ACCA Students.

Drofnats

Dear training director,

I urge you to take this email very seriously. With all due respect and good intent, I want to make known my grievances. I am a student under lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn for the F5C classes and am highly dissatisfied with various issues.

1) Bad dates

I question the lecturer's level of devotion to this sacred occupation of teaching. I understand that he is undergoing further studies to achieve his doctorate. And basically, when I first enrolled for the course, the dates were neat and ideal. But after signing the contract with SAA-GE, we were abruptly informed of his new schedule. I also understand that we were given the options of transfer but they were obviously found to be less ideal. That is the reason we enrolled with lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn in the first place. And needless to say, the new schedule as put forward to us by him were ridiculously arranged and very irregular, leaving gaps with no classes every once in a while. This makes learning much less effective on the whole. Classes are held almost every weekend, and public holidays too - National day and Hari Raya. I am very inquisitive as to whether he knew before hand about his study plans and how they would gravely interfere with the original schedule he put forward to the public. How can an extensive programme such as doctoral studies be impromptu like in this way? This is deemed undisputedly unprofessional and irresponsible. We have since come to terms with the change but that leads me to the next point.

2) Lecture conduct

Lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn has an appalling stance towards curriculum timings. Breaks are very poorly arranged. If classes would start at 6.45 and due to end at 9.45, he allows the break at 9pm. The break lasts only 5 minutes or no more than 10. Does he not know that people hurriedly come to school straight from work and sometimes without dinner as well? All these to show we are ernest in observing his rules but yet he holds our welfare in total disregard. Has he considered people with gastric issues at all? His classes would without fail, end at 10.30 or worse - 10.45, as opposed to 9.45. Speaking about this issue in class, he clearly showed that he was adamant about observing the clock.

"When I want to do something, I am very determined. And if I want to finish a question, I will finish it. So if you all still give non response to my questions, be prepared to go home at 11. You can ask my previous batch of students. They go home at 11 or even later."

He seemed proud about his wayward antics and I beseech the school and the relevant people in power to straighten out such atrocities. We all have our personal life to live. But the event of not having the last train to catch is most agonising. Who then will pay for the taxi fares? Him?

I also want to draw his attention as to why he, unlike every other lecturer, finds himself unable to really be thorough and yet still accomplish on time. He continually digresses off the topic. He is easily distracted with his past experiences and emotions as well. I cannot tell you how many times I and many others turned blue in the face listening to him tell tales of far ends when the clock is ticking towards 10.40. After which he quickly scans through the most important parts of the topic. Absolutely a very distracted teacher that I will never recommend to my friends. It is ironical how he stresses the importance of turning up on time for classes but yet neglects the cessation of it to no end.

3) Teaching and teaching materials

His method of teaching includes the perfect use of the 'visualiser'. Every session, he comes to class with pre-written templates of the answers to be explained to us. I emphasize the use of the word template because the sheets of 'answers' he would flash on the screen is incomplete. He unveils the template line by line, we are required to calculate the answers that would then properly furnish the stipulated workings to be performed. Teaching on his part would be to point at his nearly blank sheet of paper; is this how he saves the time of actually preparing and the meticulously coarse calculation that he would then have to do on the white board? And does he conveniently reuse the same materials in this fashion that for every batch of student? The work he does is obnoxiously slipshod and unacceptable. We are after all still students and not of an MBA level.

In addition, I notice Jxxxx Xxxn to be a very temperamental person. He is very short fused and I am completely convinced that he does not possess qualities of love and care a genuine teacher has. When he shoots questions in all solemness, the class is stunned and occasionally, we are unable to respond to his questions. He then flies into a rage, blaming us for disinterest in studying - how is that fair? While there are some degree holders in our batch, we cannot expect everybody to be as bright as he is. He has done it not once, not twice but countless times. Our inability to answer his questions then indubitably leads him to drag the classes for an even longer duration until something is conjured.

Note also that he would call us by appearance and wrong answers are critically rebuked. I sincerely hope you understand what it is to sit through that kind of a class. The learning environment is almost absent. This is practically very disruptive and detrimental to us students. I doubt such a harsh bearing on pupils of any age will work to produce good results.

But here is the most acute and ailing problem of all. I want you to see that we have paid for this course and along with it, rightfully comes every single sheet of printed matter there is. I am positively sure that you would agree wholly with me. While his call for us to attempt the questions before viewing the answers is not entirely unappreciated, I strongly censure his act of withholding our solution booklet. Is that not akin to robbery? I try hard not to think of what other use he might have with our materials. The printed solutions are of dire importance. It helps a great deal in self study but he keeps the printed matter away many lectures past the allotted time. Only after persistent but polite pesters did he finally distribute the first set of printed solutions to the questions issued. Second and subsequent sets are still not given. It is already September and we are feeling desperate. There is no way we can single handedly solve the questions and present it to him and then only obtain the solution booklet like he dictates. This is highly illogical as it clearly defeats the purpose of the solution booklet. He should have the basic courtesy to respect us as adults and leave the studying to us. We have after all paid for school fees which do not come cheap and therefore have every incentive to pass.

