About Betta (Fighting) Fish

kazuki666

I have the same slime problem but I just assume it’s good bacteria haha

My tank is 10-12 litres so only slightly bigger than yours

I find it hard to think Betta will be happier in a tiny tank.. more space should be better leh.. or maybe he was happy with the Ketapang leave and not the small tank so try putting leave on big tank?

I also don’t turn on my filter all the time , maybe 8 hours a day and off at night so the Betta can “sleep”

Maybe your tank is much bigger than mine bah, I think if i leave my tank's filter/pump on for that long, the betta will be stressed out le. Btw partly my tank is bare with only 4 pcs of moss ball... :p

Could be happy in small tank cause is new water ?

U got try put the leaf in big tank it doesn't blow bubble ah?

Also the slime thingy could it be the bettas slime coat? (U may want Google this)

no need for filter or airpump for bettas
try putting ketapang in your big tank

I know about the scare about slime coat, because I believe that's what killed my first two betta (male and female) which I reared them together in the the small container which I use to isolate my current betta whenever i do a 100% water change. It looks quite similar to the one below, but it has a divider in the centre.
Plastic-Rectangle-Shape-Aquarium-Betta-Fish-Tank-Pet-Feed-Box-Green.jpg

Back then I did try to place crushed ketapang leaf in a teabag in the 8L tank, somehow he doesn't seems satisfied as compared to isolated to the smaller container with leaf. But that time I was still experimenting which I have plants in the tank (eventually rot and i threw away). Maybe next week when I do a 100% water change I will try to give it a try again.

Btw, is it alright to rear betta permanently in water browned by the ketapang leaf? I am always wondering the water so brown like red tea, the betta actually like or dislike, can survive or not....:s11:

yihao93

Maybe your tank is much bigger than mine bah, I think if i leave my tank's filter/pump on for that long, the betta will be stressed out le. Btw partly my tank is bare with only 4 pcs of moss ball... :p

I know about the scare about slime coat, because I believe that's what killed my first two betta (male and female) which I reared them together in the the small container which I use to isolate my current betta whenever i do a 100% water change. It looks quite similar to the one below, but it has a divider in the centre.
Plastic-Rectangle-Shape-Aquarium-Betta-Fish-Tank-Pet-Feed-Box-Green.jpg

Back then I did try to place crushed ketapang leaf in a teabag in the 8L tank, somehow he doesn't seems satisfied as compared to isolated to the smaller container with leaf. But that time I was still experimenting which I have plants in the tank (eventually rot and i threw away). Maybe next week when I do a 100% water change I will try to give it a try again.

Btw, is it alright to rear betta permanently in water browned by the ketapang leaf? I am always wondering the water so brown like red tea, the betta actually like or dislike, can survive or not....:s11:

Actually it's natural environment is always in brown water

hovivi

I put 10 mini leaves (bought from east ocean) and maybe tank too big cos not change in water Color.

You can see 1 of the leaf below the arch coconut husk.

kazuki666

Actually it's natural environment is always in brown water

I put 10 mini leaves (bought from east ocean) and maybe tank too big cos not change in water Color.

You can see 1 of the leaf below the arch coconut husk.

permanently brown water wor, its better for betta fish that way? Because i see online most people rear their betta in clean dechlorine water, so I always have the impression brown water is like once a blue moon thing for betta fishes.

zhaohan

permanently brown water wor, its better for betta fish that way? Because i see online most people rear their betta in clean dechlorine water, so I always have the impression brown water is like once a blue moon thing for betta fishes.

brown water is natural for them, the extract has anti bacterial and healing properties
no need to break the leaves, can crush a little so that the leaf extract can come out, but maintains the leaf shape
it's a nice hiding and resting place for the fish

yihao93

Ppl put clean water so can see the fish better only. Human see liao more song

hovivi

I read that someone put the big leaf and Betta likes to go near and blow bubble there.

I bought small leaves so I threw in a bunch and they sink very quickly.

