8 years ago, Singapore declared war on diabetes. Is it winning?

bakuten

dun understand how ppl can jiak so much sugar. normal white rice with side dishes wont cause diabetes de...only spam sugary stuff constantly will
u skipped primary sch science classes?
the moment that starch touch your saliva it already begin to digest into glucose.

GameBoyColour

ive always beliefed in our SAF

war against whatever oso we will give a hard fight

articland05

u skipped primary sch science classes?
the moment that starch touch your saliva it already begin to digest into glucose.
not enuff to kenna diabetes de...starchy stuff also will make u full. cant eat that much

only things like bbt, ice cream, cakes can really consume sugar in high amt until can screw up chiur body

power_range

Such things - government can push out initiatives but the people must be willing to change their habits too? Must ask yourself - are you successful in changing your habit?

bakuten

not enuff to kenna diabetes de...starchy stuff also will make u full. cant eat that much

only things like bbt, ice cream, cakes can really consume sugar in high amt until can screw up chiur body
u'd be surprise how much carbs ppl can consume daily.....in the hundreds of grams one

popdod

Such things - government can push out initiatives but the people must be willing to change their habits too? Must ask yourself - are you successful in changing your habit?

Everyone is responsible for their own health.

if one doesn’t take ownership of their own health? Blame who? Only can blame themselves. :(

A Better Tomorrow

A rough gauge is to check how many bubble tea stores overall open over these years and their sales figures.

urbanathlon

It's found that people who takes Metformin has a lower rate of getting cancer.

Despite diabetics should in theory be at higher risk as cancer cells rely on glucose and higher chance of chronic inflammation which impede the immunity system.

It's indeed a wonder drug. What it does it is helps the system to process glucose more efficiently.

Longevity experts take them as supplement but i remember that there are some doctors who cautioned against that for some reason

ramlee

key thing is early diagnosis, most people don't go for health screening, and for diabetes, there's no major symptoms until it's much too late, where all the organs are already damaged.

for those without company's benefit for free yearly health screening should enroll with the healthier sg, MOH will ensure at least all the required test for each age group for almost free.

all the help is out there, but a lot of people just don't care till it's too late.
It’s not I don’t care. It’s I’m scared to check :(

Lance321

sg needs to declare a bigger war on kidney disease as more and more people are getting it including younger ones.

stingray1211

diabetes is a personal problem.

if you can't be bothered to change anything .. don't blame anyone else or expect others to help .

same as BBFA , bui bui is a choice. forever alone is a choice.

icebleue

No, u cant win until u demolish hawker centers. Become like europe and us. Everyone cooks their own food. Confirm fresh and healthy.
Its coming soon with high rental, older hawkers retiring and new hawkers convert hawker centres into a hipster supper place...

Whimsica

I think younger sinkies are more conscious and making healthier lifestyle choices.

The bubble tea queue and time spent lying in bed/ sofa staring at phone/ tablet say otherwise.

In fact I am seeing more 40- and 50-something starting to run, bike, gym, go for fitness classes etc and monitoring their health and level of activities through smart watches and apps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.