1M65 - Shocking! So Many Singaporeans lost so much money!

Lchlch

What he said is very true.
Never take things for granted.
Never assume it will work.
Never assume 100% sure can.
No such thing even in Spore.

krikering

i just watched his clip last night.
Never expected sporeans so easy to part the money like that.
Especially what he said very true, purchase those already ready condos and people already live in rather than just give you see the design and tell you beautiful stories...all BS.

For every sinkie burnt by property, there are 3 profit from properties. Majulah Singapura!
Rent is better than buy for there. MY if want to buy, will suggest buy those suburbs or even kampung detached properties one.

I want to be Your Canary

Rent is better than buy for there. MY if want to buy, will suggest buy those suburbs or even kampung detached properties one.
I did not bother to watch so i assume he meant SG market, my bad. MY market is ****, their property market is in oversupply for donkey years already, currency is weakening, condo maintenance is crap because many residents owe management fees and law enforcement is weak. Buy for retirement staycation still ok, investment no no.

Mecisteus

Our family built our wealth collecting rent, that's why we buy all the way.
Property agents and salesmen talk like this.

Collect rent but property value stuck long2.

Same like dividends stocks. Collect yields but share price collapsing. 😂

swenson

Separate topic but somewhat related:

If and when I retire, the children all have their own houses and move out.
If wifey and I go lease a condo in JB and rent out our HDB, the income from HDB should be more than enough cover the JB lease + basic living expenses in JB right?

Then some of our stuff in the HDB keep where? Cannot everything all shift to leased JB condo right?

Anyone with experience on this?

mynickname

If wifey and I go lease a condo in JB and rent out our HDB, the income from HDB should be more than enough cover the JB lease + basic living expenses in JB right?

Then some of our stuff in the HDB keep where? Cannot everything all shift to leased JB condo right?

Why not?

Medicated Oil

What he said is very true.
Never take things for granted.
Never assume it will work.
Never assume 100% sure can.
No such thing even in Spore.
Dun assume that GST will never increase and the BTO unit will stick to 99 years.

0218crawford

keep a room. u will need it when one day Malaysian govt says they will start clamping down on visa runs or whatever other nonsense they might enact in the future that makes such arrangements onerous for sinkies. :(

Mecisteus

Anyway up to you to believe, but ask yourself if you have the money, would you ever rent?
I would still rent if there are alot of risks in holding the property risks and its value especially in foreign countries.

SG properties are safer.

krikering

I did not bother to watch so i assume he meant SG market, my bad. MY market is ****, their property market is in oversupply for donkey years already, currency is weakening, condo maintenance is crap because many residents do not owe management fees and law enforcement is weak. Buy for retirement staycation still ok, investment no no.
Yes, from what i gathered from MY acquaintances, etc. if want to buy try to avoid those SEZ properties where their aim is to attract Singaporeans to trap their money.

Try to buy directly from the local home-owners, have a proper land deed transfer procedures, etc. Condos, generally don't recommend unless is those directly in City-Centres where they will pay more attention to maintenance.

But 1st step can consider renting 1st, those penthouses quite suitable to rent. Monthly rent is similar to renting a condo here also, and is much bigger.

Firstclass1188

I would still rent if there are alot of risks in holding the property risks and its value especially in foreign countries.

SG properties are safer.
We already invested in SGD properties until ABSD making it not worthwhile.

Also the property I bought in JB is only token amount so the risk vs benefits is totally worth for such a small amount.

xdivider

The park cpf thing heard long ago but never bothered cos the house can ez change the game and i was rite.....

enimen

If u already have SPARE cash,
Is at RETIREMENT age,
Plans to stay there for good
Is healthy,
Children all big liao,
Don't have any tie downs in sg
Have other passive incomes (rentals etc)
Have a quite big retirement fund
Then should be ok ba

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.