2 people stabbed in Yishun Central after apparent neighbour dispute; alleged attacker arrested

83sarahtan

addypp

I'm sure this has been asked but is there really a solution for noisy neighbours?

This story - this family suffered for years while the as&hole saf guy continued making noise: https://www.ricemedia.co/noise-terror-how-one-man-holds-a-hougang-block-hostage/

Obviously reporting to MPS, simi mediation sheet all dont work.

This is a matter that must be tabled and dealt with in parliament so new laws can be enacted to evict noisy neighbours. They must be evicted and if they want to buy a new unit, they can only buy lowest floor unit and soundproof their house.

Ubi-Warrior

I'm sure this has been asked but is there really a solution for noisy neighbours?

This story - this family suffered for years while the as&hole saf guy continued making noise: https://www.ricemedia.co/noise-terror-how-one-man-holds-a-hougang-block-hostage/

Obviously reporting to MPS, simi mediation sheet all dont work.

This is a matter that must be tabled and dealt with in parliament so new laws can be enacted to evict noisy neighbours. They must be evicted and if they want to buy a new unit, they can only buy lowest floor unit and soundproof their house.

The only solution is that one of the parties in the dispute change their thinking.

If both parties feel wronged their is no solution.

Forcing one of the parties move possiby just moves the problem elsewhere.

Everyone in close living , what is the option?

*Sisyphus*

If she is the typical vietbu then i can imagine what could have happened.

Some parents, not saying her, may even ask the kids to make more noise to get back at their neighbors.

Again, not justification but u GL one day sure will meet someone more GL one.

thekh21

If she is the typical vietbu then i can imagine what could have happened.

Some parents, not saying her, may even ask the kids to make more noise to get back at their neighbors.

Again, not justification but u GL one day sure will meet someone more GL one.

Exactly.Shes probably example of a arrogant parent (like some ft)of child in restaurants +public places making din jumping up down. Still encouraging her his child.Ignoring others whom disapproved.
News said the old couple keep to themselves.There r some mena. ppl in society whom probably tk advtge of this, bullying rally others to

TheSilentBang

Not justifying what the uncle did but dunno why most of the Vietbu who came over here are usually very kp and gl. Very arrogant and talk very loud with their shitty Vietnamese language.

tiredman

Not siding.Noise is Noise.Some can be hyper sens. while others even earthquake are sound sleepers.
not only noise but smokes n fumes also...

those fumes smell liao sometimes can feel like dieing..

i wonder how they able to breath....

W1n7f1r3

See la do what boliao mediation when complain about noises from neighbors. End up more murder case. I suffer my neighbor from hell for 15 years and I know how it feels. Is always gov fault for no iron.

In fairness all the parties involved certainly hav to bear their respective responsibilities. The man went for mediation but there were no concrete actions to curb the noise over the yrs which thn lead on to the tragedy. The old man took wad was deemed necessary but was a wrong solution. Mediation was there to serve but it was the actual living space dat need to b considered n nt juz a few days of sessions cn resolve. Try asking the mps to stay there to experience wad the ground is experiencing n nt juz saying we hav this n that to solve disputes etc cuz they dun face the noises day in n out.
So the MIWs hav to come up wif resolutions to solve these teething urban issues bfor another case hapens cuz they r nt juz being paid peanuts!

Kanko San

In fairness all the parties involved certainly hav to bear their respective responsibilities. The man went for mediation but there were no concrete actions to curb the noise over the yrs which thn lead on to the tragedy. The old man took wad was deemed necessary but was a wrong solution. Mediation was there to serve but it was the actual living space dat need to b considered n nt juz a few days of sessions cn resolve. Try asking the mps to stay there to experience wad the ground is experiencing n nt juz saying we hav this n that to solve disputes etc cuz they dun face the noises day in n out.
So the MIWs hav to come up wif resolutions to solve these teething urban issues bfor another case hapens cuz they r nt juz being paid peanuts!

Disturbing party, not interested to talk or go CMC & know that they had the money n means to disrupt your peaceful moments, what can you do ?

W1n7f1r3

Taken from another article:

"• Dispute had already gone through Community Mediation Centre and escalated to Community Disputes Resolution Tribunals, but still unresolved."

We already said years ago that these two agencies are just Paper Tigers and end up resolving nothing.

They are just hopeful outlets for people to go complain and waste time + energy until they hopefully just give up and learn to live together. But the people behind this idea do not live in HDB or have neighbours like this to understand many times, conflicts escalate to the path of no return.

"
New laws were introduced in 2024 to tackle disputes between neighbours.

The Community Disputes Resolution Act was amended for a new Community Relations Unit to be established.

The unit’s officers are given investigatory and enforcement powers to intervene in disputes between neighbours, and the Community Disputes Resolution Tribunals has enhanced powers to resolve cases more quickly and effectively.

Most disputes between neighbours are noise-related, with government agencies receiving an average of around 2,500 complaints monthly.

Some have turned deadly.

In July, a dispute between neighbours in Yishun left one dead and another injured

The man who died was found lying motionless at the foot of the block after allegedly using a knife to attack his neighbour.

In December 2024, a feud between two elderly neighbours in King George’s Avenue left one man dead. The dispute was allegedly over one of them bumping into the other on the ground floor and not apologising.

In January 2024, a man allegedly murdered his female neighbour in Bukit Batok. Neighbours said both argued over noise for a few years."

These 2 agencies are pretty much useless if not deadly if this is their track record.
Somehow these troublemakers of sorts need to b locked up n is juz a matter of how the authorities r gonna mete out due punishments dat r harsher juz like those drunk drivers killing innocent pedestrians n other road users due to their selfish behavior

W1n7f1r3

Disturbing party, not interested to talk or go CMC & know that they had the money n means to disrupt your peaceful moments, what can you do ?
Need to table a law for these particular social issues

*Sisyphus*

Mediation no use one. Some pple r just born GL no amt of mediation will work one. These kind of pple only law will help...a bit.

ChuppaChups

One day liao.. name of accused and injured man not out.. duno the husband survive or not

pokipoki08

I agreed with you.

Random noise is ok, like moving furniture or children jumped once a while.

BUT, continuous >15 years, daily noise that affected your peaceful moments at home.
living in close proximity is like that
special cases like autism kids, schizo ppl, old people with mental disorders will be very hard

either spend money on sound proofing or eat more vit bs to increase tolerance and fortitude

many studies on vit bs b3 b6 b9 b12 helping psychosis and schizophrenia patients

common folks can benefit from vit bs and shield self from these irritations, its not expensive

IAmChiobu12M

Why is it gov’s fault when the problem is between you and them? If mediation doesn’t work then either escalate, or accept the situation and unilaterally remediate. You can’t have the government step in for everything. This is already practically a police state. And you want more policing?
What nonsense you talking?

If 1 side of the neighbor is really doing some shxt that are blatantly wrong yet gov usually don't care and let it slide and you say is personal?

IAmChiobu12M

And why is that so? Because 65% supported no action?

Can keep 10 cats also meh? Keeps report to NEA and MP lor...

If choose to stop reporting they will just deem it that u choose to live with it or is okay already despite shouldn't even keep 10 cats in the first place...
I reported so many times they say need give time to fix by 2026. I'm like wtf. They just don't want to exercise the true law. End up I managed to move out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.