ACCA Students.

Biogentic

if u think lvl 2 is hard... wait till u get to lvl 3... now losing sleep over it... P2 sucks man.. if anyone taking P2 now... do remember to study all the theory!!! apparently 50% of the paper is theory =(

btw... i'm not idea how edgar wong is... but i'm currently with sami, and i feel that he's not v.good.. maybe coz of his style i dun like... michiam not professional enough..donno how to explain... perhaps i'm too used to roy goh

i find it hard because last few mths didnt put in effort to study... keep going home and sleep after class, never made real effort to study. coming level 3, everyday is a must to study... wow i dunnoe P2 sammi is that bad... lol, i had already signed up for his class...

PPPPPPP

wah,a bit too ambitious. I'm taking 2 papers. F7 and F8, and i'm already dying under the workload. but i started late lah. Only got 3 months to study. Think i probably won't be able to finish. Anyway, depends on what kind of job you're looking for. Most jobs not considered prestigious put emphasis on experience, those prestgious ones consider both grades and university reputation, AND experience. Pardon the straightforward and potentially condescending remark i'm going to make, don't take offence, i mean well, but you're on a DL degree program, it's advisable to gun for the highest honours possible. People have trouble finding jobs with a good honours in DL programs, let alone a poor honours, or worse, no honours. Definition of prestigious: IBs, MAs programs etc. Non Prestigious: Banking ops, auditing, tax, sales and marketing in a normal firm, HR in a normal firm etc.

Is IB even hiring still? Many students whom signed up with Wharton, with the intention of becoming IBankers are now struggling to compete for consultancy jobs. Worse still, they are heavily in debt. With the current financial crisis and the banking sector being the worst hit, I think its safe enough to say that IB is a thing of the past..

Petrelli_83

Is IB even hiring still? Many students whom signed up with Wharton, with the intention of becoming IBankers are now struggling to compete for consultancy jobs. Worse still, they are heavily in debt. With the current financial crisis and the banking sector being the worst hit, I think its safe enough to say that IB is a thing of the past..

Even holdings banks got their respective IB divisions mah. Maybe there's retrenchment and hiring freeze, but lilfe goes on and those who are lucky enough to remain may get a smaller remuneration package. But it won't die off lah. Where there's money to be made, there are always banks who would do IB. Just have a less risky strategy lor. No more excessive leveraging, no more of those junk mortgages. There are still many good stocks to buy. No bank will get rich just lending money, all the rich people want to put their money where's there's above average profit to be made. Surely there's an IB division to support the wealth management division. There are still hedge funds investing in less risky portfolios etc. Your statement a bit extreme.

PPPPPPP

Even holdings banks got their respective IB divisions mah. Maybe there's retrenchment and hiring freeze, but lilfe goes on and those who are lucky enough to remain may get a smaller remuneration package. But it won't die off lah. Where there's money to be made, there are always banks who would do IB. Just have a less risky strategy lor. No more excessive leveraging, no more of those junk mortgages. There are still many good stocks to buy. No bank will get rich just lending money, all the rich people want to put their money where's there's above average profit to be made. Surely there's an IB division to support the wealth management division. There are still hedge funds investing in less risky portfolios etc. Your statement a bit extreme.

i would think in the past already so diff to get into IB. now with the current downsizing and hiring freeze, competition will be even stiffer, e.g. in the pass top 10% make it, now cut to 5% the remaining 5% go into areas like consultancy. the funnel is being squeezed from top down..all affected.

frenz in credit suisse getting pay cut no bonus (which was a substantial portion)..no more golden peacock..quite jia lat. now all the rich people holding cash scared to invest, credit squeeze marh.

Petrelli_83

i would think in the past already so diff to get into IB. now with the current downsizing and hiring freeze, competition will be even stiffer, e.g. in the pass top 10% make it, now cut to 5% the remaining 5% go into areas like consultancy. the funnel is being squeezed from top down..all affected.

frenz in credit suisse getting pay cut no bonus (which was a substantial portion)..no more golden peacock..quite jia lat. now all the rich people holding cash scared to invest, credit squeeze marh.

Agree. Temasek also cutting pay. I got an ominous feeling Big4 is going to introduce pay cuts soon. As if promotion freeze is not bad enough. Sian to the max. Next time when economy picks up, u realize the one who got in one year later than u is promoting the same time as you. What can be worse man.

missotah

petrellis83, u smu grad right, how many acca paper you have to take?

aiyo i got friends in credit suisse leh, dun tell me they getting pay cut and no bonus?