4) People to people.

Before the break today, we were doing past year examination questions. He flashed the solution to this particular THEORY question. It was a whole chunk so long and verbose. Using speed reading and summarisation techniques like I was taught, I quickly jotted down all the important content in point form as he walked around the class. On a side note, I have a perpetual habit of pen fiddling. I would twirl my pen around my fingers in a undisruptive but fanciful fashion when in deep thought.

At my table, lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn chided me for not copying the whole paragraph of answer he presented to us and he typically cited reasons of disinterest in his lectures. Later at his desk, he disdainfully remarked that he disliked the pen twirling habit of mine and that I would have to stop or it "change class". I was totally stubbed. I was lost for words. I think that this tyrannical behavior so brazen, has no place in our acclaimed 1st world society. Will it suffice to mean that I should not wear a pair of green jeans or do anything personal that is to his displeasure?

Coupled to the fact of attack on personal will, he blatantly told us that we should not be spotted at places of leisure such as Orchard Road, or the National Day parade on National Day and that being spotted by him will result in consequences.

Today, I have come to his lesson, for the last time. My purpose was to inform him about my predicament. Situation has it that I have not passed my CAT by a sad margin and so I will have to revert back to CAT classes. Fees for Jxxxx Xxxn's regular classes have been refunded BUT fees for his tutorial lessons are not available for refund. I therefore have been attending those tutorial lessons. Shortly into break time and before commencement I sorted his advice as to whether I should continue to sit through his lessons (though unofficial) because of my ongoing tutorial classes. I was eager to learn and I hope for a better head start next year when I resume ACCA classes. If that was not possible I suggested that that would be then be the last lesson for me. But his lack of gracefulness led him to demand I leave the class right then; so I left, in front of everybody. I highly doubt the possibility of spot checks on his students neither do I believe that I was causing a disturbance to the class. Many lecturers actually offer external unpaid help even outside official curriculum times, those I truly respect. But James is a stark contrast.

I am saddened by the fact that his hefty stash of qualifications did not make him any better at social relations and civil etiquette. He was the one who set out that nobody should ever pick their bags and leave the room before he was done teaching, no matter how late it was. But as I gingerly packed my things like I was told, he unabashedly waved his hands high and beckoned, hastening me to leave the room. What professionalism do we speak about here? Many of us have already been through national service and are already working class adults. I only ask that he treats us as human beings and not in a manner of running nursery. While we are students, I should like to say that this tertiary education is comparable that of a service industry. I have just taken a student survey and, is the level of approachability and helpfulness of a lecturer not on the criteria?

Who is he to rule that nobody should leave his room before he finishes up on his poorly timely blabber when parents/spouses are waiting by the roadside to fetch us home?

Many students live in fear and dissatisfaction and they do not voice out for fear of trouble or a soured relationship.

"He treats us like criminals"
-anonymous

If the recipient of this message is unable to properly and cleanly deal with this situation, please direct it to somebody of greater authority. I definitely WILL pursue this to a higher level if need be.

Regards
Xxxxxxx Xxx
9xxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx88@hotmail.com

Dear training director,

I urge you to take this email very seriously. With all due respect and good intent, I want to make known my grievances. I am a student under lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn for the F5C classes and am highly dissatisfied with various issues.

1) Bad dates

I question the lecturer's level of devotion to this sacred occupation of teaching. I understand that he is undergoing further studies to achieve his doctorate. And basically, when I first enrolled for the course, the dates were neat and ideal. But after signing the contract with SAA-GE, we were abruptly informed of his new schedule. I also understand that we were given the options of transfer but they were obviously found to be less ideal. That is the reason we enrolled with lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn in the first place. And needless to say, the new schedule as put forward to us by him were ridiculously arranged and very irregular, leaving gaps with no classes every once in a while.

I agree this is not ideal. but you should have directed your displeasure at SAA.

SAA did not fulfill their part of the bargain by approving the change in the timetables so students did not get what they signed up for i.e. the schedule times.

Their disclaimer will not be useful if the change in dates are so fundamentally different from what was initially published. You should complain to that council of private education

This makes learning much less effective on the whole. Classes are held almost every weekend, and public holidays too - National day and Hari Raya. I am very inquisitive as to whether he knew before hand about his study plans and how they would gravely interfere with the original schedule he put forward to the public. How can an extensive programme such as doctoral studies be impromptu like in this way? This is deemed undisputedly unprofessional and irresponsible. We have since come to terms with the change but that leads me to the next point.

There is nothing wrong having the lesson on the weekends or public holidays lah. At least you will be fresh after a good rest. When i attended his F5/F9 lectures, i was always relieved it was conducted over the weekend. I think the problem is not the weekend schedules, but it is the bunching up of dates back to back whereby you have to squeeze and absorb so much details.

