ACCA Students.

Kyoji83

Smart Move.

was an acca student. have signed up with plymouth for upcoming may intake. it is recognised by sqp but need go thru foundation less exemptions
it consist of 6 modules of which some are assignment based 100% or partial assigment which should make it considerably easier to pass than 100% exam based acca. also u are allow to retake for 2times if u failed the first time before ure required to redo module.
it might not be as recognised as other degrees but gives fast track to CA which is what I am looking for.

another reason why I do this is im in an ATO now so dun wan to waste chance to clock the exp since I dunno how long I will stay in there

rottingapple

CPA Sg = Any Org.

CA Sg = ATO (Which ATO? That your homework!)

just to clarify my doubt, i went to check but confused. do u mean i have to join ATO for 3 yrs to become CA?

if i join non-ATO company but have relevant work experience, which i read from the latest posts, can i still be CA?

derrick_

Guys I am confused. I am a new ACCA member, signed up last December. So is there anything I need to do to be a qaulified CPA?

Do I need to sign up for ICPAS membership?

GunzerX

just to clarify my doubt, i went to check but confused. do u mean i have to join ATO for 3 yrs to become CA?

if i join non-ATO company but have relevant work experience, which i read from the latest posts, can i still be CA?
Ok lets not talk abt exisiting students under transitional phrase. If u are new student who go for QP to become CA, you need to join under ATO approved company such as SCB and big 4.

If u are students who are under the transitional phrase, you need to fufill the requirements under ICPAS to become CPA Singapore which will be grandfather to CA singapore.

GunzerX

Guys I am confused. I am a new ACCA member, signed up last December. So is there anything I need to do to be a qaulified CPA?

Do I need to sign up for ICPAS membership?
Ok since u sign for ACCA on Dec 2012, as such you are ACCA route only member. After u complete your acca, you then can proceed to register with ICPAS to qualify to become CPA then become CA singapore.

Deadline to apply and fufill yr CPA dream is by Dec 2018.

Kyoji83

In that case, can you cut & paste the requirement for CA Sg here & highlight again which is your doubt?

lissie

There seems to be some confusion so hopefully this post will help.

CPA Singapore vs CA Singapore
Current accounting professionals go by the CPA Singapore designation. This will be replaced by CA Singapore once SQP is launched (around June 2013). There will no longer be CPA Singapore.

Route to CA Singapore
There are 2 routes to being CA Singapore, either CPA -> CA or SQP -> CA. Currently, SQP is known to only accept degree holders so the only route available for ACCA students (without degrees) is via CPA -> CA. As of now, ACCA students without degrees cannot join SQP to obtain CA.

Existing ACCA Students
Existing ACCA students have till Dec 2018 to complete ACCA, ICPAS pre-admission course and obtain relevant work experience to become CPA. Work experience can be post (3 years) or pre-post (5 years). Post refers to after completing ACCA. I do not know what's the proportion for pre-post i.e. 3 pre + 2 post, 4 pre + 1 post etc.

Potential ACCA Students
If you register for ACCA by July 2013, you can follow the path listed above for existing students. Bear the deadline in mind before you register.

There is currently no news on whether ACCA holders will eventually be able to join SQP to become CA but ACCA is signing a letter of intent with SAC and ICPAS this month to explore this possibility. No timeline announced yet.

Hymnody

Current accounting professionals go by the CPA Singapore designation. This will be replaced by CA Singapore once SQP is launched (around June 2013). There will no longer be CPA Singapore.

Route to CA Singapore
There are 2 routes to being CA Singapore, either CPA -> CA or SQP -> CA. Currently, SQP is known to only accept degree holders so the only route available for ACCA students (without degrees) is via CPA -> CA. As of now, ACCA students without degrees cannot join SQP to obtain CA.

Existing ACCA Students
Existing ACCA students have till Dec 2018 to complete ACCA, ICPAS pre-admission course and obtain relevant work experience to become CPA. Work experience can be post (3 years) or pre-post (5 years). Post refers to after completing ACCA. I do not know what's the proportion for pre-post i.e. 3 pre + 2 post, 4 pre + 1 post etc.

Potential ACCA Students
If you register for ACCA by July 2013, you can follow the path listed above for existing students. Bear the deadline in mind before you register.

There is currently no news on whether ACCA holders will eventually be able to join SQP to become CA but ACCA is signing a letter of intent with SAC and ICPAS this month to explore this possibility. No timeline announced yet.

thanks for the effort in summarising

serenityy

Route to CA Singapore

Existing ACCA Students

Potential ACCA Students

Exactly what I needed. Thanks! :)

derrick_

Thanks to GunzerX and lissie man!

One last question as lissie mentioned. In order to be CPA, can 2 pre-post and 3 post work experience be eligible?

ongwk0

Thanks to GunzerX and lissie man!

One last question as lissie mentioned. In order to be CPA, can 2 pre-post and 3 post work experience be eligible?

err..... already got post 3yr. why do you even talk abt pre? your question is rather redundant.

Kenzo88

Can anyone kindly clear my doubts. If I am going start a full time from July and I will graduate in Feb 14, how many years of experience do I need to accumulate? 5 or 3 years? Thanks!

derrick_

err..... already got post 3yr. why do you even talk abt pre? your question is rather redundant.

Hey man, be friendly! its clearly a typo.

