ACCA Students.

at3li3r

after completing your acca, ask for internal transfer to accounting dept. i frequently heard ppl talking about vessel accounting. could be useful in your future career path.

Did check with HR before but she say depend whether our technical director willing to release to account dept..

Seems abit hard for internal transfer..

Jayxis

i will to ask what is accountant general department? and what does their management support officers in the financial administration and control do? is it related to ACCA?

emokia

December 2010 Pass Rates

A record 205,000 students sat papers in December, taking 397,000 papers. 6,420 students completed their final ACCA exams and 2,926 students completed their CAT exams. The pass rates for all papers are as follows:

Paper F1, Accountant in Business, 70%*
Paper F2, Management Accounting, 60%*
Paper F3, Financial Accounting, 60%*
Paper F4, Corporate and Business Law, 44%
Paper F5, Performance Management, 41%
Paper F6, Taxation, 44%
Paper F7, Financial Reporting, 47%
Paper F8, Audit and Assurance, 38%
Paper F9, Financial Management, 40%
Paper P1, Professional Accountant, 51%
Paper P2, Corporate Reporting, 51%
Paper P3, Business Analysis, 48%
Paper P4, Advanced Financial Management, 33%
Paper P5, Advanced Performance Management, 35%
Paper P6, Advanced Taxation, 44%
Paper P7, Advanced Audit and Assurance, 34%

beerbellly

if i will u, i think i will not take up the exemption because later on if u choose advanced audit paper in level 3, u may have problem coping. anyway, u are in banking and finance degree, u should take up CFA not ACCA :)

u just need a professional cert. academic degree is not enough. acca and cfa both are good. ACCA more advance accounting, consultancy and strategies focus, more suitable for consultants and management career. CFA very finance, portfolio management, equity, accounting, macro econs, researches and wealth mgmt, more suitable for banking career.

both certs are of master lvl difficulties.

Biogentic

u just need a professional cert. academic degree is not enough. acca and cfa both are good. ACCA more advance accounting, consultancy and strategies focus, more suitable for consultants and management career. CFA very finance, portfolio management, equity, accounting, macro econs, researches and wealth mgmt, more suitable for banking career.

both certs are of master lvl difficulties.

can share your experience on your economics and finance degree? is it very tough?

hardcorepassion

will big four accept acca

can anyone confirm if the big four will accept an ACCA affiliate (completed all papers)

from previous posts, i read that deloitte and PwC do not accept ACCA affiliates.

this is shocking. is there any truth?

nuky8181

I have friend with acca in pwc. I think getting depend on opening ba. Now is peak period in big 4 so would be tough to get in. Dun think they hv the time and manpower to trian new stuff

sukkieman

Hi guys,

Needed some advise.
Currently taking ACCA, only completed F1-6 and working in Shipping industry for the past 2.5- 3 yrs..

Initially took ACCA because the picture of wking in audit industry seems wonderfull and was inspired by my cousin who worked in PWC... However as i came into this thread and read through other's opinion and experience, it seems working in the big 4 is scary and may not get good money if i cannot stay very long in big 4...

As i may be one who can endure longer working hours but i was tinking whether end of the day, will i be able to make it to like better pay(8-10K) in 10 years' time in accounting/auditing..

Was really struggling whether to give up ACCA and take up a degree in maritime management(3 Year Course) and continue in maritime industry as a long life career which i will not waste my past 2-3 years of working experience or should i continue ACCA?

As from past post, i understand that big 4 only accept complete ACCA and i still have F7-9 and P1-3 and two selective module to go. This would mean it might take another one to two years which i believe it to be two yr(at least) as it seems that P1 paper onwards are extremely tough.

Also ACCA is much more cheaper to take than the maritime degree whcih will cost up to 30-40K with a grant of 5-10K.

Anyone who can has advise??

8-10 years in big4 WILL earn u 10k....

Advnetwk

Actually i pwid for my own 28k education in nus and will pay for my 60k msc. Funny leh, why go uni still need give money? Cannot earn by tutoring meh?

What kind of average living standard u talking about? Got food at hawker very happy liao. Food at high end restaurant means acceptable?

Actually my salary is around 4k. I am just giving examples how to survive with min pay in singapore.

