About Betta (Fighting) Fish

yihao93

these fries r producing lot of wastes. my filter cant even take care off.

water change needed every 3 to 4 days.

how strong is the mechanical filtration on ur filter? mine is weak n cant suck any waste.

using ocean free 80litre/hr pump

foxer77

me too i use sponge filter om air pump as they r fry i cant really.use strong filteration system.
i need to daily syponse the waste and 20 to 30% water change to clean the water when i feed them tubifex worm as water get dirty fast but it speed up the growth

foxer77

100% water change each week when i find the tank water too dirty even after 20% to 30% cant make it.
fries now 6 week old ,should be ~150 fries or more in a 1.5 feet tank

kazuki666

First timer keeping betta. I bought two fishes at Redhill market yesterday. Noob me thinking both are males, end up one male one female... Haha
Overnight, the make fellow created a bit of bubbles in his corner liao. I read it's for nesting. Like that, can I still change water??? The seller told me should change water every 3-4 days, overnight water with a bit salt added.

RRPnNmSl.jpg

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

yihao93

First timer keeping betta. I bought two fishes at Redhill market yesterday. Noob me thinking both are males, end up one male one female... Haha
Overnight, the make fellow created a bit of bubbles in his corner liao. I read it's for nesting. Like that, can I still change water??? The seller told me should change water every 3-4 days, overnight water with a bit salt added.

RRPnNmSl.jpg

YEs pls continue changing water.
Remember to add chlorine remover
And I suggest change every 2-3 days better. 50% water and salt must be aquarium salt not household salt
Most important is don’t overfeed. 3-4 pellet 1/2 times a day. Feed 6 days per week. Betta can 2 weeks don’t eat one so don’t need scared they hungry

kazuki666

YEs pls continue changing water.
Remember to add chlorine remover
And I suggest change every 2-3 days better. 50% water and salt must be aquarium salt not household salt
Most important is don’t overfeed. 3-4 pellet 1/2 times a day. Feed 6 days per week. Betta can 2 weeks don’t eat one so don’t need scared they hungry
Oh, even if left tap water overnight still need put chlorine remover solution? The seller tell me put a pinch of kitchen salt to overnight tsp water can le... :p haha Where can I get aquarium salt then??? Any specific type better?
Alamak, I think I overfeed le, about 10 pellets each time for 2-3 times since I bought them yesterday.

yihao93

Oh, even if left tap water overnight still need put chlorine remover solution? The seller tell me put a pinch of kitchen salt to overnight tsp water can le... :p haha Where can I get aquarium salt then??? Any specific type better?
Alamak, I think I overfeed le, about 10 pellets each time for 2-3 times since I bought them yesterday.

Yes because tap water overnight remove chlorine only. Not chloroamine. So if u put chrlorine remove Dunid overnight just wait 5minutes and can use.
Aquarium salt just ask for the cheapest one can already. At most 2-3$ .( google oceanfree fine aquarium salt to know what i am talking about) The reason why house salt can’t is cause got iodine. Not good for fish.
Since overfeed Liao I suggest u don’t feed them for 3-5 days first then start feeding again. Let their body slowly digest what u give them first.

foxer77

i been using the "Ocean Free Anti Chlorine " $1 per bottle seem to do the trick too & sea salt selling at $1 to $2.5 per packet at bedok area.

kazuki666

Yes because tap water overnight remove chlorine only. Not chloroamine. So if u put chrlorine remove Dunid overnight just wait 5minutes and can use.
Aquarium salt just ask for the cheapest one can already. At most 2-3$ .( google oceanfree fine aquarium salt to know what i am talking about) The reason why house salt can’t is cause got iodine. Not good for fish.
Since overfeed Liao I suggest u don’t feed them for 3-5 days first then start feeding again. Let their body slowly digest what u give them first.

i been using the "Ocean Free Anti Chlorine " $1 per bottle seem to do the trick too & sea salt selling at $1 to $2.5 per packet at bedok area.

I supposed those pure seat salt for human consumption is not healthy for aquarium fish too?

Anyway, about changing water. As the above picture, its a pretty small tank with a divider for two fishes. Is it better i use a tubing to suck out the dirty cloudy stuff only then top up water, instead of changing the entire tank water?

yihao93

I supposed those pure seat salt for human consumption is not healthy for aquarium fish too?

Anyway, about changing water. As the above picture, its a pretty small tank with a divider for two fishes. Is it better i use a tubing to suck out the dirty cloudy stuff only then top up water, instead of changing the entire tank water?

SEA Salt also ok cos no iodine. Ya better to use tubing to suck out ****. Actually if u want Everyday u can use a small dropper to suck out **** also. When change is 2-3 days 50% change then 1 wk change 100%.

kazuki666

SEA Salt also ok cos no iodine. Ya better to use tubing to suck out ****. Actually if u want Everyday u can use a small dropper to suck out **** also. When change is 2-3 days 50% change then 1 wk change 100%.

I can only find a tube at home now. Maybe i will try to suck out the poo and cloudy stuff and top up water these few days till the water clears up, see how.

A suck like this?
029d54d2-8e6b-471d-b286-4995ee495685.JPG

The sucker is a good idea. Can advise where can find them???

yihao93

I can only find a tube at home now. Maybe i will try to suck out the poo and cloudy stuff and top up water these few days till the water clears up, see how.

A suck like this?

Fish shop. But use tube also can lah just more mafan. Or find small dropper if u have

foxer77

A suck like this?

go daso they sell this small size turkey pump

kazuki666

Ask you all. Since I so noob to buy a male and female by mistake, how difficult is it that I can explore breeding?
I tried Google online, mostly say to watch out for lines on the female fish.

When I remove the divider, it seems like the girl is more excited dashing around than the man who just flare abit that's it. But the male is blowing bubble nest already.

yihao93

Ask you all. Since I so noob to buy a male and female by mistake, how difficult is it that I can explore breeding?
I tried Google online, mostly say to watch out for lines on the female fish.

When I remove the divider, it seems like the girl is more excited dashing around than the man who just flare abit that's it. But the male is blowing bubble nest already.

super duper difficult u need to have a lot more resources , money and time :s12:

foxer77

It take me 2 round of try & reading up from youtube & internet to finally able to breed a successful spawn of fries now current 1st batch ~200 fries at 2 month old and another batch 150 + at 1 month old.

u need all the stuffs ready before starting breeding. Getting them to spawn is easy but the taking care of fries is the difficult part.

As betta fry only eat live food, u need to have BSS ready each day x 2 feeding to x3 fedding to offer them until they reach 1 month old to take tubfiex.

Taking care of them r the tiring part, daily water change , feeding on BBS need afford in hatching them as what yihao mention "lot more resources , money and time".

All this burn me out, i totally give up of going through another round of breeding until i reach retired age, hahaha

This breeding of betta is an experience gain for me.

breeding guppy is more easy...

kazuki666

Hmm sounds uphill for a newbie... But else I end up quite boring with a male and female lor, cannot see them fight flare...

foxer77

u can goggle utube to see the process of betta breeding then u can decide whether to commit on breed.

foxer77

Hmm sounds uphill for a newbie... But else I end up quite boring with a male and female lor, cannot see them fight flare...

buying another fish is less time consuming then breeding them and it would like take 3 to 6 month to reach adult size for betta, since it all depend on the water condition & food.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.