SInce it is SAA who approved the change in dates, and the change in dates are so fundamentally different, you can complain to the council.

2) Lecture conduct

Lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn has an appalling stance towards curriculum timings. Breaks are very poorly arranged. If classes would start at 6.45 and due to end at 9.45, he allows the break at 9pm. The break lasts only 5 minutes or no more than 10. Does he not know that people hurriedly come to school straight from work and sometimes without dinner as well? All these to show we are ernest in observing his rules but yet he holds our welfare in total disregard. Has he considered people with gastric issues at all? His classes would without fail, end at 10.30 or worse - 10.45, as opposed to 9.45. Speaking about this issue in class, he clearly showed that he was adamant about observing the clock.

aiya.. you also know you have gastric issues, and you do have the schedule in advance, you mean you cannot prepare snacks in advance meh.

"When I want to do something, I am very determined. And if I want to finish a question, I will finish it. So if you all still give non response to my questions, be prepared to go home at 11. You can ask my previous batch of students. They go home at 11 or even later."

At least you are assured that he is dedicated and geniunely wants to give his all during a lecture. I see nothing wrong with that. I mean if the lecturer is so intent on ensuring he did a good job, shouldn't the student be just as driven and dedicated?

He seemed proud about his wayward antics and I beseech the school and the relevant people in power to straighten out such atrocities. We all have our personal life to live. But the event of not having the last train to catch is most agonising. Who then will pay for the taxi fares? Him?

Come'on lah, don't be so dramatic can or not? ending the lecture at 11pm will still allow you to take the mrt home ok.

Atrocities? wah that word too strong don't you think? How would families of those millions slaughtered in real atrocities feel if they think an ACCA student termed treatment like this as atrocities?

I also want to draw his attention as to why he, unlike every other lecturer, finds himself unable to really be thorough and yet still accomplish on time. He continually digresses off the topic. He is easily distracted with his past experiences and emotions as well.

I don't believe he digresses from topic lah. His anecdotes and past experiences have always been connected to the lecture topic being taught. I promised you if you want a lecturer who continually digresses from the lecture you will find him in SAA. Then you will know what "digressing from lecture proper" means lor. :s13:

I cannot tell you how many times I and many others turned blue in the face listening to him tell tales of far ends when the clock is ticking towards 10.40. After which he quickly scans through the most important parts of the topic. Absolutely a very distracted teacher that I will never recommend to my friends. It is ironical how he stresses the importance of turning up on time for classes but yet neglects the cessation of it to no end.

haha... frankly you are the first person i know who thinks he is distracted :s22:.. most thought he was too focused and demanding that they dare not sign up for his lectures.

3) Teaching and teaching materials

His method of teaching includes the perfect use of the 'visualiser'. Every session, he comes to class with pre-written templates of the answers to be explained to us. I emphasize the use of the word template because the sheets of 'answers' he would flash on the screen is incomplete. He unveils the template line by line, we are required to calculate the answers that would then properly furnish the stipulated workings to be performed. Teaching on his part would be to point at his nearly blank sheet of paper; is this how he saves the time of actually preparing and the meticulously coarse calculation that he would then have to do on the white board?

Wah.. :s11: this you also want to complain??

Every lecturer style is different mah. He plays hide hide seek seek because he wants students to actually do some legwork instead of blindly copying. Trust me, all good ACCA lecturers attempt questions on a blank sheet so that students know how to tackle a question. so to this end, he's already prepared before hand. I actually prefer a blank sheet way. it's all about preferences.

And does he conveniently reuse the same materials in this fashion that for every batch of student? The work he does is obnoxiously slipshod and unacceptable. We are after all still students and not of an MBA level.

First time I am hearing he is slipshod :s31:.. the real slipshod ones already "game over" liao.

In addition, I notice Jxxxx Xxxn to be a very temperamental person. He is very short fused and I am completely convinced that he does not possess qualities of love and care a genuine teacher has. When he shoots questions in all solemness, the class is stunned and occasionally, we are unable to respond to his questions. He then flies into a rage, blaming us for disinterest in studying - how is that fair? While there are some degree holders in our batch, we cannot expect everybody to be as bright as he is. He has done it not once, not twice but countless times. Our inability to answer his questions then indubitably leads him to drag the classes for an even longer duration until something is conjured.

Note also that he would call us by appearance and wrong answers are critically rebuked. I sincerely hope you understand what it is to sit through that kind of a class. The learning environment is almost absent. This is practically very disruptive and detrimental to us students. I doubt such a harsh bearing on pupils of any age will work to produce good results.