P/s. This week i stayed at home the whole week (off). I took my son to market after dinner to see people play beyblade and he very happy. I every night watch ai i very happy. Pls do not flame me, i just hope to highlight it is not impossible to live with 1k.

So what if u pay for your Uni... U are just lucky that's all...

Living standard.. Your own definition of living standard that is...

Pathetic staying at home... what would your kid feel if their classmates goes on holiday twice a year... And how would your kid feel if their classmates' parents are able to afford enrichment lessons such as piano lessons etc.

apparently, u just do not know time has changed... u are just living in an old era when singapore gained its independence... :s13:

Advnetwk

not really, i mean ddepends on whther than 1k is fixe... when children younger, it is possible. poker money $20 a week enuf le... children going to uni, they need 500/ month, i wonder ho to give 2 children that money if ur pay never rise... firthrmore, i think it is a failure, disgrace and irresponsible for a parent to not provide the child at least an average living standard. to me i think, if u can rise the child, dont give birth.

ya.. this is your own business...
who do u expect to take care for u???
the govt?

@sukkieman

this is life in singapore... no choice... :s7:

@Konnichiwa

obviously, you do not know what sukkieman means...

Advnetwk

The five children I exaggerate.. but my uncle 1k bring up two children. Also, for me, my monthly spending is very little despite having two children. Stay with parents very seldom go out take bus seldom take taxi. Of course I sometimes spend like a lv bag for my wife but if I cannot afford of course won buy.

u are exaggerating, isn't it... or is it u are not telling the truth completely... then it seems we can not give u the benefit of the doubt when u comment on something... :s7:

Advnetwk

Its nearly impossible to survive on 1k unless you dont pay for housing, you don't eat out more than a meal a day, and you only have yourself to upkeep. And if you fall ill, you better pray its not a dreaded disease because you wont even be able to afford the insurance premium co-deductible.

Let me comment that it is a myth that we can live on S$1K or S$1.2K a month...

On average per individual, you need at least S$1.5K or S$1.6K per month to survive...

Petrelli_83

I have friend with acca in pwc. I think getting depend on opening ba. Now is peak period in big 4 so would be tough to get in. Dun think they hv the time and manpower to trian new stuff

Probably was a poly grad who subsequently took on ACCA. But PWC no longer hires poly grads as assistant associates. I am ACCA too, (in pwc now), but i graduated from SMU. So far, have not seen any pure ACCA grads in PwC who weren't poly grads.

Petrelli_83

can anyone confirm if the big four will accept an ACCA affiliate (completed all papers)

from previous posts, i read that deloitte and PwC do not accept ACCA affiliates.

this is shocking. is there any truth?

Usually don't. Unless you have prior working experience. e.g. in KPMG (where they do take in ACCA grads for associate positions)

Advnetwk

My last comment as i do not want to flood the thread.

1. Tuition is a common part time uni ppl do. Can do others, like security guard, which pay more than $80. Of course i not referring to minority such as foreign students.

2. $500 for uni expenses? If not rich, then dun go clubbing. What other activities u want to do? For my uni, i never stepped into starbucks. Ya kun kopi cheaper. The transport cost about 70 per month. Lunch eat in school 3 dollar max.

3. If my son and daughter are smart to go ivy school, then they will have won scholarship like mr wong liao. As i say, i never spend my parent single cent in uni. Tuition loan 100% from nus and still can lend 3.6k per year as living expense. Scholarship dun count. But of course, my view is only restricted to nus oni.

4. I not blaming my parents for not being rich enough to send me to medical school in us or else now i become doctor liao.

Please note i not starting another flame war or against anyone. I just wish to raise awareness living with 1k can be done.

I have one comment for u. You do not know everything so do not use your life story to assume u know everything. :s7:

Biogentic

Probably was a poly grad who subsequently took on ACCA. But PWC no longer hires poly grads as assistant associates. I am ACCA too, (in pwc now), but i graduated from SMU. So far, have not seen any pure ACCA grads in PwC who weren't poly grads.

PWC still hire poly graduate as assistant associate in their SME Audit department. I saw the job ads a few weeks ago.

Advnetwk

@dark_aLLeY

no need to learn from maisatomi... What works for him may not works for u... Take it with a pitch of salt... ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.