ACCA Students.

maisatomai

I signed up for F5 and F6 as private candidate.

Can anyone please tell me whether some numbers are provided in the F6 exam? Like tax relief. >55 years old $3000 <55 years old $1000. So many different number how to remember?

jason2010

Can anyone please tell me whether some numbers are provided in the F6 exam? Like tax relief. >55 years old $3000 <55 years old $1000. So many different number how to remember?

i guess u need to remember.

zonglin18

Personal tax reliefs table is given, check it out here:

http://www.accaglobal.com/pubs/students/acca/exams/f6/past_papers/sgp/f6sgp_2010_jun_q.pdf

It is Jun10 question paper, take a look at page 2 and 3. Those figures and tables that are given to candidates are there. The rest you might have to remember, but remember only those "important", don't waste your time remembering those least important.

sasori_12345

hey guys i got a question to ask.

when calculating interest on capital on current account, does the opening balance of current account need to be added with the capital amount ? or just the capital amount ?

VitaminE

p2

anyone has tips or how to study p2 to pass it at first attempt? i find that p2 is very hard for me.... :s11:

babyblueskiez

Part Time Vs Full TIme?

Hi all,

I'm looking for acca discussion forum the whole night until i saw this discussion forum which is still active till now.

I'm currently taking ACCA f2 & f3 part time at Kaplan. But am thinking of converting to full time during the January intake. One thing i'm not sure is what's the difference between full and part time? Just the afternoon and night class difference? Or full time classes will have longer hours of studies compared to part time? Please help if anyone has any idea. Thanks.

orcy93

Still hv the below textbooks to sell off. Sms me@ 8188425 thxs.

- BPP F5 09/10 study kit ($25)
- BPP F5 09/10 exam kit ($15)
- BPP Passcard 2010 ($5)

zonglin18

Hi all,

I'm looking for acca discussion forum the whole night until i saw this discussion forum which is still active till now.

I'm currently taking ACCA f2 & f3 part time at Kaplan. But am thinking of converting to full time during the January intake. One thing i'm not sure is what's the difference between full and part time? Just the afternoon and night class difference? Or full time classes will have longer hours of studies compared to part time? Please help if anyone has any idea. Thanks.

You local hor?

Full time and part time, the difference is only day/afternoon class and night class. If you are taking Kaplan, no difference in lesson hours, 3 hours standard. If you are taking SAA, lesson hours about 1/2 hour difference, 4 hours for day class, usually 3.5 hours for night class. Another difference, you see more international students in full time class, more local and adults in part time class.

Zorrotan

hi anyone selling their revision class notes from jan 2010 f1 - f3? i m interested to buy! pls pm me!

ukiake

Selling F9 ( June 2010) Study Text & Exam Kit @ $40. New condition, interested pls sms 90608351.

babyblueskiez

You local hor?

Full time and part time, the difference is only day/afternoon class and night class. If you are taking Kaplan, no difference in lesson hours, 3 hours standard. If you are taking SAA, lesson hours about 1/2 hour difference, 4 hours for day class, usually 3.5 hours for night class. Another difference, you see more international students in full time class, more local and adults in part time class.
Ya, am local. Oh.. Haha.. I see. Okay, cus i thought full time will have longer class duration or something. So i guess there's no differnce. Thanks for the info :)

raoul7370

Ya, am local. Oh.. Haha.. I see. Okay, cus i thought full time will have longer class duration or something. So i guess there's no differnce. Thanks for the info :)

Worth checking a few other things. May find that full time classes have a lot more students in than part-time. These full time classes are designed to meet visa rules so are aimed at international students. Part time is aimed more at those with jobs (so evening and weekend typically).

Some schools will give full timers longer course for their money, because being international they may not have much work income, and language may mean they need longer to understand teaching in English.

Also, some part time classes are shorter because students want shorter (due to job concerns), and because smaller class size allows faster teaching pace.

Try both - mix and match!

raoul7370

New ACCA school

There is a new ACCA and MBA school opening in Singapore. They aren't teaching yet, but will start in January. They have to wait for accreditation to be finished, but have got a campus already in CBD next to Raffles Place. They might even do revision classes before Dec exams.
They have thousands of students in London and are Kaplan's main competitor there - I know lots of their students in UK and they are worried best tutors will disappear to Singapore!

But I think they will try to steal best local tutors as well?

They are called LSBF.

raoul7370

hi, any one know whether the audit textbook is usuable to study for exam? From my knowledge, the book was being published for international usage, which means not singapore variant. Thx.

The International Audit Standards and the Singapore standards are really similar. Auditing is pretty similar worldwide.

Just bear in mind that if doing Sg audit variant, you are auditing accounts that follow Sg accounting standards not IFRS (although again, not many differences).

Also, the Sg variant paper might try to test local Sg audit-related laws (e.g. appointment, removal, audit exemption) - but a careful analysis of past papers shows the Sg and INT questions and answers are as close to identical as you can get!

raoul7370

okie...but what are the papers that have a higher passing rate? :X...

not a good way to look at it. Just because the average student finds one paper easier to pass than another, this does not mean you will!

Also, pass rates vary from sitting to sitting anyway.

F5 has been bad but now F7 seems to be a problem. ACCA website has opened up "microsites" for F5, F7 and F8 (no doubt other papers will follow), suggesting those 3 examiners are the most concerned with the quality of answers :(

raoul7370

sian..pass my F3 62% but failed my F5 46%..goin to retake liao..

There's goin to be a major syllabus overhaul nxt yr so die die must pass my F5 & F6 this year.

Actually, the "overhaul" is not so bad on most papers. Don't let it worry you too much.

There is a student forum in UK called www.accountancystudents.co.uk where this has been discussed a bit - look for posts by Clare Finch.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.