5 days tokyo itnerary.

cpuer

Will head to Ueno! Thanks for the tip!

Btw, just wanna check what are the prices like for e.g a t-shirt at harajuku?

I'm not into raw fish.. hopefully the sushi/food there suits me =:p will try tsujiki if have time. really wanna try their sushi there!

Going for the sake of going.. All the way never go disneyland...very wasted mah.

Ok thanks for the tip! Haven't really studied the map yet. Only inspected the really crazy train map.
if going for the sake of going, maybe just limit to Disney Sea will do lah. But seriously, save that one day for another "all the way and never go <fill in the blank>" should be better. My 2 cents.

OKCATYEON

Just asking for you guys opinion.

Should i stay at Shinjuku or Ginza/Tokyo area?

I'm changing from Hyatt regency to the opposite hilton or the new otani at tokyo/ginza. Another option is the park hotel in the tokyo/ginza area but price wise i'm leaning towards hilton and N.otani.

OKCATYEON

T-Shirt prices are around Bugis prices as well. Ranging from S$5-25 when converted. In my opinion, the ones they sell there isn't really different from what you see here. But it is still worth the trip! Lots of cute Japanese girls all over the place! :s22:

On a side note, Shibuya109 womens is the place for some eye candy! LOL

For Ueno, its more of branded stuffs in a street market style. They have uber cheap shoes/sneakers there! The difference from the Singapore price can go as much as $50. They have lots of food stalls there as well.

Woah, that price is quite reasonable! I thought tokyo was a really expensive place.

The shirt there all similar to those at bugis street?

Anyway, is there any limited edition- japan only- uniqlo shirt? cuz if it's not limited in japan i don't think i'll buy over there.

Probably will buy a head-porter bag too.

cancer81

the Uni-Tee designs are newer over there.

you get a wider variety as well

I bought 3 uni-Tee shopping at the Ginza Uniqlo shop. Which btw according to the staff had designs that are exclusive to the Ginza outlet.

the pricing on uni-tee is also better. Especially on offer. under 12 bucks for a uni-tee is :s22:

OKCATYEON

the Uni-Tee designs are newer over there.

you get a wider variety as well

I bought 3 uni-Tee shopping at the Ginza Uniqlo shop. Which btw according to the staff had designs that are exclusive to the Ginza outlet.

the pricing on uni-tee is also better. Especially on offer. under 12 bucks for a uni-tee is :s22:

OK noted! Will buy few exclusive pieces there :) thanks!

trac006

Try checking google maps and see which one is nearest to the Tokyo station since all lines will meet there.

OKCATYEON

Try checking google maps and see which one is nearest to the Tokyo station since all lines will meet there.

Tokyo or Shinjuku do you prefer?

I'm a bit skeptical of shinjuku because of kabuki. However, i'm gold member at hilton and the new otani isn't anywhere close to tokyo station either.

trac006

You should try out GU. Its a clothing shop similar but bigger than UNIQLO. I went to their Ginza store, GU, UNIQLO and H&M were almost side by side. GU was by far the biggest! Not sure with other branches though.

If you have an option that is nearer to Tokyo station, that will really help you in your subway adventure since all the lines that run along Tokyo will stop there.

Tokyo station - convenient, but a little confusing at first, im not sure but i think it has 5-storeys or more.

Shinjuku station - less lines will pass through here but you can still get by with transfers.

There are 2 kinds of maps for the subway lines. One will have JR lines while the other does not. Make sure to get both to avoid getting confused!

Mobile phone apps may also help. I bought one for Android, $6, it did not help me with navigations but it showed me nearby attractions or resto's.

cancer81

GU is the cheapo cousin or brother of Uniqlo.

they make up for their lack of variety with low prices that will make you blink

OKCATYEON

Jialat, I see cheap and nice clothes I sure buy alot one...

2 weeks before my tokyo trip I'll be heading to London which I'll definitely buy tons of clothes. .. my previous trip to seoul I already bought 30 shirts... oh dear...

Anyway are shoes cheap in tokyo? I love buying shoes. I have close to 30 pairs at home and I'm a guy :s13:

lapucelle

Jialat, I see cheap and nice clothes I sure buy alot one...

2 weeks before my tokyo trip I'll be heading to London which I'll definitely buy tons of clothes. .. my previous trip to seoul I already bought 30 shirts... oh dear...

Anyway are shoes cheap in tokyo? I love buying shoes. I have close to 30 pairs at home and I'm a guy :s13:

if you like bo brand one, then asakusa lots of cheap shoes.

lapucelle

Tokyo or Shinjuku do you prefer?

I'm a bit skeptical of shinjuku because of kabuki. However, i'm gold member at hilton and the new otani isn't anywhere close to tokyo station either.

Kabukicho area is not that bad. its quite disciplined. in fact, the more rowdy areas would be in Okachimachi, Kinshicho, etc...

anyway i think u have my whatsapp (from simcity group), just drop me a message if you need help or directions, or just wanna meet up for kopi in Tokyo

VaNs

I am going 5 days as well. Should I get a Suica card or just buy tickets on the spot for trains?

evilerniex

Just get Suica for the convenience. But do take note that they will deduct 210 yen when you surrender it for refund of the balance value.

The SUICA+NEX bundle is recommended, if you land in Narita:
Suica & N'EX | Fares & Passes | JR-EAST

for suica card, try to use until left very little or nothing, then dun have to get refund of balance value. can just refund card and forfit the balance value.
tt time wat we did was to go convenient store and buy things using suica card, then ask the staff to charge the amount left in the card and pay for the remaining in cash.

gundamhamtaro

Dont know if you like parks or not, if you dont you can go to the Yoyogi park at Harajuku on Sunday since you are in the area. For Saturday 9am onwards, you can either continue to wander around Shinjuku, go to Ueno, or go have a look at Tokyo Dome I guess.

cpuer

for suica card, try to use until left very little or nothing, then dun have to get refund of balance value. can just refund card and forfit the balance value.
tt time wat we did was to go convenient store and buy things using suica card, then ask the staff to charge the amount left in the card and pay for the remaining in cash.

Wow, that's a very good tip, thanks Bro.

OKCATYEON

if you like bo brand one, then asakusa lots of cheap shoes.

Kabukicho area is not that bad. its quite disciplined. in fact, the more rowdy areas would be in Okachimachi, Kinshicho, etc...

anyway i think u have my whatsapp (from simcity group), just drop me a message if you need help or directions, or just wanna meet up for kopi in Tokyo

Brand is not an issue, I just want the design to be exclusive, like hard to find or cannot find in singapore or elsewhere. If it's those normal shoes i can get it at many other places :o

Anyway, i've more or less decided on Hilton shinjuku as it's closer to shinjuku station than the new otani is to the tokyo station.

Will do!

Thanks for your help :D

OKCATYEON

Can anyone give me the store locations for GU? Can't find it online. Is there any at shinjuku?

Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.