ACCA Students.

MrFlower

basically, sillypore imports these foreign clowns who speak jibberish due to the amt of research papers they (ntu / nus) is able to milk from these cows. (chinese / indian profs and what not, who falls under the catergory of cheap, good, nice)

my prof from israel who taught at ntu for a while has long fled back to his country, another viet cong prof has used our place as a stepping stone to states...

it's unlikely the white men prof will come to sillypore, unless we bundle with them the usual 'post-colonial' package which gives them differential benefits and what not.

(yes, we like all other asian countries... korea, japan, taiwan, china, still suffer from the Man Friday syndrome)

in the most holistic sense, each school at every level of the education institution is to serve and deliver to the students an education which would heighten and enrich their minds and skill set.

however, i know that as a product of the local sillypore system, where streaming (discrimination) starts at an early age (i.e 12 yrs old, PSLE) where u would be labelled, Talent / Special Scheme (RI Pedigree Route), Express Scheme (normal route which shows u are not smart enough or dumb enough) and Normal Scheme (Sorry to say this, but this is the consensus and feedback from the society, Normal Scheme is simply a better name for Condemned ... for life)
someone like Albert Elnstein would as we know, fall into the Normal Scheme, as he was a serious late developer in life, whereby his brilliance was only uncovered when he was in uni and as a clerk in the patents office.

where does this lead us to?

singapore mainstream education continues to be elitist whereby u breed clowns who are presidents of table tennis clubs whereby they have no inking or relevant experience to the said activity (in this case, table tennis) or u breed plump, unattractive daughters of heartland Member of Parliament (who with her years of education in sillypore's privilege would tell you in exact words " please, get out of my elite uncaring face.")

do the people in top know about it?

of course, what do you think???

that's why they only send their kids to ivy leagues while they set up an alternative 'ivy league' for the peasants here and try to do a PR show that we, sillypore is the place to be for the 'ivy league' of the east (that's was the propaganda campaign then from 98-2001)... ST named us the Boston of the East... haha, what a joke, please don't insult my intelligence...

anyway, yes, the foreign clowns they placed in the national uni are basically bought over to be milk for the quantity of research paper, as there is an international standard whereby the ranking of uni internationally is ranked upon by the quantity of research papers those cows write (no wonder, it's not a hard and fast rule that they need to speak a human language, as their job is just to moo and write)

one wonders, how about the quality of research paper? surely, quality is more important than quantity.

err. to answer that question, the quality ones go on to win noble prizes in their relevant fields of research.

but it brings us back to the question...

how are we going to have any quality researchers from our own local system, since we would have placed someone like albert einstein in a normal stream education and condemn him to ITE?

with a sense of buddha-like enlightenment... i realised...

no wonder we need to import professors from overseas, where we buy those that are cheaper...

what an interesting world we live in...

zai_kenca

hey everyone..Kinda need your input and help here..

Would like to clarify if it is possible for someone to take F9 AND P1 in the same sitting or do we have to complete all the Fundamental papers before we can take the Professional papers?

And anyone can recommend lecturers for F7? Who is the best among the better ones for that paper ; Saminathan,Roy Goh, James kwan or Goh Sher Wee?

Taken classes with all except Sami..All three have their strengths and weaknesses.So i would like to hear your inputs guys..Thanks..

hongge

yes you may take F9 and P1 together. They dun link with each other. F7 i have took it with Roy and revision with Sami. Sami is better.

sacrificium

basically, sillypore imports these foreign clowns who speak jibberish due to the amt of research papers they (ntu / nus) is able to milk from these cows. (chinese / indian profs and what not, who falls under the catergory of cheap, good, nice)

my prof from israel who taught at ntu for a while has long fled back to his country, another viet cong prof has used our place as a stepping stone to states...

it's unlikely the white men prof will come to sillypore, unless we bundle with them the usual 'post-colonial' package which gives them differential benefits and what not.

