto-upgrade your DL speed! :ROFLMAO:

Mach3.2

Steam a bit special, it decompresses the files as you download them, so can be quite challenging to actually saturate 10Gig + decompress the file at the same time.
You'll probably be disk limited before you hit 10Gig.

lobukong

Steam a bit special, it decompresses the files as you download them, so can be quite challenging to actually saturate 10Gig + decompress the file at the same time.
You'll probably be disk limited before you hit 10Gig.
I didn't ask him to achieve 10G, as long as better than 1G I consider him win liao. Though instead of saving him dl time, it's probably wasting him quite sometime already trying to achieve that dl speed.

Mach3.2

Also curious how fast can you upload and download to g drive/onedrive using rclone.

I know onedrive actually forces you to upload in 100MB (could be 250MB) chunks and there's some processing time in between, so it might not end up being faster.

@TanKianW care to try? 😆

jrwong84

IMG-20240228-234523.jpg

IMG-20240228-234603.jpg

Really faint sia like that you all also can argue arh. Want to argue don't any how pull people down the river together with you hor.

No need to turn one round shot innocent people leh. I think if i go war together with you confirm 100% you will be the 汉奸 卖国贼。

If you think only download games you need fast speed=Wrong thinking

一种米养百种人 You don't use 1 gbps fully is your problem. I use for bt seeding and it doesn't mean other don't do it .

I leave my desktop on 24/6 as a seeders max upload speed and download used.

That no point to argue. I mean if you don't dl ul files too much just use 300M 500mb plan can already.

lobukong

IMG-20240228-234523.jpg

IMG-20240228-234603.jpg

Really faint sia like that you all also can argue arh. Want to argue don't any how pull people down the river together with you hor.

No need to turn one round shot innocent people leh. I think if i go war together with you confirm 100% you will be the 汉奸 卖国贼。

If you think only download games you need fast speed=Wrong thinking

一种米养百种人 You don't use 1 gbps fully is your problem. I use for bt seeding and it doesn't mean other don't do it .

I leave my desktop on 24/6 as a seeders max upload speed and download used.

That no point to argue. I mean if you don't dl ul files too much just use 300M 500mb plan can already.
I'm happy for you that you have good use the 10G plan. I wish that I can be as happy as you about spending money on the 10G plans.
I'm not attacking people who like 10G plans, I'm just disappointed that many people who don't know better got "tricked" into buying 10G plans only to do speedtest and cannot utilize even 1G.
Posts like this won't got 10G plans canceled I assume? If there're not too many people downloading 24/6 like you, then ISP should be laughing all the way to the bank right? Or you wish many people pay without knowing how to utilize so that 10G plans are more "sustainable"?

jrwong84

I'm happy for you that you have good use the 10G plan. I wish that I can be as happy as you about spending money on the 10G plans.
I'm not attacking people who like 10G plans, I'm just disappointed that many people who don't know better got "tricked" into buying 10G plans only to do speedtest and cannot utilize even 1G.
Posts like this won't got 10G plans canceled I assume? If there're not too many people downloading 24/6 like you, then ISP should be laughing all the way to the bank right? Or you wish many people pay without knowing how to utilize so that 10G plans are more "sustainable"?
No la i am on 1gbps plan only not 10gbps overkill for me already:ROFLMAO:.

sgcarousell

Is 1Gbps fast enough or should i go for 2? I'm still using an old contract and its about $20 a month. Recently seeing the prices on ISP sites and they are all $40+ even for the 1Gbps plans
Am on m1 500mbps, all good with 4 devices streaming videos from AT sites while playing valorant on 1 pc n roblox on another concurrently no issue at all, no bukit timah hill climbing for me thot

TanKianW

I will think that the beauty and strength of this part of the forum is that there are more sensible and healthy discussion or maybe some "challenging questions" from actual adult behaving (except myself :LOL: ) forumers. There are of course some who shared not so well research and incorrect info, which is common in a discussion forum since everyone is learning. Sometimes we may be posed with thorny questions, issues and topics during discussion that may challenge our ego, our pride or even our profession (for some) but the outcome should be everyone taking back and learning something in the process. However, at times I do think that words/message can be conveyed in a more respectful manner and being less intimidating, which I think most will still try their best to reply or give their candid answer with a twist of wit. Just a gentle reminder to the righteous: 最有道理的人并不一定就对。To be honest, even I myself do not know as much like many here do, but I learnt a lot from them in the process.

