[2021 article] 1.4m lower-income Singaporeans to receive GST vouchers from June 23: MOF

dannytan87

Give you money you still complain. Would you prefer they just lower the poverty line and say actually, only 400,000 Singaporean below poverty line and we are dishing out much lesser money to this group? Every country have rich and poor. Would Singapore be different?

Those complaining they are among the 1.4M, did you ask why would you be not among the other 2.6M population? 2.6M above poverty line, you did not make it above that line. Is that someone else fault again?

Be appreciative.
let say its 33% below poverty line, 33% is NOT A healthy DISTRIBUTION......... ideally there should be a bell curve with heavy middle class...... maybe 20% or less, 60% middle class, 20% upper of which 10% high networth, 1% UHNW.

want to blame individual is one thing, macro society distribution is another thing to look at...... it is not a healthy distribution.......

zphoe222

criteria is

Income earned in 2019 (Year of Assessment 2020) is within $28,000

2019 is pre-covid no?

coyote

Cannot like that say...must show some empathy to your country men....the other 2.6m are largely FTs....and they are supposed to be 'talented' and have Uptron degrees to boot!!!πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Your statement above definitely qualify as fake news. I hope the other edmwers are not taking you seriously.

Handyman8888

criteria is

Income earned in 2019 (Year of Assessment 2020) is within $28,000

2019 is pre-covid no?
Yes...then if based in 2020 more jialat?
But someone still scold Sinkie here cannot make it is their own fault leh...how?πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Globe

Put it this way lah from the stats and rules

Only those 'not tua kang' lay low profile, drive normal jap car, dress simply and you then see their car drive back home to a....bungalow or semi-d but on the surface, edmw would say they are bbfa!πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†
so the age to receive this GSTV and the age to vote is the same ... out of 2.6-ish million Singaporeans , 1.4million are eligible .... so it means over 50% of those singaporeans that are contributing significantly to the economy are considered lower income ?

yet when it comes to medium income ... it always look so nice. is the portion of the other 1.2million medium income so high to balance it or the minute ultra high income so high that it balance out the equation

Handyman8888

Your statement above definitely qualify as fake news. I hope the other edmwers are taking you seriously.
Your problem here is the wealth distribution factor coupled with other factors which I do not need to repeat. You blame wealth distribution is due ...only becos that local cannot 'make it pass the low income' barrier is entirely his fault, is NOT entirely true.
As they say with wealth, I can make more wealth. With opportunity , however unfairly or fairly obtained, I can create more. We can always have a better understanding of this , if we truly see on the ground ,why such ppl remain like this. Granted they might not have a better way out but then again, in a high cost enironment , they are also greatly disadvantaged to get themselves out of their rut.

coyote

Maybe you got my point wrong. What I meant was you statement "....the other 2.6m are largely FTs...." is definitely fake news. If someone take issue and report you for this, you are at disadvantage.

I did not blame the 1.4M whatever whatever. I am sure some part due to the economic situation, some part due to the situation of the upbringing and the corporation hiring and some due to the individuals.

Likewise, those people blaming 100% on the government on their predicament is not likely right. Besides, blaming is useless. The positive thing is to work on getting ourselves above that line. Work hard towards that goal. No point complaining. No amount of handout will move us above that line.

Your problem here is the wealth distribution factor coupled with other factors which I do not need to repeat. You blame wealth distribution is due ...only becos that local cannot 'make it pass the low income' barrier is entirely his fault, is NOT entirely true.
As they say with wealth, I can make more wealth. With opportunity , however unfairly or fairly obtained, I can create more. We can always have a better understanding of this , if we truly see on the ground ,why such ppl remain like this. Granted they might not have a better way out but then again, in a high cost enironment , they are also greatly disadvantaged to get themselves out of their rut.

coern

computation of 68.1% (correction, i remembered wrongly as 69%) already excludes the non-resident workforce.

https://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Labour-Force-Summary-Table.aspx
Ld5y03m.png

Can say most of the 1.64m non resident contribute to the 69% workforce?

boyinhersense

How many times must ppl post here that PRs are not included? Why ppl keep adding PRs?
The qualifying rules for being a low ses 1.4m handout Sinkie are :
Must be citizens, above 21, earn less than $28,000 / yr and have asset annual value less $21,000.
Or did I miss out anything?πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

yes you missed that $28k is assessable income.

In theory, you can earn $107k a year and still qualify if you can claim the max $80k in tax relief.

coern

why must use "last time news" when got current statistics?

Ld5y03m.png

citizen labour force is probably around 2 mil out of the 2.35 mil in the table above, with workforce participation rate of 68%.

tVU4IWP.png

about 30% (purple & orange bars) have qualifications of secondary or below. that's about 600k+. the balance out of the 1.4 mil are probably those adults who are out of the workforce (i.e. the 32% not in the workforce, 940k citizens).

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...e-over-last-decade-mirrors-trend-for-resident
last time news said only 2 mil employed singaporean.
so if you use 1.4 mil vs above.
maybe you know why singaporean not many cash rich

tokiya

In theory, you can earn $107k a year and still qualify if you can claim the max $80k in tax relief.

don't talk until jin satki, teach us how many can get 80k tax relief then talk

wutawa

Do u know the difference between assessable income and chargeable income?

CPTMiller

why must use "last time news" when got current statistics?
Ld5y03m.png

citizen labour force is probably around 2 mil out of the 2.35 mil in the table above, with workforce participation rate of 68%.
tVU4IWP.png

about 30% (purple & orange bars) have qualifications of secondary or below. that's about 600k+. the balance out of the 1.4 mil are probably those adults who are out of the workforce (i.e. the 32% not in the workforce, 940k citizens).
So it this many qualify for gst money good??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.