50s and unwanted. How?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

scheng1

One of my 2 classmates mentioned said it is not about the low salary always. He considered driving grab. Sometimes the junior position jobs required more energy, something a 50s y.o does not have any more. More often, the employer don't even want to offer such junior jobs to them, citing a misfit. Maybe we can have more empathy? You will reach this stage one day.
Am over the age of 50 already. I know what I'm saying and doing, and I know many ex-PMET (myself included) who are holding low level job.

Many of those who hold "senior" position before do not know how to adapt their resume for lower level job.

Resume must tell the truth, but there's no need to tell the whole truth.

If the highest education is EMBA, followed by 1st class Honour from local Uni or Ivy Leagues, with multiple professional qualifications, grad diploma, diploma/A level/O level, then there's no need to put all the qualifications in resume for lower level job. Just put the highest as diploma.

Instead of putting the last position as Executive Director/Senior VP etc, just put as 20 years experience in various positions in consumer banking division in the bank. As for jobscope, put in some generic work, eg preparing powerpoint, preparing reports, guiding new staff, maker/checker for xxx system, take part in system testing, meetings etc.

If the last paying job is driving grab, then just put the average income from grab. No need to put the income from corporate world.

Many low level jobs are suitable for seniors, eg pushing wheelchair in airport, security officers in MRT stations, taxi ushers in airports/cruise center.

moonlighter_sg

Am over the age of 50 already. I know what I'm saying and doing, and I know many ex-PMET (myself included) who are holding low level job.

Many of those who hold "senior" position before do not know how to adapt their resume for lower level job.

If the highest education is EMBA, followed by 1st class Honour from local Uni or Ivy Leagues, with multiple professional qualifications, grad diploma, diploma/A level/O level, then there's no need to put all the qualifications in resume for lower level job. Just put the highest as diploma.

Instead of putting the last position as Executive Director/Senior VP etc, just put as 20 years experience in various positions in consumer banking division in the bank. As for jobscope, put in some generic work, eg preparing powerpoint, preparing reports, guiding new staff, maker/checker for xxx system, take part in system testing, meetings etc.

If the last paying job is driving grab, then just put the average income from grab. No need to put the income from corporate world.

Many low level jobs are suitable for seniors, eg pushing wheelchair in airport, security officers in MRT stations, taxi ushers in airports/cruise center.

Were you a PMET, but now holding a low level job?

MoeLanYong

Actually, after 17 pages, I think this is the answer. You sir, are clever.

TrollAndOgres

It's like that unfortunately due to sg inc.

By 50, if got expertise in the job and niche enough, still ok will get employed.

If by then realise the skillset obselete, then bobian hopefully by then got enough savings to go part time and take things easy

scheng1

Were you a PMET, but now holding a low level job?
Previously from IT, software development.

I won't have the energy to work for NCS, Accenture, Synapxe, govtech, or banks for software projects anymore.

At least security guard is 12 hours a day.

In IT, when it's project critical stage, the working hour is crazy. There's one weekend when client team sleeps only 4 hours out of 48 hours. We, as vendor, take turn to support their testing. Even though we work less than client, the working hour is still around 16 hours on Sat and 16 hours on Sun.

MoeLanYong

I won't have the energy to work for NCS, Accenture, Synapxe, govtech, or banks for software projects anymore.

In IT, when it's project critical stage, the working hour is crazy. There's one weekend when client team sleeps only 4 hours out of 48 hours. We, as vendor, take turn to support their testing. Even though we work less than client, the working hour is still around 16 hours on Sat and 16 hours on Sun.

My JC classmate went NUS Comp Sci. Then joined Accenture. He top dog. At mid 30s, he was found dead in his hotel room. Left behind his wife and 1 young son.

Accenture work hours and stress, is madness

moonlighter_sg

If you are highly qualified and with good experience, why not try applying director or manager positions? At least dun need to do the projects. Director positions can be very rare.

scheng1

For us when we transit to lower level job, we have to be street-smart. That means act blur, don't talk anything about the past job/salary.

When I first worked in security job, the supervisor and colleagues will ask questions to probe.

"Where did u work?"

My answer "In office, I have never worked security before, please teach me patiently."

"U have diploma"

My answer "Yes". Since they never ask about degree, I didn't offer.

"Can u work 12 hours?"

My answer "Yes, we need to work overtime in office also."

"Office work very good pay what! Why u want to be security?"

My answer "bosses prefer younger ones, we are slower in computer. Salary also average, not very high."

moonlighter_sg

For us when we transit to lower level job, we have to be street-smart. That means act blur, don't talk anything about the past job/salary.

When I first worked in security job, the supervisor and colleagues will ask questions to probe.

"Where did u work?"

My answer "In office, I have never worked security before, please teach me patiently."

"U have diploma"

My answer "Yes". Since they never ask about degree, I didn't offer.

"Can u work 12 hours?"

My answer "Yes, we need to work overtime in office also."

"Office work very good pay what! Why u want to be security?"

My answer "bosses prefer younger ones, we are slower in computer. Salary also average, not very high."

It takes a lot of courage to work lower level job. I am not sure I can stomach this transition.

scheng1

My JC classmate went NUS Comp Sci. Then joined Accenture. He top dog. At mid 30s, he was found dead in his hotel room. Left behind his wife and 1 young son.

Accenture work hours and stress, is madness
It's the norm. I work for many project managers who work even longer hours. The earliest they off work is 12 am, most days till 2 am or 3 am. Then join daily standup call at 9 am. Sat and Sun are better, at least can work only 12 hours.

moonlighter_sg

It's the norm. I work for many project managers who work even longer hours. The earliest they off work is 12 am, most days till 2 am or 3 am. Then join daily standup call at 9 am. Sat and Sun are better, at least can work only 12 hours.
such jobs old man cannot do already

scheng1

If you are highly qualified and with good experience, why not try applying director or manager positions? At least dun need to do the projects. Director positions can be very rare.
In many IT companies, u need to work from ground up to reach a level that is high enough for saner working hours.

Most people suffer burnout way before that.

highsulphur

did you get the security guard job out of financial reasons or just to keep yourself occupied?

moonlighter_sg

Here is my "50s and unwanted" plan:

By 50s we should have some saving. If no saving, then find some simple part-time job, endure until 55. Withdraw cash from CPF after fulfilling the FRS requirement... live a simple life until 65. Then ho say liao...

Foetid

i see your post, i feel v sad, i have 3 degrees and yet i must end up jobless in 2025 cos the writings on the wall and join the ranks of unemployable due to ageism.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.