About Betta (Fighting) Fish

kazuki666

Just wondering, how many betta on average does you guys keep and how wonder do. U change water?

While waiting for the gurus to give better advice, my two cents thoughts.
Number of betta in a tank and how often to change water, I think both will depend on the size of the tank. I seen before videos of breeders breeding ALOT of betta all in a tank super squeeze. Some say its bad for the fishes, but some say its ok. You can see this video, the fishes seem fine.

So I believe if space is not an issue, the bigger the better. Afterall, they are fishes in the wild at first too.

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

Maybe u don't feed enough ??

This one I am still wondering too. Because online i read some say feeding for around 2mins, then say 5-6 pellets. But I feed both doesn't tally leh. Pellets can eat 1 piece each second, how to feed 5-6 pellets yet for 2mins... :s22:
I am mainly giving my betta flakes from the ocean brand. I notice some oil will start to spread the moment i drop the flake into the water, so what I do is hold the flake on a toothpick abt 1/2cm above the water, and the betta will jump up to catch from the toothpick. The flake size is about his eye, and I will feed abt 4pcs twice a day. Is that enough???

yihao93

This one I am still wondering too. Because online i read some say feeding for around 2mins, then say 5-6 pellets. But I feed both doesn't tally leh. Pellets can eat 1 piece each second, how to feed 5-6 pellets yet for 2mins... :s22:
I am mainly giving my betta flakes from the ocean brand. I notice some oil will start to spread the moment i drop the flake into the water, so what I do is hold the flake on a toothpick abt 1/2cm above the water, and the betta will jump up to catch from the toothpick. The flake size is about his eye, and I will feed abt 4pcs twice a day. Is that enough???

Try up Abit see will sh1t more or not?
My betta like sh1t everyday or are least 2 days will see some ****

kazuki666

Try up Abit see will sh1t more or not?
My betta like sh1t everyday or are least 2 days will see some ****

I tried feeding more before, but then it will get the big stomach bump yet don't pang sai...:s22:
I have another betta though very ill with swelling eyes already, he eats like 2-3 pellets 2times a day, and he also can poop every 2-3days size about twice his eyes.

Really different betta different pattern, even pang sai also. :s13:

foxer77

Just wondering, how many betta on average does you guys keep and how wonder do. U change water?

currently, still had a community tank from my last 2 breeding batch..20+
And 8 separate container of male betta.

water change is the headache when it come to too many bettas tank.

Joge517

Ya... I supposed u dun run filter on those small containers? Need to change every 3 days? 佩服u bros who keep and dedicated so much time for Yr bettas

kazuki666

Just curious. How big is your community tank and setup like?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

zhaohan

good thing about having big/many tanks for water change is i can prepare and aerate the water overnight before changing
i would fill a pail, add in anti-chlorine, a little aquarium salt and KTP leaves and aerate it overnight

kazuki666

I think I narrowing down reason why my tank will blown ALOT those white wriggling worms, abt 1-2mm long and will stick onto the walls. I noticed after I put in a ketapang leaf, half a day later suddenly appear alot!!! But I make sure I soaked the leaf in boiling water for around half a min, then sun till crispy dry. By right the boiling water and sunning should have killed any possible insects or worms right... :(
I placed the leaf last night, shocked to see the white wriggling this morning so quickly removed. Do you all think it helps if I microwave the leaf?

yihao93

I think I narrowing down reason why my tank will blown ALOT those white wriggling worms, abt 1-2mm long and will stick onto the walls. I noticed after I put in a ketapang leaf, half a day later suddenly appear alot!!! But I make sure I soaked the leaf in boiling water for around half a min, then sun till crispy dry. By right the boiling water and sunning should have killed any possible insects or worms right... :(
I placed the leaf last night, shocked to see the white wriggling this morning so quickly removed. Do you all think it helps if I microwave the leaf?

If want use money to avoid disaster can just buy blackwater extract

kazuki666

I am still having the white worms looking thingie in my 8L tank. They can suddenly explode in numbers making the tank looks SCARY, sometimes lesser. So now every time after I feed the betta (twice), I will turn the tank's built-in filter/pump for like 10-15mins to let it run circulate the water which I think should be "killing" those white worms. I will remove the the ketapang when the pump is on, and put it back when I turn it off. Then I realise, half a day later my betta will almost always blow many bubbles below the ketapang leaf. But hor this bugger betta will not blow the bubbles when there is no leaf wan... :s11:
Is there any rationale why he is behaving like this?

zhaohan

I am still having the white worms looking thingie in my 8L tank. They can suddenly explode in numbers making the tank looks SCARY, sometimes lesser. So now every time after I feed the betta (twice), I will turn the tank's built-in filter/pump for like 10-15mins to let it run circulate the water which I think should be "killing" those white worms. I will remove the the ketapang when the pump is on, and put it back when I turn it off. Then I realise, half a day later my betta will almost always blow many bubbles below the ketapang leaf. But hor this bugger betta will not blow the bubbles when there is no leaf wan... :s11:
Is there any rationale why he is behaving like this?

if you were a fish, you would want to build your nest somewhere "safe" as well and in their case it's a leaf as natural camouflage

fi3ry_icy

do u all use a heater for betta fish tanks that are 10gallon or larger? seems like sg dun need it right?

rkeerthii

Putting betta with other fishes

I see a lot of fish keeping youtubers put betta with other fishes. I've also seen a fish farm put betta with other fishes as well. Is it recommendable?

sheva07

Is it illegal to breed the betta? my betta eggs just hatched last night...scared NEA will make noise during dengue inspection.

kazuki666

Is it illegal to breed the betta? my betta eggs just hatched last night...scared NEA will make noise during dengue inspection.
It depends what you do with the fishes bah. Water with fishes shouldn't have larvae de bah. It should be commercial sales of fish you are concerned?
Please observe 8th core value.

sheva07

It depends what you do with the fishes bah. Water with fishes shouldn't have larvae de bah. It should be commercial sales of fish you are concerned?
Please observe 8th core value.

Not intended to sale it, just want to try it and it work, due to ** period got a lot free time :s13:, but today seeing its babies, i also worried where to put next :D too many...:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.