8@BT

drkcynic

This is crazy.
There are always people with too much money.. but statistically, they are a small number only.

369 HDB flats were sold for at least $1 million in 2022. 470 HDB resale flats were sold for $1 million or more in 2023. 419 HDB resale flats were sold for $1 million or more in the first half of 2024.

applejack

i just went to hdb resale portal. (not propertyguru, but govt sanctioned HDB Flat Portal, need singpass to login one)

i saw a 1.5mil listing

Blk 9 Toh Yi Dr
Singapore 590009 Bukit Timah Town
5-Room
127 sqm

$1,500,000
Remaining lease
63 years 7 months

Storey range
11 to 15

this is the market value of beauty world. do i think is expensive? yes. do i think it will grow. yes?

if you have 1.5mil do you for 1b at 8@bt with fresh 99 year lease or HDB 5 room with 63 year lease.
some will chose 8@bt, some will choose HDB 5 room. but both are good options if you want to live there.
we kpkb 8@bt is ex, but we must also acknowledge HDB resale there is ex too.

i just went to hdb resale portal. (not propertyguru, but govt sanctioned HDB Flat Portal, need singpass to login one)

i saw a 1.5mil listing

Blk 9 Toh Yi Dr
Singapore 590009 Bukit Timah Town
5-Room
127 sqm

$1,500,000
Remaining lease
63 years 7 months

Storey range
11 to 15

this is the market value of beauty world. do i think is expensive? yes. do i think it will grow. yes?

if you have 1.5mil do you for 1b at 8@bt with fresh 99 year lease or HDB 5 room with 63 year lease.
some will chose 8@bt, some will choose HDB 5 room. but both are good options if you want to live there.
we kpkb 8@bt is ex, but we must also acknowledge HDB resale there is ex too.
Hdb records 5 rooms there sold. highest is $9530 per M2>
But 8 at BT asking highest is 32500 per M2.

Mid level $27500.
Your choice..
No fixed answer

Bukit Timah
Block​
Storey​
10 to 12
Floor Area (sqm)/Flat Model​
Improved
Lease Commence Date​
Remaining Lease​
64 years
Resale Price​
$1,222,800.00
Resale Registration Date​
Jun 2024

jouhyo

Based on the sales,
33% of the buyers were between the ages of 31 and 40;
21% were between the ages of 21 and 30.

young ppl very high income. solid.
I suspect their parents stay in the GCBs along Bukit Timah road.

DevilPlate

Based on the sales,
33% of the buyers were between the ages of 31 and 40;
21% were between the ages of 21 and 30.

young ppl very high income. solid.
I assume those yng ignorant 1st time buyers bought 1BR?

They might get scarred for life when they kena baghold and forced to sell at a lost if they got married later and wana buy smthing bigger

applejack

Don’t think so, i see GCB kids got standard……buy a Landed in D10/11

agree. a typical D11 GCB (say raffles park) appreciated from 400psf in 2004 to 2000psf in 2024.
the parents would have seen 5x appreciation in 20 years.
a puny 8mil in 2004 has become 40mil in 2024

now parents just need to take a bit of 10% term equity loan to some cash out 4mil
moral of story - if have 8mil and didnt buy gcb land 20 years ago, you are dumb dumb

Xiaomalu

agree. a typical D11 GCB (say raffles park) appreciated from 400psf in 2004 to 2000psf in 2024.
a puny 8mil in 2004 has become 40mil in 2024

now parents just need to take a bit of 10% term equity loan to some cash out 4mil
moral of story - if have 8mil and didnt buy gcb land 20 years ago, you are dumb dumb

Ya, If you have 8M in 2004 (SARS crisis, businessman dump property), problem is don't have

Someone in 2044 will tell you

'agree. a typical D11 GCB (say raffles park) 2000psf in 2024 to 8000psf in 2044.
a puny 40mil in 2004 has become 2000mil in 2044

now parents just need to take a bit of 10% term equity loan to some cash out 2000 mil

moral of story - if have 40mil and didnt buy gcb land 20 years ago, you are dumb dumb'

So who has 40 M today haha. If you have 1 M already SG top 5% liao, dont say 8 M haha

40M put in FD, 1.6 M interest a year, 133k to spend every month, still buy GCB ?
LOL

DevilPlate

Ya, If you have 8M in 2004 (SARS crisis, businessman dump property), problem is don't have

Someone in 2044 will tell you

'agree. a typical D11 GCB (say raffles park) 2000psf in 2024 to 8000psf in 2044.
a puny 40mil in 2004 has become 2000mil in 2044

now parents just need to take a bit of 10% term equity loan to some cash out 2000 mil

moral of story - if have 40mil and didnt buy gcb land 20 years ago, you are dumb dumb'

So who has 40 M today haha. If you have 1 M already SG top 5% liao, dont say 8 M haha

40M put in FD, 1.6 M interest a year, 133k to spend every month, still buy GCB ?
LOL
USD 1M form top 6% of our population. Which includes residential nett liabilities.
https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/number-millionaires-singapore-soars-past-333000-2023

This forum sibei satki, all within the top 6% :ROFLMAO:

llx384

This thought came to my mind today. I drive around this area every day, morning, afternoon and sometimes evening to send and pick my kids. The traffic around this area is terrible. Recently, with 1 lane closed to works, turning from UBT rd to JJK takes forever. And BTlink is only a 1 lane road. I really wonder if the roads there can support all these additional traffic once Linq, RR and 8BT residence move in. It feels like it's gonna be a driving nightmare. But I'm no road engineer. Thoughts?

ZacharyA

This thought came to my mind today. I drive around this area every day, morning, afternoon and sometimes evening to send and pick my kids. The traffic around this area is terrible. Recently, with 1 lane closed to works, turning from UBT rd to JJK takes forever. And BTlink is only a 1 lane road. I really wonder if the roads there can support all these additional traffic once Linq, RR and 8BT residence move in. It feels like it's gonna be a driving nightmare. But I'm no road engineer. Thoughts?

Linq RR 8BT beside Beauty World MRT, why need to drive? Eric say crawl also can reach MRT ley

drkcynic

I hate the traffic there, terrible. Peak hour is worse but non-peak is no better. Fortunately once the bukit timah food centre is closed I will likely not go there very often.

I am very surprised very few people brought up the traffic conditions there. It was my number 1 bugbear from day 1. RR, Linq, 8BT are surrounded by traffic, even if you don't drive you can hear them since most of them are built highrised.

When the condos enter the resale market, people WILL notice the noise and the traffic. I might be overstating it, and Penrose made good money even with expressway so might turn out good. Existing owners don't flame me.

jeffong

I would say the same thing for all the recent town developments like Sengkang, Punggol , Tengah etc. Getting in and out of these estates during peak periods are also a huge nightmare. When you do finally make it out of the estate proper into the expressways (ie. TPE, PIE), you will face the same **** traffic jam again.

Tanjong Katong Rd would likely face the same issue once all the new D15 condos come online. What's the solution then you may ask, heed the govt call and take public transport. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.