Some actually boil and/or wash them before putting in tank..

hovivi

Also I don’t think u should do 100% water change.
Imagine the fish having to readapt new water condition all the time.
I also have those API strip tester to test water condition like chlorine, hardness, NH, etc etc.

kazuki666

I understand betta likes to have plants for hiding or sleeping purposes. Is it alright to put those artificial plastic ones? I saw some selling $4-5 at LFS. It says it's sinking type, brand I think is ocean free.
I am concerned if they will disintegrate in the water...

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

hovivi

I understand betta likes to have plants for hiding or sleeping purposes. Is it alright to put those artificial plastic ones? I saw some selling $4-5 at LFS. It says it's sinking type, brand I think is ocean free.
I am concerned if they will disintegrate in the water...

Worried plastic will cut The delicate fins of Betta when it swims..
I ever seen before the Betta struggle to swim out of plants cos fin kena stuck but real plants softer..

Many plants are Low maintenance also help to generate oxygen for Betta and absorb the waste..

kazuki666

I ever seen before the Betta struggle to swim out of plants cos fin kena stuck but real plants softer..

Many plants are Low maintenance also help to generate oxygen for Betta and absorb the waste..
Because my tank is those small 8L with built-in filter pump, so space is quite limited to have soil gravel planting. I tried before putting in those plants which come with a piece of wood from LFS, but the consequences are terrible which I suspect the wood and plant rotting together... :(
So now I quite skeptical to planting, at least not until I change to a much bigger tank...

CatLuVer

Hi whih are the low mainenance plants? Thanks

hovivi

Java fern seems popular
Personally I’m using US fissiden and mini fissiden and they have been resilient so far. Lay down on the floor like carpet.

kazuki666

I am now trying out putting the ketapang leaf directly into the 8L tank with the betta. Almost within an hour, he found his way to sleep on top of the leaf le... :s22:

Btw, about a day after I placed the leaf, I noticed there are greyish ash looking particulars sunken on the bottom of the tank. I am wondering what is the cause. I did soak the ketapang leaf in boiled water for like half a minute, just in case there are unknown bacteria or worms on it.

Anyway, do you all just leave the ketapang leaf inside the tank for good? Or will take out after a certain period???

foxer77

I am now trying out putting the ketapang leaf directly into the 8L tank with the betta. Almost within an hour, he found his way to sleep on top of the leaf le... :s22:

Btw, about a day after I placed the leaf, I noticed there are greyish ash looking particulars sunken on the bottom of the tank. I am wondering what is the cause. I did soak the ketapang leaf in boiled water for like half a minute, just in case there are unknown bacteria or worms on it.

Anyway, do you all just leave the ketapang leaf inside the tank for good? Or will take out after a certain period???

the leaf will rot . u will need to take out normally after the 3rd day.

hovivi

Very nice leh.. you got the big or small leave?
There are 2 sizes
I bought the small one like not much effect and maybe I put in too few so thinking of getting big ones
By the way I bought fm eastocean

zhaohan

There are 2 sizes
I bought the small one like not much effect and maybe I put in too few so thinking of getting big ones

crush the leaf a little, while maintaining its shape
easier for it to release it's compounds

kazuki666

the leaf will rot . u will need to take out normally after the 3rd day.

Noted. Now I am suspecting if those greyish stuff at the bottom of the tank from the leaf...

There are 2 sizes

The leaves are about palm size. One big bag for $1 from C328. I didnt count how many pieces, confirm more than 10pcs inside the bag.
I have placed 1 piece in my 8L betta tank for 1day+, the water only turn slightly yellowish like Pokka greentea. haha
I should be doing my 20% water change in two days time, so I am thinking to remove the leaf at that time too. Btw, I just leave the water as yellowish/brownish as it is right?

zhaohan

Noted. Now I am suspecting if those greyish stuff at the bottom of the tank from the leaf...

The leaves are about palm size. One big bag for $1 from C328. I didnt count how many pieces, confirm more than 10pcs inside the bag.
I have placed 1 piece in my 8L betta tank for 1day+, the water only turn slightly yellowish like Pokka greentea. haha
I should be doing my 20% water change in two days time, so I am thinking to remove the leaf at that time too. Btw, I just leave the water as yellowish/brownish as it is right?

yea that's the color that it will always be when using ktp leaves

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.