But here is the most acute and ailing problem of all. I want you to see that we have paid for this course and along with it, rightfully comes every single sheet of printed matter there is. I am positively sure that you would agree wholly with me. While his call for us to attempt the questions before viewing the answers is not entirely unappreciated, I strongly censure his act of withholding our solution booklet. Is that not akin to robbery? I try hard not to think of what other use he might have with our materials. The printed solutions are of dire importance. It helps a great deal in self study but he keeps the printed matter away many lectures past the allotted time. Only after persistent but polite pesters did he finally distribute the first set of printed solutions to the questions issued. Second and subsequent sets are still not given. It is already September and we are feeling desperate. There is no way we can single handedly solve the questions
and present it to him and then only obtain the solution booklet like he dictates.

This is highly illogical as it clearly defeats the purpose of the solution booklet. He should have the basic courtesy to respect us as adults and leave the studying to us. We have after all paid for school fees which do not come cheap and therefore have every incentive to pass.

4) People to people.

Before the break today, we were doing past year examination questions. He flashed the solution to this particular THEORY question. It was a whole chunk so long and verbose. Using speed reading and summarisation techniques like I was taught, I quickly jotted down all the important content in point form as he walked around the class. On a side note, I have a perpetual habit of pen fiddling. I would twirl my pen around my fingers in a undisruptive but fanciful fashion when in deep thought.

At my table, lecturer Jxxxx Xxxn chided me for not copying the whole paragraph of answer he presented to us and he typically cited reasons of disinterest in his lectures. Later at his desk, he disdainfully remarked that he disliked the pen twirling habit of mine and that I would have to stop or it "change class". I was totally stubbed. I was lost for words. I think that this tyrannical behavior so brazen, has no place in our acclaimed 1st world society. Will it suffice to mean that I should not wear a pair of green jeans or do anything personal that is to his displeasure?

Coupled to the fact of attack on personal will, he blatantly told us that we should not be spotted at places of leisure such as Orchard Road, or the National Day parade on National Day and that being spotted by him will result in consequences.

aiyooo don't take it so seriously leh. he is just saying only. You think he is so free meh..

Today, I have come to his lesson, for the last time. My purpose was to inform him about my predicament. Situation has it that I have not passed my CAT by a sad margin and so I will have to revert back to CAT classes. Fees for Jxxxx Xxxn's regular classes have been refunded BUT fees for his tutorial lessons are not available for refund. I therefore have been attending those tutorial lessons. Shortly into break time and before commencement I sorted his advice as to whether I should continue to sit through his lessons (though unofficial) because of my ongoing tutorial classes. I was eager to learn and I hope for a better head start next year when I resume ACCA classes. If that was not possible I suggested that that would be then be the last lesson for me.

But his lack of gracefulness led him to demand I leave the class right then; so I left, in front of everybody. I highly doubt the possibility of spot checks on his students neither do I believe that I was causing a disturbance to the class.

wah.. you really a super champion leh! you attended his class after officially withdrawing. you should have told him first before attending right??

Of course he asked you to leave lah! You seriously do not think you are in the wrong meh?

at least you told him before hand and he allows, it is still ok. knn if i am one of your classmates, i will boot you out lor!

Many lecturers actually offer external unpaid help even outside official curriculum times, those I truly respect. But James is a stark contrast.

yeah lah like you mentioned.."external" help. you withdrew from the class, got your money back and still want to attend.

if you know you want to attend, then you should not have withdrawn mah. Waaa you think you can have your cake and eat it is it????

What i dont get is, you already so unhappy in his class, then when you have withdrawn liao you still want to attend for what? Just show that you are so gian peng!

And please hor, don't tell us stories about you wanting to learn etc. ASk you to do calculation in class etc you already kpkb, don't talk about you revising F5 at home lah.

I am saddened by the fact that his hefty stash of qualifications did not make him any better at social relations and civil etiquette.

aiyah you are biased lah. i totally disagree because he is a nice person socially who has a different persona from his lecturer game face.

He was the one who set out that nobody should ever pick their bags and leave the room before he was done teaching, no matter how late it was. But as I gingerly packed my things like I was told, he unabashedly waved his hands high and beckoned, hastening me to leave the room. What professionalism do we speak about here?

Many of us have already been through national service and are already working class adults. I only ask that he treats us as human beings and not in a manner of running nursery.

you know if i havent read the part about you wanting to attend after withdrawing I can still empathise with you. But wah lao... sure he should lighten but now it is not within your perogative to say it lor.

While we are students, I should like to say that this tertiary education is comparable that of a service industry. I have just taken a student survey and, is the level of approachability and helpfulness of a lecturer not on the criteria?

Oh pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.... last time i find him approachable and helpful leh.

Who is he to rule that nobody should leave his room before he finishes up on his poorly timely blabber when parents/spouses are waiting by the roadside to fetch us home?

wao lao this is basic courtesy lah. if you want to leave early just inform him. but if there is a pattern to a person always leaving early, trust me, all lecturers will also develop some displeasure. Btw he is right to beckon you to leave quiickly, because your prolonged exit is holding up the progress of the lecture proper.

Many students live in fear and dissatisfaction and they do not voice out for fear of trouble or a soured relationship.

