6% Annual Yield

BBCWatcher

are there any unit trusts that are similar to First State Bridge (50:50 equities-bonds) but which focus on developed markets outside of Asia?
Lion Global’s “All Seasons” funds are relatively low cost by Singapore unit trust standards and reasonably fit that description. There’s a pair of those unit trusts, and you’d buy the pair in a 50-50 ratio in order to end up with a 50-50 equities-bonds mix. That’s because these unit trusts are 70-30 and 30-70, so pair them up in equal measure and periodically rebalance to get 50-50.

These particular unit trusts invest globally, so they do have some Asian holdings. So it’s not quite ex-Asia.

OngHuatHuat

You are right to say that the return will never take into account dca monthly or annually.

Coz I am looking for a model that can give me consistent 6 % every year.

I park part of my cash with cpf special to take that 4% per year, but think the rate of growth is a bit too slow.

I’ll step in here.

The unit trust manager’s reported performance results will typically include the standard sales charge (a.k.a. “load”). However, if you purchase the unit trust through a zero sales charge platform (e.g. POEMS, DollarDex, FSM One), you don’t pay the sales charge. Your personal total return results will thus be better than the unit trust manager’s reported results, other things being equal.

Other things are rarely equal, though. Almost nobody buys $X of a unit trust on a one-time basis, reinvests the dividends, and does nothing else. Most people earn some sort of income from work, and they have some monthly savings to deploy. The official reported results rarely include that sort of scenario (regular monthly or quarterly savings inflow, plus dividend reinvestment) — almost never.

ELKYme

If there is 6% risk-free lobang please share Bro. Got 3% risk-free also please share. :)

Seriously doubt that there’s anything out there that offers 4% interest (similar to CPF SA rates) that’s risk-free.

How nice if there is though:
1) Everybody here will immediately re-mortgage their property and place it there to earn the spread.
2) Those above >55 will definitely whack their CPF OA funds there.

I am constructing a model on how to achieve 6-7 % yield without loss of capital or minimal loss of capital currently.
Thanks for the information.

If can find 10 % yield means my asset will be doubled every 7 years, like that I will become a multimillionaire at the age of 40 plus.

OngHuatHuat

My current model requires taking up a certain degree of risk.

If there is 6% risk-free lobang please share Bro. Got 3% risk-free also please share. :)

Seriously doubt that there’s anything out there that offers 4% interest (similar to CPF SA rates) that’s risk-free.

How nice if there is though:
1) Everybody here will immediately re-mortgage their property and place it there to earn the spread.
2) Those above >55 will definitely whack their CPF OA funds there.

OngHuatHuat

Can share your lobang? If the risk vs reward ratio is better than ETFs can also consider.

I am thinking of investing in high yield stocks for a portion of it.

THen the rest invest in Malaysia Amanah Saham.

KWzi1l1.jpg

havetheveryfun

How is this 80% figure caLculated?

endowment/whole life/ILPs loh

a lot of them have guaranteed and non guaranteed portions ma.. so sometimes the guaranteed part is only around 80% of capital put in or less. then non guaranteed usually projected at 4.75%.8

OngHuatHuat

endowment/whole life/ILPs loh

a lot of them have guaranteed and non guaranteed portions ma.. so sometimes the guaranteed part is only around 80% of capital put in or less. then non guaranteed usually projected at 4.75%.8

Then this is not what I am looking for.

I am looking for something that can generate 6% consistently based on 100% capital put in. Means it can only go up forever.

Like that First State bridge, but too bad, current fund price seems a bit steep to go in.

whyliddat

the return published on the factsheet is nett of management fees. I hope you don't think that the 7.0% p.a. since inception is before the manager deducts the fees?

poems and fsm have not been charging sales charge for the longest time. like i said, where have you been?

he every time all the Dragon and Phoenix all come out but recently all the weak links are showing. Quick to put down ideas and reeking of insecurity. Even if you put that product right down in his face, he won't understand because a sparrow cannot fathom what's it like to fly at an eagle's height. Look at all his insecure posts at Investing Note too

OngHuatHuat

Why can’t one be insecure?

Huh? I really took action when I said something.
Including my Noble loss, all are real.

he every time all the Dragon and Phoenix all come out but recently all the weak links are showing. Quick to put down ideas and reeking of insecurity. Even if you put that product right down in his face, he won't understand because a sparrow cannot fathom what's it like to fly at an eagle's height. Look at all his insecure posts at Investing Note too

Mecisteus

What i find amazing is that he still thinks the factsheet is wrong and that he is right.

That is the trademark of yyhwin.

Can be wrong but he won't admit it.

Actually not bad. He can be wrong at times but still making a few 100k.

If right most of the time, can easily make a few millions in 2 or 3 years.

OngHuatHuat

Since when I never admit mistake?

Don’t anyhow say if you have no proof.

Well I am the only one who dare to start an investment journal back in year 2016/2017 and with some luck, I manage to close that few stocks with huge profit. Haha.... you can do the same if you have confidence.

That is the trademark of yyhwin.

Can be wrong but he won't admit it.

Actually not bad. He can be wrong at times but still making a few 100k.

If right most of the time, can easily make a few millions in 2 or 3 years.

JuniorLion

Then this is not what I am looking for.

I am looking for something that can generate 6% consistently based on 100% capital put in. Means it can only go up forever.

Like that First State bridge, but too bad, current fund price seems a bit steep to go in.

Since when will there be 6% yield risk-free? Everyone would have gone in already. You won't be the first, or the last.

Such high returns are possible, but unlikely to be shared openly. You need to do some work to find it. It won't be on this forums.

Anyone who says they can make high returns risk-free is lying through their teeth.

peipei1

Hey Limster, will you redeem your funds now after holding on to 10 years and earning good returns and dividends? The studies i read or so, claims active funds do less well the longer they are run, while passive funds edge out with time? Safer to keep into warchest as China is slowing down, or you still trust the fund manager to navigate the dark clouds?

JuniorLion

Hey Limster, will you redeem your funds now after holding on to 10 years and earning good returns and dividends? The studies i read or so, claims active funds do less well the longer they are run, while passive funds edge out with time? Safer to keep into warchest as China is slowing down, or you still trust the fund manager to navigate the dark clouds?

You read so much things which tell you that investing is bad.

Did you put your money underneath your pillow?

peipei1

No our money is split into HDB, CDP, SSB, DBS high interest accounts, IBK, posb investsafer, term and hosp insurance. I am holding a bigger amount in cash over recommended investible amount for my age, risk profile is tilting to more conservative. I fully understand revhappy who also decides to hold more cash. We dun want to ignore that the markets were up for 10 years, too much headwinds and dark clouds, can deteriorate very fast since every investors see it this way too, we are now just tip-toeing around smaller and smaller safety net, trying our luck everything is going back to normal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.