2024 Market Sentiment & Positioning

DevilPlate

I bought IWDA with my bonus in Jan at price of 88 then this year DCA 2801 HK at 22/21/19/18 now it is at 17 lol

My STI average cost price also like 3200

Even my MBH bond component bought in 2019 also showing losses of 10%. Hais really put in bank earn 0.05% better
Warren Buffet 1st rule is Not to Lose money.
2nd rule is to remember 1st rule :ROFLMAO:

iridiot

I bought IWDA with my bonus in Jan at price of 88 then this year DCA 2801 HK at 22/21/19/18 now it is at 17 lol

Even my MBH bond component bought in 2019 also showing losses of 10%. Hais really put in bank earn 0.05% better
Put in ibkr/moo moo to earn that 4/5.8% for unused funds lor

highsulphur

How come iwda is at 88 in Jan 2023? Wasnt it below 80?

revhappy

Jan 2022 lol my bonus paydate. Then jan 2023 I f it and use it for holidays instead of investing.

Making the wrong decisions over and over
If you are still young, it's not too late. It takes people like a few years to understand the value of DCA and automated investing. The best way to make money in the markets is to keep your emotions in control and the best way to keep you emotions in control is; to automate everything and stop following the news, analysing or timing the markets. Just live your life, but at the same time make sure to check like once every half year or so that your automated investing is on track and rebalance if needed.

I learned this quite late, but still it is never too late.

A beginner investor is always over confident and think they are great at timing markets etc. But the more an investor matures, they realize timing markets is a fools game and the ultimate Nirvana is reached when you accept the fact that we know nothing and cannot time the markets, but we have confidence and conviction that long terms markets beat inflation as long as you are investing regularly.

zeroX26

If you are still young, it's not too late. It takes people like a few years to understand the value of DCA and automated investing. The best way to make money in the markets is to keep your emotions in control and the best way to keep you emotions in control is; to automate everything and stop following the news, analysing or timing the markets. Just live your life, but at the same time make sure to check like once every half year or so that your automated investing is on track and rebalance if needed.

A beginner investor is always over confident and think they are great at timing markets etc. But the more an investor matures, they realize timing markets is a fools game and the ultimate Nirvana is reached when you accept the fact that we know nothing and cannot time the markets, but we have confidence and conviction that long terms markets beat inflation as long as you are investing regularly.
Then what's the point of you constantly stating that your gut feel tells you its gonna get worse from here lah, market gonna sink lah etc? Aint you trying to time the market then?

elvintay07

2023 I huat because I go against those clowns shouting recession. 2024 suddenly I don’t know how to invest. Typically inflation is 2% and interest is almost 0%. Now inflation is 3.5% and interest is 5.5%. 1st time zuobolan also can make money grow. Haha!

I still long world invest and reits but suddenly have much lesser ideas

elvintay07

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/invest/young-investors-are-less-savvy-than-their-parents-poll

Too much social media is bad for you, including bad for investing...... :ROFLMAO:

I prefer to use fundamental analysis even though its not as fashionable as buying based on someone telling a story on youtube or insta... though even then, I am underperforming VT this year 📉📉📉
Don’t need much analysis one la. Your day to day encounter is good enough. 10 years ago, I siam local stocks like covid. My friend said why don’t u buy SingPost, SingTel, Sing this and that. They are the baojiak 30 of Singapore. I told him I went to SingPost to post something. That experience really freak me out. I told him I throw my money away rather than investing in them. I don’t care how much profit, how much dividend, how much new idea they have. Gut feel is never wrong. All these things you deal with it everyday.

I remembered when I saw Tesla the first time, I was so impressed with the car that I made a small investment. Then my friends challenged me to say aiya, Toyota is king of automobile. Only European car like BMW, Mercedes are luxury. In the end, they fomo into Tesla. Investing is sibei simple. I don’t even read anything because financials can be fake. Day to day if you use and see that company, that is the true reflection

limster

I remembered when I saw Tesla the first time, I was so impressed with the car that I made a small investment. Then my friends challenged me to say aiya, Toyota is king of automobile. Only European car like BMW, Mercedes are luxury. In the end, they fomo into Tesla. Investing is sibei simple. I don’t even read anything because financials can be fake. Day to day if you use and see that company, that is the true reflection

congrats on your Tesla profits.(y)

sadly I still don't like Teslas, I still prefer the Germans, so I never invested... oh well... at least I console myself that even if I invested, I would not exceed 5% of my portfolio so I wouldn't have made a huge amount of money anyway 😅

BYD and other China brands are showing that there is really nothing special about the Model 3, its relatively easy to copy (or make an even better model).

The current P/E for Tesla cannot be justified by 'nice car' alone. The price premium for Tesla I doubt comes from their cars but from the "AI" or "technology" component, i.e. autonomous vehicles. Tesla is saving money by making their customers beta test the software for them.

d5dude

Its the Dunning-Kruger effect.

TehSi99

2023 I huat because I go against those clowns shouting recession. 2024 suddenly I don’t know how to invest. Typically inflation is 2% and interest is almost 0%. Now inflation is 3.5% and interest is 5.5%. 1st time zuobolan also can make money grow. Haha!

I still long world invest and reits but suddenly have much lesser ideas

I still put in some money though much lesser now into Reits but have to be very selective.
Sometimes i asked myself, shouldn't now be the time I put more money into Reits?

Most of my Reits still in red though less red.

elvintay07

Because I listened to his horseshit, I am also did not invest much till 2017 :( :(
Haha! So he gg to pawn you for next 10 years? Personally I think very difficult to make money during bear. Because if you study the trend, the bear duration is short but the bull run is long. Clowns can make money in bull run but to make money in bear, need to have that moment of brilliance

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.