"He treats us like criminals"
-anonymous

If the recipient of this message is unable to properly and cleanly deal with this situation, please direct it to somebody of greater authority. I definitely WILL pursue this to a higher level if need be.

Regards
Xxxxxxx Xxx
9xxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx88@hotmail.com

This is his way of teaching. some people can tahan it, some people can't.

The bottomline is you suffered humiliation infront of your classmates, so now you are extremely unhappy.

If you are so unhappy in his class, grow a spine and don't even go for his tutorials anymore.

btw I am pretty sure all of you have heard from many former students his lectures always end later than other lectures. So don't complain now after you have experienced his style.

Drofnats

Wow haha are those your assuming replies stuffed in between my paragraphs? :D

Something I haven't mention. My sole intent is to spread awareness, my post does not invite your audience if you are to start mindless irrelevant replies. People can tell you are purely being a fan, doing what fans do

1) Letter has been directed at the school. School has apologized profusely. I was bent on having a reply/response/defence. Nothing at all. Whats your position?

2) Crux of the matter is not the weekend classes, but the fact that we have compromised and decided to stick with his class. Least he could do is observe the clock. Poorly arranged breaks. Also accounted for by the school. Deemed inappropriate. What's your words in blue doing again?

3) I do not snack. I have proper meals. I suffer noticeable weight lost if I bite on rat snack :) None of this would be an issue if he just observed lesson proper :)

4) Not the way to be driven and dedicated. Pleas say something sensible or turn a blind eye to my posts ty. I'm merely spreading awareness. Don't aiya here aiya there :) Up in person you would have nothing substantial to say :)

5) Have you consider people who have to take dual buses to school? Train alone to the west takes 45 minutes or more. Thats being prudent. How about buses?

6) I assure you he digresses :) The important parts do not receive much attention from him. But he is extremely caught up with stories.

7) Starting with a blank sheet is alright. Filling it up wholly is another.

8) I assure you again he is not "just saying". He has recounted what he did to previous students of his. Going up to tap them on their shoulder.

9)I was down that day to speak to him. I do not believe in emails, given his busy schedule. In person I was there to settle the last bits of transfer. I made my way down from home.

10) I'm not gian peng. have you read my letter? Tutorial classes were supposedly still on. Not by him, by another lecturer related to him. Need you see the receipt?

11) Yup it is indeed my prerogative to say. Nothing of biased-ness. If students were to hear about a lecturer this would be it. Word of mouth. Nothing uncommon.

12) You should speak to the enraged individuals waiting by the roadside waiting to pick these students up.

Say something wise and don't disgrace yourself in such a fashion.

I wasn't the least bit humiliated. But his approach is highly inappropriate. My experience is this way. Yours might differ. ;) People change.

Wow haha are those your assuming replies stuffed in between my paragraphs?

Something I haven't mention. My sole intent is to spread awareness, my post does not invite your audience if you are to start mindless irrelevant replies. People can tell you are purely being a fan, doing what fans do

He will be the last person to tell you I am a fan kiddo. And are you stupid or something, posting something on the forum invites critiques. just in case you have no idea what a forum is for. Looking at the length of your response, i am so happy i have gotten your knickers in a twist!:s13:

1) Letter has been directed at the school. School has apologized profusely. I was bent on having a reply/response/defence. Nothing at all. Whats your position?

obviously SAA has to apologise, it is they who approved the change in timetable or do have you a problem with comprehension. You need to rephrase your sentence construction because i have zero idea what you are blabbering about at the end.

Oh My position? haven't you read? is that you are gian peng lor!

2) Crux of the matter is not the weekend classes, but the fact that we have compromised and decided to stick with his class. Least he could do is observe the clock. Poorly arranged breaks. Also accounted for by the school. Deemed inappropriate. What's your words in blue doing again?

Then what's your heading BAD DATES for anyway? Why don't you go read your own posting then ask yourself whether a reasonable reader would think having your classes rescheduled over the weekend irritated the hell of you! haha..

your grouse (i.e. complaint) included the rescheduling and since you have so compromised, why even bring this into the complaint?? Don't you think you are murking the waters?

3) I do not snack. I have proper meals. I suffer noticeable weight lost if I bite on rat snack :) None of this would be an issue if he just observed lesson proper :)

If classes would start at 6.45 and due to end at 9.45,
If the lesson starts at 6:45pm , it starts at 6:45pm. so the way you plan you dinner is your problem, why make it a issue? if you are so hell bent on having a proper meal, then go have one, tell your supervisor or whosoever you report to. why make it an issue about gastric juices back flowing up your throat. that's a metaphor, please dont take it literally in case you lack mental dexterity to follow my arguments.

4) Not the way to be driven and dedicated. Pleas say something sensible or turn a blind eye to my posts ty. I'm merely spreading awareness. Don't aiya here aiya there :) Up in person you would have nothing substantial to say

you must have serious comprehension problem if you do not get the sensible "gist" of my comments..

at least with my aiyahs lahs and lors.. most people excepting yours truly can understand my statements.