Anyway, I hope most will not be offended on this forum (though I myself do offended few in the past), let's continue to keep the discussion rolling and contribute to the knowledge pool in the process. .​

jasonho

I will think that the beauty and strength of this part of the forum is that there are more sensible and healthy discussion or maybe some "challenging questions" from actual adult behaving (except myself :LOL: ) forumers.….

Anyway, I hope most will not be offended on this forum (though I myself do offended few in the past), let's continue to keep the discussion rolling and contribute to the knowledge pool in the process. .​
Bro , i am still offended by your 3D green lantern Ms-01 bracket bcos I don’t have :ROFLMAO:

I don’t have is 又没道理又不对 but I still offended leh :geek:

xiaofan

Based on the discussions in this forum, I will say the majority here will agree that 1Gbps will be fast enough for majority of the people.

On the other hand, there are real and legitimate use cases to go with 10Gbps even though that is minority. The use cases may expand down the road due to technology advancement.

Network latency is another important factor and I believe it will improve along the way as well, even though it may not be evolve as fast as the bandwidth.

WiFi technology is also improving which will improve the overall user experiences for many people as well. Even though Ethernet connections are recommended but the majority of people will use wireless connection for most of their devices. ISP bundled wireless routers, even though not the best in general, will also improve along the way.

I also believe 10Gbps will become the norm in Singapore in 2028-2030, since I believe SG Government's push and investment will provide the incentives for the ISPs to provide cost-effective 10G plans. Still lower tier plan may still exist then (maybe 2.5Gbps plan or 5Gbps plan). Higher tier plans will for sure exist at that time as well, eg, 25G or even 50Gbps plans.

Why do people go with 10Gbps plans?
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
People may go to 10Gbps plan for different reasons.
1) tech savvy and want to try new things, it has become much more affordable now.

2) the contents and/or WiFi 7 router bundle from Starhub may make the 10Gbps plan cheaper than or at least not much more expensive than Starhub 1Gbps plan for Starhub users to who need the bundled contents or want to upgrade to WiFi 7 router. For MR users who want the WiFi 7 router. it may still be a good deal as it is only a bit more expensive than 1Gbps.

3) have real needs for 10Gbps bandwidth -- only minorities among the users who subscribe to 10G plans.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

xiaofan

Personally I think I may still well keep my Singtel 1Gbps plan when recontract this year (Sept 2024), if there are no good true 2.5Gbps plan comming out (2.5Gbps plan, GPON ONT, dynamic IPv4, native IPv6) at around current Singtel 1Gbps plan pricing (paying S$40.64 per month now).

I see myself only looking at 10Gbps plan in 2026 or 2028, when the pricing drops to the current Singtel 1Gbps level (paying S$40.64 per month now), probably without a wireless router bundling or with a basic wireless router.

sgcarousell

I will think that the beauty and strength of this part of the forum is that there are more sensible and healthy discussion or maybe some "challenging questions" from actual adult behaving (except myself :LOL: ) forumers......​
Hahah this is a good informative forum n from my experiences almost everyone here is friendly and tolerant enough, if want to have some fun we can go to "edmw", one edmw is enough already, peace and harmony forever here. Haha

kennethoka

there is another type of people is they don't care about the speed, but they only look the total package they sign up for. For example the starhub 10G plan. For someone who watch EPL, this package conform value to them. They don't care about the speed much, if the bundle speed is 10G, they will treat that as bonus.

If they sign up the internet line and the EPL separately, if the total cost is the same then the internet speed will be lower than 10G but if the internet line is 10G then the total cost will be more than what starhub is offering.

stephenbishop

there is another type of people is they don't care about the speed, but they only look the total package they sign up for. For example the starhub 10G plan. For someone who watch EPL, this package conform value to them. They don't care about the speed much, if the bundle speed is 10G, they will treat that as bonus.

If they sign up the internet line and the EPL separately, if the total cost is the same then the internet speed will be lower than 10G but if the internet line is 10G then the total cost will be more than what starhub is offering.
I am one such person although I do not care much for EPL or the ethnic pack but "need" the sports and entertainment pack, Netflix premium and Disney+ premium.

I was paying $140 for Starhub Fibre TV (with sports, news and entertainment) and 3 STBs and screens and 1Gbps broadband + about $40 for Netflix premium and Disney+ premium.

Just signed up for Ultraspeed at $110 - 40% lower than what I am currently paying and with 10Gbps broadband (+ WiFi 7 router) as a huge bonus! Very happy camper(y)

hwzlite

I'm the type of people that love make best use of the available resources:

All hail to DM!

And we're different creeds
And different people have different needs
It's obvious you hate me
Though I've done nothing wrong
I've never even met you so what could I have done

TanKianW

stephenbishop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.