ACCA Students.

Shadowbreak

Hi I am interested in enrolling with SAA for ACCA and I was wondering whether you guys could answer a query on entry requirements.

Currently I have a diploma in the IT field regarding website design and animation and finished NS A month ago but I am thinking of switching to accnting. Can I and should I enroll straight to the acca proff. JES or do i need to jump through some hoops first like CAT b4 I start ACCA?

emokia

Hi emokia,

No leh, I only got 56 marks, marginally passed. I tried about 15 questions from exam kit, I did not do any PYQ besides exam kit because it already contains PYQ, so I deemed that it is the same right? lol : ) But i paid a great deal of attention in her class and it helped a lot because the question we did on Kolberg's theory ( I think I spelt wrongly) came out in case study!! I hated that theory so I skipped during my revision but because I remember what Shermeen said so it helped! lol

You were in Andy's Thursday morning class also right? Me too! Andy is such a great teacher!

Wow so we have been classmates for 2 terms yet we have not "met"? lol

Hmm...where do you usually sit during Shermeen's class, left or right? in front or at the back or middle row? : )

56 is very good, keep it up :) i am quite satisfied with my p1 also.

yup, i took andy (thurs am), he's great :)

shermeen class i take centre left.. u?

ah_hui

Hi brothers and sisters,

I need to ask a rather stupid question which has been up my mind, troubling for a while.

As I know, we are not supposed to use correction tape/fluid in the ACCA exam, how do you people overcome that problem?

I tend to make mistakes and then correct here and correct there using correction tape. I took P1 last semester, i disfigured my script quite a bit by cancelling (I really had a hard time not using correction tape) here and there.

But now P3 has calculations added in, might need to prepare cost/benefits statement neatly. I don't know how to survive not using correction tape. Very jia lat right?

And what about those papers with calculations? How do you people handle that?

The reason i asked is because i did not take the ACCA exams for quite a long while, last time we can used correction fluid. That's why i find it so tough to adapt.

Do you think i should go and buy those pen with ink which can erase? Can be used or not?

I know my question sounds lame and I find myself really stupid asking such question but bo-bian I really need an advice.

Thank you.

I started ACCA last Jun. Failed badly. =( This is the first time I heard we cannot use correction fluid.. I used it many times during the Jun 11 Exam. Really cannot use?

crazymee184

hi guys... is there any recommendations as to which papers can be done by self study? am intending to self-study f1,f2,f3 and go for lessons for f5.

Doraemon10

56 is very good, keep it up :) i am quite satisfied with my p1 also.

yup, i took andy (thurs am), he's great :)

shermeen class i take centre left.. u?

I see.. I always sat front left. No wonder "cannot see" you because you were behind me : )

blurbloco

You are most welcome, jia you jia you. : )

May I know which school do you go to? I am contemplating if I should take ACCA. Kind of a personal interest and to prepare a 2nd route just in case Singapore is flooded with Foreign IT "talents".

nerdynerdy

F5, F7 and F8 Lecturers

Hi all,

I'll be taking F5, F7 and F8 and I'm considering between Kaplan and LSBF. But LSBF is SOOOO expensive...

Can someone recommend the good lecturers for these paper in these two schools??

THANKS!!!

keith2085

anyone attended Paul Owen's P1 class from LSBF? Any feedback on him?

And how's the environment of LSBF? Will it change venue frequently?

Doraemon10

May I know which school do you go to? I am contemplating if I should take ACCA. Kind of a personal interest and to prepare a 2nd route just in case Singapore is flooded with Foreign IT "talents".

Hi there!

Yes, we are facing threats from the influx of FTs. So we local have to help each other, ya? : )

Ok, I went to Kaplan, great environment.

However you should also consider which lecturers to go for.

For some reasons, I don't know many of them...

I wil tell you whatever I know oK?

Saminathan S/O Malayandi(LSBF)
ACCA Papers: F5, F7, F9, P2, P4, P5

Andy Tan(Kaplan)
ACCA Papers: P1, P3 (used to teach F1, no more in Yr 2012)

Good luck and take care!

blurbloco

Hi there!

Yes, we are facing threats from the influx of FTs. So we local have to help each other, ya? : )

Ok, I went to Kaplan, great environment.

However you should also consider which lecturers to go for.

For some reasons, I don't know many of them...

I wil tell you whatever I know oK?

Saminathan S/O Malayandi(LSBF)
ACCA Papers: F5, F7, F9, P2, P4, P5

Andy Tan(Kaplan)
ACCA Papers: P1, P3 (used to teach F1, no more in Yr 2012)

Good luck and take care!

I am thinking of SAA (ok, I am lazy, SAA is just walking distance to my home). Is SAA good for ACCA?

IT is filled with FT now, for Every 1 Singaporean IT personal, there are at least 5 foreigners. Most IT personals I know (My peers from U) drop out of IT and join other industries. Reasons? 15 years ago IT manager was paid at least $7k and can look forward to 5 digits salary, now IT managers are like 3 - 4k. If not happy? Replace with FT lor ..... FT for IT are mostly under EP, no quota needed mah .....

blurbloco

Hi I am interested in enrolling with SAA for ACCA and I was wondering whether you guys could answer a query on entry requirements.

Currently I have a diploma in the IT field regarding website design and animation and finished NS A month ago but I am thinking of switching to accnting. Can I and should I enroll straight to the acca proff. JES or do i need to jump through some hoops first like CAT b4 I start ACCA?

Were you at the talk on 19 Nov at SAA? I was there and it sounds quite interesting.

During the talk, it was mentioned that a Diploma from local polytechnic is part of a basic entry requirement.

crazymee184

Were you at the talk on 19 Nov at SAA? I was there and it sounds quite interesting.

During the talk, it was mentioned that a Diploma from local polytechnic is part of a basic entry requirement.

you were there? i was there too! the fun part was when the 2 guys talked about the JES thing!

decided to take it up?

blurbloco

you were there? i was there too! the fun part was when the 2 guys talked about the JES thing!

decided to take it up?

Probably, I am contemplating between an ACCA or a CAT ..... I probably qualify for both. Another route would be UOL degree, but then much more expensive then ACCA..... thinking really hard.

Shadowbreak

Yeah I was there at the talk, I got confused when the speaker kept saying relevant diplomas which made me think that I needed to have a business diploma first b4 entering into ACCA.

blurbloco

Yeah I was there at the talk, I got confused when the speaker kept saying relevant diplomas which made me think that I needed to have a business diploma first b4 entering into ACCA.

No lah, what she said is :

With Relevant Diploma, you can get an exemption up to 3 subjects, F1 to F3.
A Diploma will be viewed as an entry qualification for ACCA.
Business Diploma at most get 2 subjects exemption lor .... only Accounting Diploma gets 3 subjects exemption.

Shadowbreak

No lah, what she said is :

With Relevant Diploma, you can get an exemption up to 3 subjects, F1 to F3.
A Diploma will be viewed as an entry qualification for ACCA.
Business Diploma at most get 2 subjects exemption lor .... only Accounting Diploma gets 3 subjects exemption.

Thanks for clarifying :D

emokia

wanted to take chee and sami ! but both fall on same day. zzzz how is helena teaching style ? exam focus ?

wa.. wasted, are u a full time student?

if yes, maybe u can take 1 full time and 1 part time class, then u can get both of them :)

i came with exemptions, so i wasn't taught by helena. but my friends mentioned that she is good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.