What's "Up in person you would have nothing substantial to say"? Do you want to meet me personally? :s13:

So if it is a motivation problem, then should not you search yourself? typical. blame it on everyone else.

5) Have you consider people who have to take dual buses to school? Train alone to the west takes 45 minutes or more. Thats being prudent. How about buses?

well, please don't lie to yourself. Most people would have know his pattern. they definitely would have know his classes finish late in advance so why complain now??

Btw don't be too self-righteous and drag others into it, you can't even fight your own battles let alone help others.

6) I assure you he digresses. The important parts do not receive much attention from him. But he is extremely caught up with stories.
noted with extreme prejudice.

7) Starting with a blank sheet is alright. Filling it up wholly is another.

Teaching on his part would be to point at his nearly blank sheet of paper; is this how he saves the time of actually preparing and the meticulously coarse calculation that he would then have to do on the white board?

you can't say you are alright with a blank sheet with your above comment. You were complaining he was ill-prepared. If he had the template for the answers ready, you can't say he is unprepared. So what is the issue then? Please don't contradict yourself.

8) I assure you again he is not "just saying". He has recounted what he did to previous students of his. Going up to tap them on their shoulder.

well, again if he did tell you that story. You can't be seriously spooked by it right? So what if you are out about town over the weekend. Its your time. You are delusional if you think he will penalise you in class when you are able to answer his questions and hand up his work. Whatever it is, it is not a moot point at all. But if it is to you, just let me tell you it is so inconsequential.

9)I was down that day to speak to him. I do not believe in emails, given his busy schedule. In person I was there to settle the last bits of transfer. I made my way down from home.

Shortly into break time and before commencement I sorted his advice as to whether I should continue to sit through his lessons (though unofficial) because of my ongoing tutorial classes.

So you had already withdrawn, yet you continued to sit through his lecture until break time. You mean there is absolutely no way you could have cornered him before the class started and explained your predicament. The more you try to explain yourself, the more you are getting mired in your own cesspool

10) I'm not gian peng. have you read my letter? Tutorial classes were supposedly still on. Not by him, by another lecturer related to him. Need you see the receipt?

so? did you mention tutorial classes were not conducted by him?

Since you are so unhappy with his lectures, why do you want to attend his F5 after you have officially withdrawn? Ok i know, you are masochistic.

11) Yup it is indeed my prerogative to say. Nothing of biased-ness. If students were to hear about a lecturer this would be it. Word of mouth. Nothing uncommon.

he's not everyone cup of tea that i can assure you. and for another to express his contradicting views is nothing uncommon.

12) You should speak to the enraged individuals waiting by the roadside waiting to pick these students up.

yawnn, i have mentioned this too many times and if you are still unable to get it. well, that's your problem.

Say something wise and don't disgrace yourself in such a fashion.

:s13::s13: Yeh Yeh, I've disgraced meself now haven't I? you are the one who was so gian peng and hoping to attend his lectures despite having withdrawn.

If you cannot admit that is a fundamental flaw in your own character, well good for you! because you are still wet behind your ears, grow up.

I wasn't the least bit humiliated. But his approach is highly inappropriate. My experience is this way. Yours might differ. ;) People change.

Oh you were.. Up until you left his class, there was no official complaint letter. Now you are pissed.

The last straw was when he beckoned you to leave quickly, then the wonderfully timed letter of complaint came into being.

Well done and..

I'm done with you.

Drofnats

Oh you were.. Up until you left his class, there was no official complaint letter. Now you are pissed.

The last straw was when he beckoned you to leave quickly, then the wonderfully timed letter of complaint came into being.

Well done and..

I'm done with you.

haha such a long trail of complaint doesnt come into being over night. Well I'm unhappy about what he does. Right from the start. What is your take? You really have something to say to me? Do it in my face :D Don't buah ah beng with me :) Have a point substantiate it.

I come with legit purposes and statements. Don't demolish other people's opinions. If whatever I say is not true then you have dealings. Even then you may not even be consequential.

you say I'm indignant. of course I am :) it's a reason for me to be no? :) As of now I know I have been compensated. But not fully, as no concrete actions have into place. I therefore am making known this issue, not to conceited people like you.

Drofnats

You had better be sure to be done with me cas you are making it personal. Having started this thread I will systematically support my every course of action with explanations.

But why am I inclined to think that you are a troll? :) People will read about this. They will judge. Labelling me will not do a sh!t lmao, much less get me in a knot.

You are going in circles and if I am going to reply, answers will be in my original post. People like you show how bad the service industry can be if they were to higher people like you. cannot blame the govt for wanting to higher FTrash.

You are basically telling me I should not be bent on raising an issue. But bend my lifestyle to suit his wimps and fancies. Point to note is that having raised a complaint, I have in fact also withdrawn.