(yes, we like all other asian countries... korea, japan, taiwan, china, still suffer from the Man Friday syndrome)

in the most holistic sense, each school at every level of the education institution is to serve and deliver to the students an education which would heighten and enrich their minds and skill set.

however, i know that as a product of the local sillypore system, where streaming (discrimination) starts at an early age (i.e 12 yrs old, PSLE) where u would be labelled, Talent / Special Scheme (RI Pedigree Route), Express Scheme (normal route which shows u are not smart enough or dumb enough) and Normal Scheme (Sorry to say this, but this is the consensus and feedback from the society, Normal Scheme is simply a better name for Condemned ... for life)
someone like Albert Elnstein would as we know, fall into the Normal Scheme, as he was a serious late developer in life, whereby his brilliance was only uncovered when he was in uni and as a clerk in the patents office.

singapore mainstream education continues to be elitist whereby u breed clowns who are presidents of table tennis clubs whereby they have no inking or relevant experience to the said activity (in this case, table tennis) or u breed plump, unattractive daughters of heartland Member of Parliament (who with her years of education in sillypore's privilege would tell you in exact words " please, get out of my elite uncaring face.")

that's why they only send their kids to ivy leagues while they set up an alternative 'ivy league' for the peasants here and try to do a PR show that we, sillypore is the place to be for the 'ivy league' of the east (that's was the propaganda campaign then from 98-2001)... ST named us the Boston of the East... haha, what a joke, please don't insult my intelligence...

anyway, yes, the foreign clowns they placed in the national uni are basically bought over to be milk for the quantity of research paper, as there is an international standard whereby the ranking of uni internationally is ranked upon by the quantity of research papers those cows write (no wonder, it's not a hard and fast rule that they need to speak a human language, as their job is just to moo and write)

one wonders, how about the quality of research paper? surely, quality is more important than quantity.

err. to answer that question, the quality ones go on to win noble prizes in their relevant fields of research.

how are we going to have any quality researchers from our own local system, since we would have placed someone like albert einstein in a normal stream education and condemn him to ITE?

no wonder we need to import professors from overseas, where we buy those that are cheaper...

Lots of Factual Misstatements..

Biogentic

hey everyone..Kinda need your input and help here..

Would like to clarify if it is possible for someone to take F9 AND P1 in the same sitting or do we have to complete all the Fundamental papers before we can take the Professional papers?

And anyone can recommend lecturers for F7? Who is the best among the better ones for that paper ; Saminathan,Roy Goh, James kwan or Goh Sher Wee?

Taken classes with all except Sami..All three have their strengths and weaknesses.So i would like to hear your inputs guys..Thanks..

f7 best is still sammi, but i think got to give credit to roy too because his lecturer notes are excellent, sammi is using roy lecturer notes.

zai_kenca

Well why not u suggest a better system..If we do not stream the students,how then can we differentiate the weaker from the better ones? Another purpose of streaming is to ensure that students who have disability or less inclined academically can go through the education system that suits their pace. If that kid is really an "einstein" material, be it in special,express or normal, his talent will be discovered..there are people from normal technical streams that made it through ite then poly and eventually went to a university..

zoulster

i am taking F1 onli leh...at SAA by Andy Tan, he is awesome, but i think some points actually he can elaborate further so that student can gain more understanding =)

Aling_80

P6 Lecture

Hiiiiiii

Anyone can give me advice whether P6 under Yvonne is good? I intend to take P6 for Jan'09 intake but dont know whether Goh Sher Wee or Yvonne is better or both not good?
Thx ^o^

supermu

I need some helps/suggestions/opinions! :s12:

For P2, Goh Sher Wee (SAA) or Ben Lee (SAA) is better?

hongge

Hiiiiiii

Anyone can give me advice whether P6 under Yvonne is good? I intend to take P6 for Jan'09 intake but dont know whether Goh Sher Wee or Yvonne is better or both not good?
Thx ^o^

i used to take 2.3 under yvonne. she's ok. for P6 im under Jasmine Ang. she's better.

supermu

Mr James Kuan?

James Kuan's lectures are considered part time and most importantly they are held on weekends. I only can attend lectures on weekdays as I have part time job. :(

Any one taught by Ben Lee/Goh Sher Wee?

