30s-50s chitchat club

singexpat

How many pax? Per ticket return should be around $500-600 right?

I think the hotels are affordable, not dirt cheap like BKK but not super expensive for decent 4 star. $100 per night have? or $150-200?

Shanghai got Airbnb? Encouraged?

11+1.
We flying in to hangzhou via scoot and back from shanghai via SQ.

Booking itinerary through those local agents. My sister handling that part but it's still around 5k rmb per pax

ZacharyA

11+1.
We flying in to hangzhou via scoot and back from shanghai via SQ.

Booking itinerary through those local agents. My sister handling that part but it's still around 5k rmb per pax

Really a kampung. I already find it challenging to travel with parents and in-laws due to their mobility and language barriers (depending where we visit) and we constantly need to be with them to navigate transport wise and also ordering food.

Can't imagine 11pax. I find that whilst it's good to travel with parents and accompany them, spend time with them, sometimes its easier for them to travel with your relatives, follow a tour (even at the risk of being brought to a chop shop to spend money) with transport meals lodging all provided. Just follow only.

For me and my wife we prefer to "bagpack" and stay in Airbnb, plan our own itinerary and explore as much as possible

ZacharyA

Icic .. I on the other hand I will make my kids suffer wahahaha

The thing about Scoot is, it's cheap no frills but you need to top-up for check-in baggage right? Or it's inclusive? I recalled getting a pair of Scoot tickets to Taipei and it's inclusive of baggage (20kg I think).

I flew to Gold Coast by Scoot before - 7 to 8hrs. No entertainment. No food. Want to die liao.

From then onwards, <4hrs take budget is ok. >4hrs take full service

ZacharyA

I dunno what's ur definition of cold.. but the wind chill is no joke.

I arrived in Rome 2yrs ago around early April for Easter week. The temperature was point blank 0. It wasn't "that" cold but when the wind blows, you can feel the chills. Esp night time it rained / drizzle and the wind just howl.... Need to use the AC in the Airbnb and set 30 degrees blow hot air.

highsulphur

Really a kampung. I already find it challenging to travel with parents and in-laws due to their mobility and language barriers (depending where we visit) and we constantly need to be with them to navigate transport wise and also ordering food.

Can't imagine 11pax. I find that whilst it's good to travel with parents and accompany them, spend time with them, sometimes its easier for them to travel with your relatives, follow a tour (even at the risk of being brought to a chop shop to spend money) with transport meals lodging all provided. Just follow only.

For me and my wife we prefer to "bagpack" and stay in Airbnb, plan our own itinerary and explore as much as possible
That's why we like destinations like Taiwan where the elders can wander by themselves without any issues

ZacharyA

That's why we like destinations like Taiwan where the elders can wander by themselves without any issues

I "sent" my parents there with my relatives, they enjoyed it and played some tikam tikam games in the night market.

When I went last year, I used my 1st and only token to win something from the claw machine.... A purple 草泥马.

Then at the night market, I wanted a bubble tea plushie so badly I fell into the trap and keep playing just to accumulate coupons. In the end the uncle very nice ask me top-up a bit more he give me.... Hahahahaha I still have that strawberry 奶茶 on my bed now

jeffprobst

How many pax? Per ticket return should be around $500-600 right?

I think the hotels are affordable, not dirt cheap like BKK but not super expensive for decent 4 star. $100 per night have? or $150-200?

Shanghai got Airbnb? Encouraged?
depends on when he go. but i thought China airbnb not recommended like Korea, dunno if got hidden camera bo.

BKK 150 per night is dirt cheap meh?

jeffprobst

The thing about Scoot is, it's cheap no frills but you need to top-up for check-in baggage right? Or it's inclusive? I recalled getting a pair of Scoot tickets to Taipei and it's inclusive of baggage (20kg I think).

I flew to Gold Coast by Scoot before - 7 to 8hrs. No entertainment. No food. Want to die liao.

From then onwards, <4hrs take budget is ok. >4hrs take full service
same. anything more than 4hrs in budget can be torturous.

jeffprobst

for me red eye flight with SQ economy is torturous. thats why i try to avoid that now
lol. i took China eastern air (consider budget?) but it felt like a budget airline to Korea back there for exchange programme. damn.. the whole journey was superb torturous. Tiong talk loud, whole plane noisy.

ZacharyA

depends on when he go. but i thought China airbnb not recommended like Korea, dunno if got hidden camera bo.

BKK 150 per night is dirt cheap meh?

I mean $100-150 per night in Shanghai, BKK normally $40-50 have decent 3 star. If want 4 star maybe bump it to $70-80 have liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.