ACCA Students.

themoss

There is no links. This is the replies based on what my ex-firm and I queried.

the new SQP programs starts June 2012 and it allows for transition until Dec 2016 for ACCA students.

What this essentially means is that you need to fulfill all existing CPA SG requirements i.e. ACCA + 3 years of relevant experience + passing the 5 days course

As such, u will need to complete ACCA latest by Jun 2016 (in that case i think it will be something like 5 years of experience pre and post ACCA).

Otherwise, you will not be grandfathered into the new program. meaning...

no CPA SG / CA SG designation....... :(

they are trying to dissociate themselves from ACCA....

So you mean need to complete acca + 3 yr relevant work exp + 5 day course latest by dec 2016?

eflash

There is no links. This is the replies based on what my ex-firm and I queried.

the new SQP programs starts June 2012 and it allows for transition until Dec 2016 for ACCA students.

What this essentially means is that you need to fulfill all existing CPA SG requirements i.e. ACCA + 3 years of relevant experience + passing the 5 days course

As such, u will need to complete ACCA latest by Jun 2016 (in that case i think it will be something like 5 years of experience pre and post ACCA).

Otherwise, you will not be grandfathered into the new program. meaning...

no CPA SG / CA SG designation....... :(

they are trying to dissociate themselves from ACCA....

that's quite jiat liat... if i keep failing last 2 papers....

ongwk0

So you mean need to complete acca + 3 yr relevant work exp + 5 day course latest by dec 2016?

The transition deadline may be true, but effectively, u have to complete ACCA by Jun 2016 as you can only sign up for CPA SG after confirmation of completion. If you took Dec 2016 paper, your result will come out too late. this is what i believe.

Kenzo88

I suggest u change u drop ACCA unless you can accumulate 5 years of pre and post ACCA experience in a relevant role and complete ACCA by jun 2016...

If I need 1 more yr to complete my acca and i start working in relevant role in July. Am i still on the track to become a cpa by Dec 16?

windstryker

I suggest u change u drop ACCA unless you can accumulate 5 years of pre and post ACCA experience in a relevant role and complete ACCA by jun 2016...

Haix. Nvm la. I complete up to f6 liao. Quit now abit wasted. At most I take their whatever nonsense exams again lor. I dun think ACCA will be totally useless bah. Not grandfathered in but maybe got some exemptions off the sqp qualifications or what..?

zimy88

The transition deadline may be true, but effectively, u have to complete ACCA by Jun 2016 as you can only sign up for CPA SG after confirmation of completion. If you took Dec 2016 paper, your result will come out too late. this is what i believe.

how about completed ACCA, but have not yet achieved required years of experience. can sign up for CPA Sg? Im on the Icpas plus route.

BlueGinger

Given the scenario below, can someone please advise if I can still make it in time for the designation of CPA Singapore?

Final ACCA Exam: Dec 2013
Result release: Feb 2014
Start of 3-year post qualification experience: Feb 2014? Or when?
Duration of post qualification experience: Feb 2014 - Jan2017?

A little demoralizing. Maybe I should go for CPA Australia?

windstryker

By the way, ACCA is proud to have been appointed by the Singapore Accountancy Commission (SAC) to be a consultant in the development of the Singapore QP. The Singapore QP website mentions that the new qualification has been put together “with the intention of fostering global recognition and international portability. Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) with leading global professional accountancy bodies are being explored currently”.

I am sure more information will be made available in the upcoming months. Do be assured in the meantime that ACCA has a heritage of more than 100 years and has a solid track record in preparing and governing professionals for rewarding careers in accounting and finance.

The Head of Learning of ACCA Singapore highlighted this to me when I questioned him how I can get my CA.

ongwk0

The Head of Learning of ACCA Singapore highlighted this to me when I questioned him how I can get my CA.

swee oh. hope he push it through and let ACCA be part of the program. if not die alr - - zz.

As of right now, ACCA is not a degree so naturally dun qualify for entry requirement and OBU is not recognised by SQP too so also cannot sign up for CA....

Kenzo88

swee oh. hope he push it through and let ACCA be part of the program. if not die alr - - zz.

As of right now, ACCA is not a degree so naturally dun q ualify for entry requirement and OBU is not recognised by SQP too so also cannot sign up for CA....

From what i just enquire from ICPAS, the ICPAS Route recognises acca due to the MRA which is renewed every 3 years. As long we meet the requisites, we can become a CPA.

godbowen

S'pore QP allows you to become C.A of S'pore, can someone tell me is that a different recognition in respect to CPA?

shopaholic131

I have DEC 2012 edition:

P2 LSBF Sammi class.Full set available including 80% of recording.
P3 SAA Philip Woo class.Full set available.
P7 SAA Chee Hay Keong.Full set available including 80% recording as well.

Helping my friend,DEC 2012 edition:
P3 FTMS Marty.Full set available.
F9 LSBF Sammi.Full set available.

**Full set= Full time class notes+text books+Revision set+everything

Interested please PM me

shopaholic131

I have DEC 2012 edition:

P2 LSBF Sammi class.Full set available including 80% of recording.
P3 SAA Philip Woo class.Full set available.
P7 SAA Chee Hay Keong.Full set available including 80% recording as well.

Helping my friend,DEC 2012 edition:
P3 FTMS Marty.Full set available.
F9 LSBF Sammi.Full set available.

**Full set= Full time class notes+text books+Revision set+everything

Interested please PM me or email at shopaholic131@gmail.com

Happienoob

Any1 attending classes in LSBF that want to study or attend lectures together?

F4-Ramesh FT
F5-Sami PT
F6-Yvonne FT
F8-Owen FT

hazeltan

Hi, anyone letting go Kaplan Mr. kweh soon han F4 book 2 [only] and his notes etc
Im interested, please text me @ 9.7.85 66.39
Thanks

Bambinos

The new CPA requirement for acca grads makes it really difficult for more acca students

Does it mean that acca is going to be even less recognised?
I guess less people will choose acca in future?

GunzerX

The new CPA requirement for acca grads makes it really difficult for more acca students

Does it mean that acca is going to be even less recognised?
I guess less people will choose acca in future?
aCCA will be less recognise in sg perhaps becos any degree holders from any disipline will just go to QP programme directly to become CA in singapore. Less degree holders or ppl will sign up for ACCA as it is no longer direct route to CPA in Singapore. Other than that, ACCA is still recognisable internationally.

Right now, what some of forumer said here are refering to ACCA- ICPAS plus route members, who are still open to become CPA in sg by 2016. However, condition could be u must complete ACCA before 2016 June and complete the relevant 3 yrs experience (2yr post and 1 yr pre exp?) + one week course. Or else will have to take QP.

For ACCA direct route member, you will not be able to take QP yet until mutual agreement is settled officially. Meanwhile, you are not eligible to join QP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.