Aling_80

i used to take 2.3 under yvonne. she's ok. for P6 im under Jasmine Ang. she's better.

Thx..do u think better take P6 under Yvonne or wait till next term? coz i only can take part-time and the lecture available only Yvonne. I never been taught under her. ^^

zai_kenca

Hiiiiiii

Thx ^o^

Erm Goh Sher Wee claimed that he is the best..So up to u to decide..but he is ok lar..will be able to pass if u take his class..provided of coz u put in effort..

mandiang

Hi everyone ! Currently an University of Bradford Student (B.sc International Business), also taking the ACCA at the same time. HAving my F1 F2 N F3 papers in December 2008.

I have a couple of questions that I was hoping that people can give insights too. I would be very grateful for that.

Questions
Is it advisable to finsih the ACCA as fast as possible ?
I have a problem thinking about the number of modules to take per exam sitting as I have exams every year in March July and November ( 4 papers per exam sitting) and was wondering if how many papers I should take per exam sitting .
Also, is it advisable to combine papers, as in take F5, F6 and F7 immediately due to the changing syallbus since F2 is aso built upon papers F2.. the papers are linked in that way I assume.
The reason why I am contemplating this is that my second year grades are the ones that count towards the classification of my degree , so I am afraid that if I take too many ACCA Modules I am unable to cope with the quality of my grades for the degree . Any advice anyone ?

Also any reccomendations regarding law lecturers ? ( From FTC or SAA ) ? iS Mr Ho Meng Hee good ?
Also how about Edgar Wong versus Saminathan ?
How about Mr James Kwan ? THanks a lot guys ! Cheers

Would future employers/HR managers put an emphasis on grades or qualifications ?

Biogentic

Hi everyone ! Currently an University of Bradford Student (B.sc International Business), also taking the ACCA at the same time. HAving my F1 F2 N F3 papers in December 2008.

I have a couple of questions that I was hoping that people can give insights too. I would be very grateful for that.

Questions
I have a problem thinking about the number of modules to take per exam sitting as I have exams every year in March July and November ( 4 papers per exam sitting) and was wondering if how many papers I should take per exam sitting .
Also, is it advisable to combine papers, as in take F5, F6 and F7 immediately due to the changing syallbus since F2 is aso built upon papers F2.. the papers are linked in that way I assume.
The reason why I am contemplating this is that my second year grades are the ones that count towards the classification of my degree , so I am afraid that if I take too many ACCA Modules I am unable to cope with the quality of my grades for the degree . Any advice anyone ?

Also any reccomendations regarding law lecturers ? ( From FTC or SAA ) ? iS Mr Ho Meng Hee good ?

Would future employers/HR managers put an emphasis on grades or qualifications ?

i feel that taking 3papers of level 2 acca full-time is already very hard to cope, lol you still want to add in a degree... maybe i am stupid lar... but you can try... just want to let you know, level 1 acca is no way near to level 2 acca papers...

pokster

if u think lvl 2 is hard... wait till u get to lvl 3... now losing sleep over it... P2 sucks man.. if anyone taking P2 now... do remember to study all the theory!!! apparently 50% of the paper is theory =(

btw... i'm not idea how edgar wong is... but i'm currently with sami, and i feel that he's not v.good.. maybe coz of his style i dun like... michiam not professional enough..donno how to explain... perhaps i'm too used to roy goh

Petrelli_83

Questions

wah,a bit too ambitious. I'm taking 2 papers. F7 and F8, and i'm already dying under the workload. but i started late lah. Only got 3 months to study. Think i probably won't be able to finish. Anyway, depends on what kind of job you're looking for. Most jobs not considered prestigious put emphasis on experience, those prestgious ones consider both grades and university reputation, AND experience. Pardon the straightforward and potentially condescending remark i'm going to make, don't take offence, i mean well, but you're on a DL degree program, it's advisable to gun for the highest honours possible. People have trouble finding jobs with a good honours in DL programs, let alone a poor honours, or worse, no honours. Definition of prestigious: IBs, MAs programs etc. Non Prestigious: Banking ops, auditing, tax, sales and marketing in a normal firm, HR in a normal firm etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.