And I have done so properly by heading down to school where the only time he could be around. Given the fact that other days he is overseas and busy with every other thing except teaching.

Yep I would, if you divulge possible details for a meetup which I deem will be fruitless. :) troll.

haha such a long trail of complaint dont come in being over night. Well I'm unhappy about what he does. Right from the start. What is your take? You really have something to say to me? Do it in my face :D Don't buah ah beng with me :) Have a point substantiate it.

I come with legit purposes and statements. Don't demolish other people's opinions. If whatever I say is not true then you have dealings. Even then you may not even be consequential.

you say I'm indignant. of course I am :) it's a reason for me to be no? :) As of now I know I have been compensated. But not fully, as no concrete actions have into place. I therefore am making known this issue, not to conceited people like you.

yes i am very very conceited and I love squatting on asses like you. LOL!

Buah ah beng.. oh myyyy.. who me?? Let me teach you.

Use your forefinger, point it at the screen, go back up to your moniker then retrace your own posting line by line.. you see the line that starts with "what's your take? Now now, who is the one buah chow ah beng?

You are so typically dumb.. :s13:

edit: To preserve the integrity of this thread, I shall not entertain any more senseless blabberings coming from you.

raoul7370

That letter to SAA...

Well, that made for an interesting lunchtime read. And I bet the debate is not finished quite yet...

As a tutor myself for the last 14 years, I thought I would share a little of my experiences relating to the complaint letter.

I have worked with many tutors including most of the best ones in the business. Almost all of the highly regarded ones overrun the finish time, at least sometimes. There are many reasons for this, predominantly that they have so MANY useful exam tips and examples to share, and are so passionate about getting students to enjoy their subject as much as they do, they cannot hold back and want to tell you it all!

Having said this, in London some ACCA part-time evening classes are only 6-8 evenings long (this is the teaching phase, with no revision)! No wonder the tutor overruns.

Bear in mind that the tutor is only paid for the scheduled time in class, not the overrun. Course lengths are sometimes designed too short, but to make them longer puts up the price of the course - and people complain. So the tutor makes up the lost time for free, because they refuse to cut corners.

And also bear in mind that tutors also teach during the day, and also need meal breaks!!!

I have also met a wide variety of tutor styles. Some are Mr Nice Guy and want to be everyone's friend. Some are deliberately hard, sometimes rude even. The fact is that an experienced tutor has created the style that they know works for them. Students need to do their research (by reading a forum like this) before choosing tutors.

I have allowed students to sit in my first class for free, if they want to get a feel for my style. But I warn them that I am usually full up, and until they sign up and pay they risk missing out.

As a tutor, I have sometimes "gently" embarrassed a student in class. However, it is only ever in fun, and only after I know a student well enough to judge whether they can take it. To overdo this would be similar to bullying, and would be both unethical and unprofessional.

Changing dates is sometimes unavoidable for a college. However, if the changes are done after you have signed up all students should receive an apology, an explanation as to why it has been necessary, an offer of alternative classes - and the chance of a refund if the changes are severe.

Regarding teaching style, bear another thought in mind. Teaching some papers is about getting students to learn facts and methods, and practice applying them to numbers. This requires a rather different style to higher level papers which are based on understanding and application, not knowledge. A student who tries to memorise the F4 syllabus will score a high mark. A student who tries to learn the P7 syllabus will fail horribly.

Overall, I have found that tutors fall into distinct groups. There are some who are universally liked by students - but not that many of these tutors exist. There are some who are clearly very good, but where opinion is totally polarised - students either love them or hate them. There are some average, ok, not bad, but a little lacking in inspiration. Students will generally sit in their classes, but would look at an alternative tutor if one were available.

And then there are the truly awful...most disappear from the industry fairly quickly, but some survive because many students only find out when the classes have started and it is too late to change...

As I said earlier - ask fellow students before you make your choices :)

orcy93

James Kwan is one of the better lecturers in SAA..i think he had made himself clear from the very first lesson if u cannot tanhan his style of teaching, u should consider to join another class.

Afterall it takes a lot of hard work to pass acca, and i do appreciate his efforts. Not alot of lecturers is as dedicated as him.:s13:

Drofnats

Well, that made for an interesting lunchtime read. And I bet the debate is not finished quite yet...

As a tutor myself for the last 14 years, I thought I would share a little of my experiences relating to the complaint letter.

I have worked with many tutors including most of the best ones in the business. Almost all of the highly regarded ones overrun the finish time, at least sometimes. There are many reasons for this, predominantly that they have so MANY useful exam tips and examples to share, and are so passionate about getting students to enjoy their subject as much as they do, they cannot hold back and want to tell you it all!

Having said this, in London some ACCA part-time evening classes are only 6-8 evenings long (this is the teaching phase, with no revision)! No wonder the tutor overruns.

