$5000 Gaming desktop recomendation

ZrE0_Cha0s

Wow, didn't know that now Bangkok is almost the same as SG, where some PC shop are going downhill. Den TS why not consider a laptop? Much better than lugging a pc to there?

lucied

I never ask you to reuse any parts. I am saying you should not spend so much on a single new rig since rate of diminishing returns is very high up there. Spend $3K now and then use $2k to upgrade in 3 years time. You will gain far more than what you can get right now.

Plus, since you are going thailand. royfrosty is your best guide to PC parts there. ;)

That is not true for many components.

High end processors can last many years as gaming is more gpu intensive. When was the last time you heard someone needed to upgrade their ram speed or motherboard because of bottleneck?
Same for storage. A 1 tb m2 ssd will not be outdated in 5 years. Peripherals such as speakers, mouse, keyboard and monitors as well.

orbvius

Im in Bangkok and they dont have much in higher end stuff in stock and prices are 20-30% higher

isnt thailand price better?
heard the 1080ti launch price is cheaper over there compared to here.

orbvius

High end processors can last many years as gaming is more gpu intensive.
When was the last time you heard someone needed to upgrade their ram speed or motherboard because of bottleneck?

Same for storage. A 1 tb m2 ssd will not be outdated in 5 years. Peripherals such as speakers, mouse, keyboard and monitors as well.

to specifically pick out and reply the question - Apple user.

MoneyFace =p

High end processors can last many years as gaming is more gpu intensive. When was the last time you heard someone needed to upgrade their ram speed or motherboard because of bottleneck?
What i am implying is he can possibly own a 2TB M.2 SSD in 3 years time. ;)

robolee

Ya CPU very hard to spoil wan, My i5 3570k OC to 4.5ghz @ 1.3V (5yrs and counting still working) have seen 2 PSU/3 GPU/1 RAM failure already.

Psycovirus

Total Damage : $4219

Notes : Most prices are quoted from PCThemes. GPU is quoted from Cybermind.

Overkill RAM, but 4 sticks RGB will be better than 2 sticks. Overkill on RGB stuff.

ZrE0_Cha0s

Overkill RAM, but 4 sticks RGB will be better than 2 sticks. Overkill on RGB stuff.

If you use node 202 or any case with that kind of case will become the most expensive console PC :s13:

Aeroplane.

Hi, appreciate your time for this. Would this be sufficient for 4k gaming? mainly dota 2

ZrE0_Cha0s

Hi, appreciate your time for this. Would this be sufficient for 4k gaming? mainly dota 2

Dota 2 lei...even at 4k this is machine is still capable of running it. But other AAA title maybe can but not giving u a very smooth FPS.

joshuaho

Waaa lightning Z Sia :eek: Massive card! Better to get some support for GPU also!

Ram prices nowadays DAMN cancer Sia.. machiam cost of 1070..

archyng

Ram price may affect gpu price too. Better hoot fast :p

[Memory]G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz C16 32GB (8GBx4) - $640

Wah got this like 1.5 months back at $570 i think the increase LOL can sell 8G x 2 for a profit now LOL

Psycovirus

From Techporn:
1080 Ti FE at 167 fps for 4K resolution
Nvidia-GTX-1080-Ti-Benchmarks-9.png

Shouldn't be an issue.

XClusivE.L

i think that card can handle most current games well ba.. 5k gaming desktop cannot handle 4k gaming meh? T.T if cannot then dont bother spend so much ba.. haha.. to me overkill.. dota nia.. =x

||||||||||

Wah lau, now even $4k system also need to worry about gaming lags ah?

raysusan

What so great about 4k gaming? I eye too old to feel the difference between 1440p and 2160p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.