30s-50s chitchat club

Velton

Sure or not , u lose more than a 100hp and heavier car than ur current :crazy:

Remember for full hybrids, combined power of 231hp is when you have charge in ur battery..

Depending on drive modes, the batt is flat, u r pulling most of the time with 184hp petrol engine ( and will realize the battery and the electric motor can be quite a dead weight .. )
I didn't know that..

I ask stupid question. The battery is charged from the kinetic energy right? It's not able to be charged from an EV charging point right?

RyanJ

I didn't know that..

I ask stupid question. The battery is charged from the kinetic energy right? It's not able to be charged from an EV charging point right?

Full hybrids can be either PHEV or no plug in. Both cases the battery capacities tend to be way much smaller than EVs, but some German hybrids are starting to get larger batteries for their PHEVs.

Plug in Hybrid ( PHEV ) will have an electric charging port.

If no plug in charging port, electricity is from regenerative braking etc from the petrol engine. Upside is u also dun wear out ur brake pads and brake discs as fast vs ICE since the electric motor does bulk of the "braking"... Abit machiam like engine brake except it also charges battery.

Velton

Full hybrids can be either PHEV or no plug in. Both cases the battery capacities tend to be way much smaller than EVs, but some German hybrids are starting to get larger batteries for their PHEVs.

Plug in Hybrid ( PHEV ) will have an electric charging port.

If no plug in charging port, electricity is from regenerative braking etc from the petrol engine.
Thank you for the detailed explanation. I will remember this abbreviation.. PHEV.

harbinger255

Go one round shoot I old.. but I admit.. haha

Actually my COE still got a few years..

But every now and then, backside will be itchy.
Haiz.... friend also backside itchy.... but managed to get a fairly good deal... audi clearing stock... got an A6 for 270k :crazy:

Doesn't hurt to keep a lookout for clearance sale I suppose...

RyanJ

Thank you for the detailed explanation. I will remember this abbreviation.. PHEV.

No prob.

If u drive eco mode or green / fuel saving modes on full hybrids , usually vehicle will exhaust the battery 1st and then use petrol, which realistically means most of the time you probably wun be able to enjoy that " combined horsepower " ..

harbinger255

Walao you buy stocks and cars macham going to wet market to buy vegetables
My friend not me leh..... his car only 1+yr COE left..... then put off sooooo many repairs just to bolster his pitch to buy new car to his wife.... :s13:

Had to make do with an USB fan during the last week of his old car usage cuz AC dead... :s13:

Velton

No prob.

If u drive eco mode or green / fuel saving modes on full hybrids , usually vehicle will exhaust the battery 1st and then use petrol, which realistically means most of the time you probably wun be able to enjoy that " combined horsepower " ..
Then defeat the purpose also.. need to drive spiritedly! :D :D

highsulphur

My friend not me leh..... his car only 1+yr COE left..... then put off sooooo many repairs just to bolster his pitch to buy new car to his wife.... :s13:

Had to make do with an USB fan during the last week of his old car usage cuz AC dead... :s13:
You know what they say about EDMWER and his "friend"

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.