Bear in mind that the tutor is only paid for the scheduled time in class, not the overrun. Course lengths are sometimes designed too short, but to make them longer puts up the price of the course - and people complain. So the tutor makes up the lost time for free, because they refuse to cut corners.

And also bear in mind that tutors also teach during the day, and also need meal breaks!!!

I have also met a wide variety of tutor styles. Some are Mr Nice Guy and want to be everyone's friend. Some are deliberately hard, sometimes rude even. The fact is that an experienced tutor has created the style that they know works for them. Students need to do their research (by reading a forum like this) before choosing tutors.

I have allowed students to sit in my first class for free, if they want to get a feel for my style. But I warn them that I am usually full up, and until they sign up and pay they risk missing out.

As a tutor, I have sometimes "gently" embarrassed a student in class. However, it is only ever in fun, and only after I know a student well enough to judge whether they can take it. To overdo this would be similar to bullying, and would be both unethical and unprofessional.

Changing dates is sometimes unavoidable for a college. However, if the changes are done after you have signed up all students should receive an apology, an explanation as to why it has been necessary, an offer of alternative classes - and the chance of a refund if the changes are severe.

Regarding teaching style, bear another thought in mind. Teaching some papers is about getting students to learn facts and methods, and practice applying them to numbers. This requires a rather different style to higher level papers which are based on understanding and application, not knowledge. A student who tries to memorise the F4 syllabus will score a high mark. A student who tries to learn the P7 syllabus will fail horribly.

Overall, I have found that tutors fall into distinct groups. There are some who are universally liked by students - but not that many of these tutors exist. There are some who are clearly very good, but where opinion is totally polarised - students either love them or hate them. There are some average, ok, not bad, but a little lacking in inspiration. Students will generally sit in their classes, but would look at an alternative tutor if one were available.

And then there are the truly awful...most disappear from the industry fairly quickly, but some survive because many students only find out when the classes have started and it is too late to change...

As I said earlier - ask fellow students before you make your choices :)

appreciate your advise sir. It wasn't the most ideal to sit for his classes. But it was really circumstantial at that point of time :) But I still believe he is abusive even as to us adults :)

And that is also in line with what you say. I write the truth about the matter so other students can read about before making their choices :)

As for the overrun, there is absolutely no excuse as to how he manages his overrun :) He dictates that nobody should leave the room before he finishes but however takes the liberty to talk about incessant issues NOT pertaining to the topic. I hope you believe me; or really, just sit through one of his classes and see what it is like.

Drofnats

James Kwan is one of the better lecturers in SAA..i think he had made himself clear from the very first lesson if u cannot tanhan his style of teaching, u should consider to join another class.

Afterall it takes a lot of hard work to pass acca, and i do appreciate his efforts. Not alot of lecturers is as dedicated as him.:s13:

Opinion taken :)

He has the wrong approach though :)

I clearly stated I have thus withdrawn from his lectures. So have few people. :)

Drofnats

yes i am very very conceited and I love squatting on asses like you. LOL!

Buah ah beng.. oh myyyy.. who me?? Let me teach you.

Use your forefinger, point it at the screen, go back up to your moniker then retrace your own posting line by line.. you see the line that starts with "what's your take? Now now, who is the one buah chow ah beng?

You are so typically dumb.. :s13:

edit: To preserve the integrity of this thread, I shall not entertain any more senseless blabberings coming from you.

Like I say. What's your take? troll :D Redundant.

Drofnats

No issues about transfer pal. Why then does he openly call people who transfer cowards? If somebody called YOU a coward for simply not liking his teaching and hence transferring out, how would you react?

Straight up personal attack eh?

superkid

end of the day what do you got to ask yourself want to achieve from this?

you are so worked out over this.you should ask yourself if you really want to be an accountant. remember there's no fix working hours.

Drofnats

end of the day what do you got to ask yourself want to achieve from this?

you are so worked out over this.you should ask yourself if you really want to be an accountant. remember there's no fix working hours.

Maybe worked up. But not without valid reason. Remember. First world society. Help improve it. Such people aloof from social norms should be quarantined.

belgarathc

If his style does not suit you, it's better to switch to another lecturer whom you can learn more effectively. Maybe because I am older, I do not prefer lecturers who threatens and treat the students as kids.

orcy93

No issues about transfer pal. Why then does he openly call people who transfer cowards? If somebody called YOU a coward for simply not liking his teaching and hence transferring out, how would you react?

Straight up personal attack eh?

That is his style of teaching and most students of my batch attending his class do not mind at all because he have done more than most lecturer did outside. No other lecturers except james kwan would actually OT his teaching hours by 45 mins esp if he dun get paid by it. And he did produce a higher pass rate of students than normal std every sem which im sure he would show to every batch of students.( He did in my batch.)

Personally i feel that it all that is matters since we all just want to pass.

In the end as superkid mention that u should consider that u really want to become an accountant if u cant handle this stress.

Enough of this rant..really goin nowhere. I'm done too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.