Aling_80

Hi everyone ! Currently an University of Bradford Student (B.sc International Business), also taking the ACCA at the same time. HAving my F1 F2 N F3 papers in December 2008.

I have a couple of questions that I was hoping that people can give insights too. I would be very grateful for that.

Questions
any reccomendations regarding law lecturers ? ( From FTC or SAA ) ? iS Mr Ho Meng Hee good ?
Also how about Edgar Wong versus Saminathan ?
How about Mr James Kwan ? THanks a lot guys ! Cheers

Would future employers/HR managers put an emphasis on grades or qualifications ?

Talking about lectures...Edgar vs Sami: Sami better than Edgar...I dont really like Edgar's teaching style. James Kwan's notes are excellent, very detail and neat..if you have time to study all, that's good..But i'm a last minute person so not appropriate..For me, with James, really feel stress as many homeworks and his class damn long..i ever go home till late at nite..^^

Aling_80

Hiiiiiii

Anyone can give me advice whether P6 under Yvonne is good? I intend to take P6 for Jan'09 intake but dont know whether Goh Sher Wee or Yvonne is better or both not good?
Thx ^o^

Thx for all the comments that I've received. I've already decided to take P4 instead of P6. B4 that, must to ensure pass the dec'08 exams..hehehehe...ganbatteeeee....

hongge

p4 ah~ hmm... definately tougher than p6.

actually the tip to pass all acca exams is to attend revision class! definately helps alot but you must have extra $$ for tat

alexyj

hi all.. need some advice.. i will be taking F4 and F5 and SAA next term.. just wondering whether the tutorial classes and revision classes will be beneficial? anyway the lecturers are Tan Peng Kwee(F4) and James Kwan(F5) thanks all

supermu

hi all.. need some advice.. i will be taking F4 and F5 and SAA next term.. just wondering whether the tutorial classes and revision classes will be beneficial? anyway the lecturers are Tan Peng Kwee(F4) and James Kwan(F5) thanks all

not sure abt F4 but imo, you need to do lotsa practice for f5 so tutorial and revision will definitely help. James Kwan is good and he will make you do lotsa lotsa questions! :s22:

alexyj

not sure abt F4 but imo, you need to do lotsa practice for f5 so tutorial and revision will definitely help. James Kwan is good and he will make you do lotsa lotsa questions! :s22:

thanks supermu.. appreciated your advice.. decided to take up tut and revision for both.. haha

barbieloo

hi all,

thanks supermu.. appreciated your advice.. decided to take up tut and revision for both.. haha

whose lecture to take for f4 at SAA? Heard that Mr.Tan Peng kwee is too fast....Can i go for Mr.Adrian Hoa or Mr.Ho meng hee? pls do recommend me......thanks.......

supermu

whose lecture to take for f4 at SAA? Heard that Mr.Tan Peng kwee is too fast....Can i go for Mr.Adrian Hoa or Mr.Ho meng hee? pls do recommend me......

i took Tan Peng Kwee's lecture and he is really fast. hmm i heard from those chinese students that Adrian Hoa is pretty gd.

charzzy

Between P4 Advanced Financial Management and P5 Advanced Performance Management, which one would you choose or which is easier? Haha

Kinda having a dilemma now ever since I took the killer F9 Financial management paper last Thursday. Got to think twice about taking advanced fm.

Crisis

Can i sneak into a lecture....haha...okay i know, i'm a cheapo. but c'mon, not everyone can afford the school fees. :o:s22::s8:

its best u do not attempt, its is a chargeable offense if your caught, worst u can get your qualifications disqualified by ACCA which means your previous attempts will be lifted and black listed.

the lightest i've seen is a fine of $300 & not reported to authorities in the native country. The highest i've seen was charged for trespassing in court.

it becomes a risk you've have to take

mybiscuits

Can i sneak into a lecture....haha...okay i know, i'm a cheapo. but c'mon, not everyone can afford the school fees. :o:s22::s8:

can! u subscribe one then u go for 2 haha......if theres anything wrong just said u went to the wrong class....best is if u can randomly crash diff classes by diff tutors so that cant track u.
budden this forum is sponsored by kaplan, there should be moles.... u can try saa haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.