Its rather clear I am trying to ask about 3 pre-2 post, as mentioned earlier by lissie.

lissie

Can anyone kindly clear my doubts. If I am going start a full time from July and I will graduate in Feb 14, how many years of experience do I need to accumulate? 5 or 3 years? Thanks!

Well, it's less than a year of experience from July till Feb, you're better off just reporting post experience of 3 years from Feb i.e. ignore your pre experience. Better to confirm with ICPAS though.

HaizHaiz

guys, u should really go for the oxford brookes applied acoounting degree, the mra between acca and canada requires a recognised degree. read qns10:

FAQs for ACCA Members

oxford brookes applied accounting is recognised.

Tsinghua uni recognised oxford brookes applied accounting for master degree. news between acca/oxford brookes and Tsinghua uni, bejing:

http://www2.accaglobal.com/databases/pressandpolicy/global/2409519

from wikipedia:

Present

Most Chinese university rankings place TsingHua first in China. It attracts the most talented students of the nation and enjoys the best engineering and applied sciences programs in China, occupying a position similar to MIT, Stanford, and Princeton in the US. Peking Union Medical College of Tsinghua University [4] is likewise regarded as the best medical school in the country. Tsinghua's longtime rival Peking University is better known for natural sciences, social sciences, law, and liberal arts, somewhat similar to the Ivy League schools of Yale, Harvard, and the University of Pennsylvania. from: http://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tsing_Hua_University

No wonder so many China people taking ACCA. I rmb this china girl:

I : after acca u staying in sg ar?
she: no, I going back to china
I : oh, so ur government recognise ACCA to do audit
she : no, they don't
I : then why u taking?
she: cuz everyone taking
That time I wonder what she thinking. Now I know why.

all old news, but i just saw it yesterday. There is one more article about pakistan and oxford brookes, but I dun think u guys will be thinking about working there.

damn! who told me the degree is toilet paper, i am going to sign up next intake. anyone took it? which sch got best passing rate/good mentor(s) for this project. The passing rate only 50%+ sia, why everything about acca all so hard

just to add, dun tell me not recognized in sg hor, you sure u no need travel around? I post-acca less than one year already been to India liao. you sure u won't migrate? Are you sure sg will never ever recognise oxford brookes?

valariel

Has anyone applied to ATOs for SQP yet?

I'm a non-accounting related degree holder here, not sure how tough it will be to even score an interview lol :/

Kyoji83

My friends & I from HR do not recognize oxford brookes applied accounting degree for accounting position. We only recognize ACCA & other accounting degree for accounting positions. Only those SME do not know how you get your oxford brookes applied accounting degree then they may consider your this degree for accounting positions.

Unless you migrate & use your ACCA (if you want to include oxford brookes applied accounting degree), if not I think in the near future it seem like market value will drop in Sg.

When you talk about migrate, a degree can work other non-accounting positions compare to ACCA which mostly limit you to work in accounting positions.

I am not sure if other country employer will employer you base on your oxford brookes applied accounting degree rather then ACCA. For me, it is a no. Why? Cause the competent level is from ACCA & not oxford brookes. How competent are you when you just do one FYP to get a degree but oxford brookes never teach you anything?

guys, u should really go for the oxford brookes applied acoounting degree, the mra between acca and canada requires a recognised degree. read qns10:

FAQs for ACCA Members

oxford brookes applied accounting is recognised.

Tsinghua uni recognised oxford brookes applied accounting for master degree. news between acca/oxford brookes and Tsinghua uni, bejing:

ACCA announces groundbreaking relationship with top Chinese University | What's on | ACCA

from wikipedia:

Present

Most Chinese university rankings place TsingHua first in China. It attracts the most talented students of the nation and enjoys the best engineering and applied sciences programs in China, occupying a position similar to MIT, Stanford, and Princeton in the US. Peking Union Medical College of Tsinghua University [4] is likewise regarded as the best medical school in the country. Tsinghua's longtime rival Peking University is better known for natural sciences, social sciences, law, and liberal arts, somewhat similar to the Ivy League schools of Yale, Harvard, and the University of Pennsylvania. from: Tsing Hua University - Simple English Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

No wonder so many China people taking ACCA. I rmb this china girl:

I : after acca u staying in sg ar?
she: no, I going back to china
I : oh, so ur government recognise ACCA to do audit
she : no, they don't
I : then why u taking?
she: cuz everyone taking
That time I wonder what she thinking. Now I know why.

all old news, but i just saw it yesterday. There is one more article about pakistan and oxford brookes, but I dun think u guys will be thinking about working there.

damn! who told me the degree is toilet paper, i am going to sign up next intake. anyone took it? which sch got best passing rate/good mentor(s) for this project. The passing rate only 50%+ sia, why everything about acca all so hard

just to add, dun tell me not recognized in sg hor, you sure u no need travel around? I post-acca less than one year already been to India liao. you sure u won't migrate? Are you sure sg will never ever recognise oxford brookes?

naira21

CBE

Hi Senior,

Can someone tell is it all CBE for F1-F3 every examination centre also same price?

Regards

Arcanda23

Hi all this new rule confuse me. please bear with me since I'm really blur and confuse now.

I graduate with UOL Banking and Finance degree and immediate apply for ACCA in Kaplan and I also opt in for ICPAS plus route. If everything is fine I should I finished this december. Would I be affected by this changes? and what I should I do?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.